Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,648 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jul 182014

Ram 1500

  • 108,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he believed that the air actuator failed because the air and heating temperature was not adjusting upon using the selective knob. The contact also heard a knocking sound in the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection, diagnosis and repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000.

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #18

Apr 112014

Ram 1500

  • 58,551 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that key fob became trapped in the ignition and caused the automatic lock system to fail. The contact had to lock the doors manually and disconnect the battery to shut the electrical system down. The dealer performed a diagnostic which located the failure at the ignition module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number 10V200000 (electrical system). The failure and current mileage was 58,551.

- Suffner , FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 202013

Ram 1500

  • 86,000 miles
The tipm is going out. Causing all sorts of electrical issues. Heater fan stopped working, windshield wipers come and go, esp comes and goes, tow/haul comes and goes, rear window power comes and goes, 4X4 cant be turned on from time to time, airbag lights come on at will, esp/bas comes and goes, ABS comes and goes, rear sliding window comes and goes, all of this happens mainly below 32 degrees but van happen anytime. But below freezing is extemely dangerous because the windshield ices up on the inside with no heater fan! thermometer stopped working to. Im sure other thing but its to much to just remember off the top of my head. Fuel economy is terrible also 12-13.5 mpg while the problems occur. Normally is 17.1 mpg average still that is terrible. At test drive it was getting 20 mpg average.

- Bellevue, OH, USA

problem #16

Nov 012013

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles


I noticed about a month ago that my vehicle would make a popping noise just after starting it, regardless of defrost/heat being on or off. It would make this noise about 20-30 times and then stop. Approximately two weeks after, I noticed that it would also do the same thing 10-15 minutes after starting the vehicle. I observed that while the popping noise is occurring, the HVAC fan goes to a minimum setting and sometimes stays there after the popping has subsided. This includes the defrost. Now that cold weather has arrived, I have had instances of the windshield freezing up while the vehicle is in motion and reducing visibility to nothing. It was difficult to even get to the side of the road. After some research, I determined it to be one the HVAC door actuators. According to posts on the internet, this appears to be a common problem. 3 of the 5 of these actuators that exist on the vehicle are relatively easy to access, so I obtained one of these parts and replaced one of the three accessible parts (found to have stripped gears). After reassembling, the noise was still present. After, investigation, it appears that the one of the actuators on the back side of the HVAC housing has gone bad, also. The dealership has informed me that the only way to replace these is to remove the dashboard. They told me this would cost nearly $600. The dealer also informed me that all of the actuators have been superseded by "high torque" actuators, which means the manufacturer is aware of this problem. Thank you.

- Worden, IL, USA

problem #15

May 072010

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 16,753 miles
Annoying sound behind the dash. This is cause by defective system on the electronics of the car. It concerns the recall with K17 reprogram HVAC control head and inspec/replace actuators. This problem has been going on with this vehicle since new, here is 4 years later 2 repairs by dealer one replacement by owner and the problem still going on. The famous motor actuators for the vent opening and closing. Also the change of temperature while the ac is on it has its own mind to go to heat not allowing the full cool effects of the system. I have had this problem since I purchased the truck if this time get fix it will be at their own expense if not I down to my last nerve. Would have to seek legal advise. I have posted in a lengthy explanation for those who wish to read the whole story. Here it is Dec 5, 13 an it started in May 7, 10. An still not fix.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #14

Oct 082013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
On a daily basis the engine on my 09 Dodge Ram crew cab will die at least 3-4 times a day while driving around 20-30 mph. I have taken my truck to my local dealership 5 times to get the issue fixed. They have replaced the computer 3 times. The issue still happens on a daily occurrence. I have duplicated the issue multiple times to the service agent, but magically when they have my truck for two weeks at a time the vehicle stalling does not occur and they cannot "recreate" the issue. I have had several close accidents due to this issue and something needs to be done. This issue does not pull any codes when hooked up and has been diagnosed by the dealership as a "phantom" problem. This is a serious issue that needs to be fixed before my family gets seriously injured!!

