Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,852 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side headlight intermittantly fails, but bulb is ok. Windows intermittantly roll themselves down. Key(fob) gets stuck in recepticale. Passenger side windshield sprayer does not spray water.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #22

Oct 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Totally integrated power module (tipm) has been dangerous. All four windows went down while truck was unattended and locked several times. We replaced the expensive tipm and car stopped doing that. A few months later, we found out that just one electrical item can cause the entire tipm burn out that affects almost everything in the car. For us it was the backup camera that had a short. It caused air bags, seat belt safety, windshield wipers, defrost/fan, backup camera, locks not to work. Dealership had to replace tipm again. We also believe the tipm may have had something to do with our transmission locking into gear.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #21

Sep 012015

Ram 1500

  • 115,000 miles
The heater/ac control module went out on the vehicle. I brought it in to my mechanic on 9/24/15 he checked with the dealer they said the part is on back order and there are 59 back orders of this part in front of mine. They said it would be in on 11/9/15. On 11/9/15 my mechanic inquired and found the part delayed now until 12/2/15. This is a crucial element as I do not have defrost capabilities and the automatic lights do not come on. In rainy weather and now as we are hitting winter this is a safety hazard. For T here to be 59 of these parts on backorder tells me there is an issue with this part. The 2009 Dodge Ram has had quite a few serious recalls. I wanted this to be out there so NHTSA knows the customer service Dodge isnt providing their customers or their lack of regard for this safety issue

- Ashland, NE, USA

problem #20

Mar 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Defroster does not work, blower emits air (cold) but only to floor. Loud popping noise from air box, found actuators were malfunctioning. Nearly caused collision with oncoming traffic. Contacted Chrysler for recall status and they claimed truck was under this recall, however truck had been inspected and found to have no problems with regards to air box actuators. I subsequently found out from a nameless Dodge technician that they were instructed to engage air systems for the inspection and if no apparent malfunction is found they were to pass the recall and write it off. I am outraged that yet another corporate entity is preying on american consumers and getting by with it, while claiming to stand behind their product and it's engineering. I asked Chrysler what repair was needed. They replied" air box circulation doors bad. Would need box removed and replace 5 actuators and doors. Cost would be $800 to $1000 dollars. This is a safety issue 3/4 of the year. I now have been notified by Dodge of another recall for my truck regarding the axle pinion nut. I believe this recall will receive the same attention they gave to my air box issue and therefore am attempting to take action with this complaint. Will someone please make these corporate penny pinching sobs stand up and take responsibility for their poor engineering!!!!

- Reelsville, IN, USA

problem #19

Mar 302015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
On 3/30/15 my Ram truck exhibited the condition described in the K17 (reprogram HVAC control head and inspect/replace actuators) recall. This recall was created to eliminate the possible malfunction of the HVAC system to properly defrost/defog the windshield. It involves updating software and replacing mode door actuators. The plastic actuator gears can easily be broken when the control head sends the wrong signals to open and close the mode doors. At the moment, my defroster/heater is not working and when I first start the vehicle, there is a series of knocking sounds for several minutes as the malfunctioning system goes through its progressions. I took it in to my local Dodge dealer (gurnee) hoping that the recall would eliminate the condition. The mechanic replaced the actuators but could not get the system working properly. He said the control head is not working properly but the recall only covers the software update and not the replacement. From my research I have noticed that other Ram owners have encountered this potentially dangerous condition. If it was just a matter of the control head wearing out and not working, I would be okay with replacing it at my own expense. In my opinion though, it is not a case of ┐┐wear and tear┐Ł but instead I believe it is a defective component. The faulty control head causes the breakage of the actuators and mode doors. People who encounter this problem in the winter are at risk of an accident due to the inability to clear their windshield. Drivers may even need to get their vehicles towed. I believe that Dodge should be responsible for repairing the system to its normal capabilities. That is what a recall is designed to do. This is simply a case of a previously recalled vehicle remedy not working as designed. I called Dodge customer support on 4/10 and talked to a rep that said the repairs would be my responsibility.

- Antioch, IL, USA

problem #18

Dec 152014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Driving on the highway in Washington state during a snowy day and the defrost started blowing cold air. Dealer seems to think it is a broken blend door. As I have researched it on the web it is a very common problem and very expensive to fix but since someone hasn't deemed it a safety issue there is no recall. I on the other hand see foggy frozen windshield and windows as a safety issue.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #17

Dec 172014

Ram 1500

  • 69,984 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 makes a loud popping sound when the heat comes on or off and the windows do not defrost making for little to no visibility.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #16

Oct 222014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 268,990 miles
Started out with loud knocking noise in dash even when vehicle was shut off, then lost defrosters and dash vents a couple days later, problem has now been repaired by dealer under a 2010 recall. I took the vehicle in back in 2010 and this had been checked back then. I've read on carcomplaints.com where people had this same problem and were charged anywhere from $259-$1080!

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 022013

Ram 1500

  • 49,000 miles
Heater stopped working, the blend doors are broken, no heat or defrost.

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #14

Dec 152009

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 17,005 miles
Air conditioning and or heater blows air inside heating cooling system but doors to direct it to its destination do not open, defroster and heating system does not work, ice and snow block widow vision. Repairs have been fruitless. This situation began at the same time as the recall on it and has persisted since 2009. My latest trip for repairs have also proved fruitless and now have to pay a fee for repairs that do not work.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #13

Nov 202013

Ram 1500

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tipm is going out. Causing all sorts of electrical issues. Heater fan stopped working, windshield wipers come and go, esp comes and goes, tow/haul comes and goes, rear window power comes and goes, 4X4 cant be turned on from time to time, airbag lights come on at will, esp/bas comes and goes, ABS comes and goes, rear sliding window comes and goes, all of this happens mainly below 32 degrees but van happen anytime. But below freezing is extemely dangerous because the windshield ices up on the inside with no heater fan! thermometer stopped working to. Im sure other thing but its to much to just remember off the top of my head. Fuel economy is terrible also 12-13.5 mpg while the problems occur. Normally is 17.1 mpg average still that is terrible. At test drive it was getting 20 mpg average.

