Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #97

Dec 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 75,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received the recall notification and tried to have my vehicle checked by the dealer. 3 weeks later after 3 additional attempts I was finally able to be seen with an appointment. The inspection took 30 min or less but did find that a part needs to be replaced. They do not have the part and is expected to take 3-6 weeks get in. In the mean time I've been advised to wait and the vehicle is safe to drive.

- Fort Pierce , FL, USA

problem #96

Dec 022013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number 13V038000 (power train) the contact called the dealer to make an appointment. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer informed the contact that they would have to order the part needed to complete the recall service. The recal repair was not honored within a reasonable time due to the part not being readily available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #95

Mar 152013

Ram 1500

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that an abnormal noise was heard from the rear of the vehicle while driving various speeds. The contact had received notification that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The dealer was contacted and stated that the part needed to complete the recall service was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #94

Nov 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Called landers mclarty Dodge, huntsville, al, for recall rear axle pinion nut, N08/NHTSA 13V-038 on Nov 8 2013 and was told they had not received the needed parts. Was told that they would have them in two weeks. Called again on Nov 21, 2013, and was told that they did not have the parts and that Chrysler was not going to send them any until mid-December. According to the recall this situation "could cause a crash without warning." I called the Chrysler group recall assistance center on Nov 21, 2013, and was told that there is nothing they can do to speed up the parts delivery.

- Elkmont, AL, USA

problem #93

May 162013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated there was a recall notification associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #92

Mar 152013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received the recall notice under NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The dealer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for the recall service. The contact had not experienced a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 36,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #91

May 152013

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received the recall notice under NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The manufacturer and the dealer were contacted and stated the part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. The current mileage was 65,000.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #90

Mar 012013

Ram 1500

  • 52,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the parts were not available. There are no failures at this time. The manufacturer was notified. The current mileage was 52,500.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #89

Apr 102013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall for NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) but was informed that the part was not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bolinas, CA, USA

problem #88

Apr 142013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he received a recall notice NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact was informed that the repair part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #87

Apr 012011

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received safety recall notice N08/NHTSA 13V-038, rear axle pinion nut notice about 6-8 months ago. I had not heard anything for about 4 months, so I called the number given, 1-800-853-1403, to ask if anything was being done about the recall and was told to wait and I would receive another notice to get the truck repaired. It has been at least 2 months since then, and I have still not received anything. I have been afraid to take my truck any distance, especially on the interstate highways, because the recall said it could cause an accident. Please do something to get this problem resolved.

- St. Marys, PA, USA

problem #86

Apr 102013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) however, the vehicle had not been serviced because the part needed was unavailable. An authorized dealer was contacted and was unable to provide an expected for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/23/13 updated 12/23/13

- Landisville, PA, USA

problem #85

Aug 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram. Consumer writes in regards to transmission problems. The vehicle had to be towed to the dealer, where the consumer was informed the transmission was torn apart and rebuilt. He drove it home, and all seemed to be well; but, in less than three weeks, T he check engine light illuminated and stayed on. The transmission incident happened a second time.

- Rice Lake, WI, USA

problem #84

May 272013

Ram 1500

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited an abnormal grinding noise while driving approximately 35 mph. In addition, the contact noticed that an unknown part became detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technician stated that the drive shaft had become detached from the vehicle and would need to be reattached. Additionally, the ring gear and bearings would also need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer twice for the replacement of the bearings. The contact stated that prior to the failure, he had received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and had advised the contact that the parte needed to complete the recall service were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Yucaipa, CA, USA

problem #83

Sep 262013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V474000 (power train) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her the parts were not available for the repairs. The manufacturer was notified but did not provide an estimated time for the parts to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alliance, OH, USA

problem #82

Apr 102013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038 'rear axle pinion nut' was issued about April, saying "a loose pinion nut could cause the rear axle to seize and a separated driveshaft could cause a loss of motive power. Either situation could cause a crash without warning? I've called the dealer several times and was told the part needed is not yet available. I called the Chrysler recall center and was told the same. I need my vehicle, but am somewhat afraid to drive it. It seems like an effort should be made to procure the part immediately for safety purposes.

- Honesdale, PA, USA

problem #81

Apr 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train) and the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified numerous times and they were unable to provide a date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #80

Apr 182013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) in April 2013. The contact stated that she attempted to get the vehicle repaired on may occasions but the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and also stated that parts were unavailable. The contact did not experience the failure.

- Collinsville, OK, USA

problem #79

Sep 202013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number 13V038000 (power train), the contact call the dealer to make an appointment to remedy the vehicle. The dealer stated that they did not have any parts to remedy the recall. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Centeninal, CO, USA

problem #78

Apr 172013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he received NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train ) and contacted the dealer to have the vehicle serviced but they did not have the parts available. The vehicle was not serviced. The manufacturer was notified and they advised the contact to take the vehicle to another dealer in the area. The contact stated that he was unhappy with the fact that he had to wait 6 months before the part became available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Thorsby, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?