10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,373 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #94

May 312015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #93

May 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gadsden, AL, USA

problem #92

May 212016

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into the rear driver side door of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained minor injuries that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact's vehicle was towed to a tow yard. Two weeks after the failure, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 09V084000 (visibility) and 15V313000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 69,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gonzales, LA, USA

problem #91

Jun 092016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 07/14/16 the consumer stated the recall was finally addressed and taken care of it. Updated 07/19/16.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #90

Apr 212016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #89

Nov 242015

Ram 1500

  • 0 miles
Takata recall, my complaint is the airbags, nothing has happened, but this is on the recall list, so I want it fixed so I will not end up dying due to neglect. Does something have to happen in order for repair work to take place - really

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #88

Apr 192016

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 06/14/16 updated 06/15/16.

- Bedford, NY, USA

problem #87

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #86

Apr 142016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall-approx. 1 year old we received notice that there might be a problem with the driver side airbag. This week we received a confirmation notice that our 2008 Dodge Ram 1500 was indeed part of the recall. We immediately contacted our dealership, and was told it would be at least a 7 month delay!! what happens if that airbag deploys before we can have it replaced"?"

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #85

Sep 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have received a recall notice on the air bags for my truck and have called the dealer many time to get it repaired but was told that the part was not available yet. I need some help getting the bags replaced because of the danger of them going off and killing the driver.

- Beaverdam, VA, USA

problem #84

Apr 072016

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall for our 2008 Dodge Ram 1500, we have not received information on the recall.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #83

Jan 052016

Ram 1500

  • 125,000 miles
On about 5 different times my accelerator pedal has gotten stuck and accelerating to about 90 plus mph while on the highway. I had to stomp on it several times to get it unstuck. I have seen where other people have had the same problem as mine. However the Dodge dealer in baytown Texas said they have not gotten any recalls on this problem and can not do anything for me until there is a recall. Also I was told about the airbag recall and they also have told me that they will not do any repairs until I receive a recall notice by mail which I still have not received. We have had problems receiving our mail due to new mail carriers put the wrong mail in different mail boxes. So what can I do to address this problem before I am in and accident and injury or kill someone and or myself. I have also had some issues with my steering.

- Channelview, TX, USA

problem #82

Jan 252016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 218,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle crashed into multiple trees. The air bags had a delayed deployment and emitted metal fragments. A police report was filed. The contact sustained multiple abrasions to the face and a collapsed lung, which required medical attention. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The parts for the repair were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 218,000. The vehicle was destroyed and towed......updated 06/22/16 * bf the consumer also stated the seat belt did restrain him properly. The consumer had a second accident and the air bag did not deploy. Updated 06/29/16

- Mcrae, AR, USA

problem #81

Jun 132015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #80

Dec 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Potomac, MH, USA

problem #79

Dec 282015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. I have been on a repair list at the local dealership since late December of 2015 and am told that as of 3/10/16 they do not expect to have the parts available to repair my vehicle for quite some time. This seems to be far beyond a reasonable time for this repair.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #78

Oct 062015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #77

Feb 102015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 09V084000 (visibility). The dealer was unable to determine when the parts would become available beyond a reasonable time frame. The manufacturer was notified and was not able to provide a specific time frame to supply the parts to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/22/2016

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #76

May 042015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #75

Aug 312015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. After the vehicle was serviced under an air bag recall, the vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined; however, the horn needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred an hour later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician noticed that the plastic piece was fractured on the steering wheel. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN, NHTSA campaign number, and failure mileage were unknown.

- Gonzales, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?