- Bellevue, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 012013

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
I noticed about a month ago that my vehicle would make a popping noise just after starting it, regardless of defrost/heat being on or off. It would make this noise about 20-30 times and then stop. Approximately two weeks after, I noticed that it would also do the same thing 10-15 minutes after starting the vehicle. I observed that while the popping noise is occurring, the HVAC fan goes to a minimum setting and sometimes stays there after the popping has subsided. This includes the defrost. Now that cold weather has arrived, I have had instances of the windshield freezing up while the vehicle is in motion and reducing visibility to nothing. It was difficult to even get to the side of the road. After some research, I determined it to be one the HVAC door actuators. According to posts on the internet, this appears to be a common problem. 3 of the 5 of these actuators that exist on the vehicle are relatively easy to access, so I obtained one of these parts and replaced one of the three accessible parts (found to have stripped gears). After reassembling, the noise was still present. After, investigation, it appears that the one of the actuators on the back side of the HVAC housing has gone bad, also. The dealership has informed me that the only way to replace these is to remove the dashboard. They told me this would cost nearly $600. The dealer also informed me that all of the actuators have been superseded by "high torque" actuators, which means the manufacturer is aware of this problem. Thank you.

- Worden, IL, USA

problem #11

Nov 182013

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
Blend door actuator failure. Loud knocking noise coming from inside of the dash, the result of stripped gears inside the actuator slipping. Plastic gears became worn and ineffective, causing failure in the blend door actuator. Safety is compromised when defrost can fail at any given time causing the driver to lose line of sight with the road and potentially resulting in an accident, and/or loss of life, limb, or eyesight. Needs recall immediately to correct malfunctions.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #10

Aug 012013

Ram 1500

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the heater failed to operate normally and only cold air blew from the vents. In addition, the defroster failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 262012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that she started the vehicle and activated the defroster system however, the vehicle exhibited an abnormal knocking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was repaired. The contact was not aware of the exact repairs made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 11/13/13 the consumer stated the battery drained. The dealer was unable to locate where it was coming from, so they reset the electrical system and said it may or may not be fixed.

- Lawrenceburg , KY, USA

problem #8

May 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 102,116 miles
For the past week, my 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 has had issues with the windshield wipers not working, the lights for the stability control are on as well as the lights for the air bag. In addition, the rear windows do not work. All of these could be extremely hazardous depending on the driving conditions. I have taken the vehicle to the dealer who told me it would cost roughly $1800 to repair/replace the tipm. I find this extremely disturbing considering I have had this vehicle in numerous times for other issues and they have messed with the wiring on a number of different occasions. I believe the NHTSA should immediately issue a recall for this vehicle and issue before someone gets hurt or injured or worse because of it.

- Huffman, TX, USA

problem #7

May 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After completion of HVAC recall, failure of mode door actuator caused inability to defrost windows. No remedy from Chrysler as recall has been accomplished 6 months prior. Have a 2006 Dodge with same problems with HVAC in dash failures of mode door and recirculation door with 3 dealer replacements of both since purchased new. Last advised in January of 2013 that entire in dash HVAC ducting/ door housings require replacement at a cost of over $1500. 2009 Dodge has same/ similar design and is now experiencing same failures. Inability to select defrost is causitive of window fogging and icing leading to poor visibility in inclement conditions and will lead to accidents from same. Recall on 2009 does not address design issue that has plagued these trucks since 2006 (as evidenced by my other truck). This must be addressed NHTSA and Chrysler before losses of lives mount. 2009 currently undrivable due to fear of rear wheel lock up due to pinion nut loss and still no notification of recall issued from Chrysler.

- Choctaw, OK, USA

problem #6

Dec 012012

Ram 1500

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the heater blend door was fractured. The contact was unable to adjust the defroster system toward the windshield, only toward the floor. The vehicle was taken to dealer, who stated that the failure was common. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 48,000. The current mileage was 52,000.

- Sanford , ME, USA

problem #5

Jul 022012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle has had a very extensive history of heater/defroster failures. This is obviously a known issue with all the Dodge trucks. First the recirc door/actuator broke, they wanted $1000 to fix, then the heater control stopped working. Paid for that to be fixed. Now the blend door broke, $1500 to fix. All of these issues happened in 1 years time. Cheap plastic parts to save money doesn't seem to be saving anyone money except them. This is a danger to all Dodge truck owners. When the defroster no longer works, it is pretty hard to see, and when it is hard to see..how can you drive safely? they don't want to recall all the trucks at $1000 per truck to fix, so they just let the owners pay for it. Can't say I will ever buy another Dodge.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #4

Feb 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
My 2009 Ram doesn't have any defroster.the recall for the ac module was done on 5/12/2012 at bald hill Dodge warwick ri. At the time of doing then recall the dealer installed a defroster actuator in the truck which was not part of the recall.over the past couple of weeks I have noticed a banging noise coming from the dash.I took the truck to the dealer for the problem of noise and a malfunctioning defroster.I was told they would have to remove the dash and look for the problem and it my take 8 hours to do so and I might have to pay for the service.I pointed out that according to the slip from 5/12/2012 it only too 2 and a half hours to do the recall and change the oil. I have found out thru then internet that this is a common problem with this model.I don`T see why I have to pay close to a &1000 for a problem that was supposed to be fixed. If you have any questions please call me at [xxx] thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)...updated 02/25/13

- Johnston, RI, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?