Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Feb 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Referencing NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000. I received notice my truck is involved in this recall late April or early May 2013. The letter stated when parts were available I would be sent a follow up letter so that repairs could be made. I contacted marmies motors in great bend, ks 6/20/2013 and they stated the follow up letters had not been issued. It is now August 15, 2013 and I still have not received the follow up letter. This is entirely to long of time period and Chrysler is making a mockery out of the NHTSA not only in the delay of notifying owners about parts availability, but also their slow notification time of the original recall letter which according to your notice was to begin in March, 2013.

- Lyons, KS, USA

problem #56

Jul 072013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
While driving down the freeway at 65mph I heard a whining sound. I reached my exit and there was a clunking sound and I immediately pulled over and turned the truck off. When I inspected the truck the drive line was on the ground disconnected from the rear axle. The gears were locked up and the truck could not move. Truck was towed to the dealership the next day. After 5 weeks there are still no replacement parts. They are repairing the truck and using stock replacement parts that contain the same defect that caused the failure. 8/15/13 the warranty center said the non-defective replacement parts are on national backorder.

- Sherwood, OR, USA

problem #55

Jun 132013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
This is the N08 recall of Dodge trucks mfg without pinion nut adhesive.

- Quinlan, TX, USA

problem #54

Apr 112013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the part needed to complete the recall service remained unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/05/13

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #53

Apr 122013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
I have been waiting for about 6 months for Chrysler to get new rear axle pinion nuts in. They sent me a recall that the defective nuts could cause an accident. Yet every time I call they can't even tell me when the new pinion nuts will be in. Are they waiting for an accident to happen. Is there any thing you can do to expedite this? the recall no is N08/NHTSA 13V-038.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #52

Aug 022013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) several months ago but was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the parts needed were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Iberia , LA, USA

problem #51

Jul 272013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038 approximately 4 months ago. To date, the manufacturer has not provided the dealer with the proper part (rear axle pinion nut) to correct the problem. I have been advised that failure of this part could cause a crash without warning.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #50

Jun 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, a noise emitted from the rear end of the vehicle. In addition, whenever driving in reverse the rear axle would seize. In order to disengage the rear axle, the gear shifter was moved into neutral and then the four-wheel drive mechanism was engaged. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train), however the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the part. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Little Meadows, PA, USA

problem #49

Feb 152013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) several months ago and the dealer informed her that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/15/13

- Leechburg , PA, USA

problem #48

May 082013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 85,500 miles
Rear diff started blowing fluid everywhere, wobbling and the seal went. Dodge charged me $$ to fix that. Pinion nut was not replaced because the haven't manufactured it. Dealership informed me my pinion nut was tightened to spec... now July hits, my diff is whining really loud. Starts approx: 15mph worse at speeds around 45mph. When you reach 65/70mph there is a really loud whistling sound with the whine. Dodge still has no part made, spoke with Dodge and I have to continue to replace parts and pay repair costs for a recall they have yet to address (except for the one letter they sent me for the recall). Dodge will send a rep to evaluate the safety of my vehicle (this was the answer given to me the first time and the second), needless to say no rep was there. Dodge doesn't want you to drive an "unsafe" vehicle, however they have yet to properly repair it.. my question is, how is the vehicle safe?

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #47

Apr 162013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge ram1500. The contact stated that they received NHTSA recall campaign id number:13V038000(power train) in April and was told by the manufacturer in July that they did not have the parts available nor did have a time frame for when the parts would be available. The current mileage was 29,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #46

Jun 012010

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Had issue with clunking noise from rear end approximately 1 year after purchasing vehicle. Took truck into the dealership and was told by the service advisor that the pinion nut was loose and the rear driveshaft could have separated at any time. It is now 3 years later and I am receiving a recall notice for this same rear axle pinion nut. I called the dealership to have it corrected and Chrysler does not have the parts required to remedy a permanent fix. The safety recall form from Chrysler also states that parts are not available to correct. I can't believe that this was not addressed way back in 2009 when it was supposedly corrected and that Chrysler would let me drive a vehicle that had a known defect.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #45

Jul 092013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram. The contact stated that he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V038000 (power train) several months ago and was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified but they were unable to provide a date the parts would be available. There were no failures at this time. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wood Dale, IL, USA

problem #44

Jul 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) and contact the dealer to schedule recall service. The dealer advised that the parts needed to complete the service were not yet available. The manufacturer was notified but was unable to provide an expected date for the parts to become available. The contact stated that the recall letter was received several months ago. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #43

Jun 202013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that they received recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) three months ago but was informed by the dealer that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was contacted who could not provide an arrival date for the part. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #42

Jun 172013

Ram 1500

  • 32,000 miles
There has been a recall on my vehicle regarding the rear axle pinion nut potential failure. Notification #N08. I received notification several months back from Chrysler stating I would be contacted by local dealer to schedule required repair. Having not received any other communication as of 6/17/13 regarding scheduling of repair I called dealer myself. I was told that the part (nut with locktite) has not been provided to dealers and they are equally frustrated with this issue as they are receiving several calls from other concerned owners. They send out a letter warning you of the potential danger if this nut does fail but do not resolve factory issue in timely matter. The factory will not reimburse an owner if repair is made by others. Any advice or assistance would be very appreciated. Thank you

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #41

Apr 302013

Ram 1500

  • 13,126 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA campaign number recall 13V038000 (power train) several months ago. The failure was not experienced; however, the repair exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer advised that the part was not available and they did not know when the part was going to be available. The current mileage was 13,126.

- Yale , OK, USA

problem #40

Jun 102013

Ram 1500

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut recall notice. The consumer was informed by the dealer and Chrysler group, the parts were not available, and no specific time was given.

- Maceo, KY, USA

problem #39

Jun 042013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Received my safety recall 3 months ago. Issues could cause "crash without warning". Chrysler still doesn't have the parts to fix my vehicle.

- Grand Rapids, MN, USA

problem #38

Feb 062013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts were not available for the repair and was concerned about driving the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and could not provide an estimated time of arrival. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 40,000.

- Loxahatchee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?