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #13

Oct 222013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 56,650 miles


The automatic door lock on driver side failed to engage at 15 mph. The passenger side did engage. Manually locking the driver side door resulted in failure to unlock when vehicle was shut down although the passenger side lock did successfully unlock. The door mounted locking button failed to lock the driver side door but did lock the passenger door. When manually locked, the door mounted locking button failed to unlock the driver side door. The remote control door lock will not operate the driver side door lock. Dealer service dept. Says this is not covered by warranty and I must pay to have this repaired.

- Meridianville, AL, USA

problem #12

Apr 092013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
In spring 2013 my Dodge Ram truck failed to start. It was towed to the dealer where I was told there was a faulty sensor and charged over $600 for the repair. In September 2013 the exact problem occurred. I was travelling and when I returned to my truck it would not start again. After several tries I was able to get my truck to start. While driving it directly to the dealership every light on the dash was flashing and acting very erratic. The dealer once again told to me I had a faulty starter. When the truck was "repaired" the dealer left just about every notice on my dash flashing stating there was nothing they could do about it (unless I wanted to pay them more money). While in the waiting room I chatted with at least one other customer who had the same problem. The Dodge Ram trucks are simply not starting because of a sensor and the dealers are making a fortune off the customers. This sensor is "faulty" and Dodge needs to be required to pay for the replacement for its customers. Not to mention the fact that owners of the Dodge Ram are left stranded in parking lots....

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 262012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that she started the vehicle and activated the defroster system however, the vehicle exhibited an abnormal knocking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was repaired. The contact was not aware of the exact repairs made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 11/13/13 the consumer stated the battery drained. The dealer was unable to locate where it was coming from, so they reset the electrical system and said it may or may not be fixed.

- Lawrenceburg , KY, USA

problem #10

Sep 022013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Our 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 is experiencing issues with the tipm (totally integrated power module). The vehicle starts intermittently and will/could stop running/shutdown at any time. We have had the truck serviced only to find that this particular part is about $650-800 to replace plus labor. The issue not only could be dangerous if the vehicle does not start but if it dies while operating. After extensive research it was discovered that this issue is not only a large issue in Dodge Ram, but also in numerous other Chrysler vehicles. Some have experienced issues such as windshield wipers, the horn blowing, lights turning on and off randomly while driving. Even after removing the key and shutting down the engine, the issues would not shut off. The wipers can and have decided to not work, which could lead to a real hazard when driving in the rain. The check engine light comes on sporadically, as does the air bag light. Not knowing if the air bag will even function in an accident. There is an enormous backorder on the tipm due to the high volume of vehicles requiring replacement. I was told "unofficially" by a service rep that the reason for the backlog is also due to Chrysler changing the manufacturer and in turn, increasing the price of the part. This needs to be replaced at the cost of Chrysler, not the owner. This is a safety issue and needs to be recalled immediately! any help you can provide would be more than appreciated.

- Manitowoc, WI, USA

problem #9

May 032013

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles


II cut my vehicle off and heard a clicking noise in the dash.... now my A/C and heat only comes from the floor vents. I have no defrost or vent dash air flow.

- Yemassee , SC, USA

problem #8

May 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After completion of HVAC recall, failure of mode door actuator caused inability to defrost windows. No remedy from Chrysler as recall has been accomplished 6 months prior. Have a 2006 Dodge with same problems with HVAC in dash failures of mode door and recirculation door with 3 dealer replacements of both since purchased new. Last advised in January of 2013 that entire in dash HVAC ducting/ door housings require replacement at a cost of over $1500. 2009 Dodge has same/ similar design and is now experiencing same failures. Inability to select defrost is causitive of window fogging and icing leading to poor visibility in inclement conditions and will lead to accidents from same. Recall on 2009 does not address design issue that has plagued these trucks since 2006 (as evidenced by my other truck). This must be addressed NHTSA and Chrysler before losses of lives mount. 2009 currently undrivable due to fear of rear wheel lock up due to pinion nut loss and still no notification of recall issued from Chrysler.

- Choctaw, OK, USA

problem #7

Aug 112010

Ram 1500

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he started the ignition and the headlights failed to operate upon activation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times and the wiring harness was replaced each time. The failure was most frequent during humid mornings. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and informed the contact that the service warranty was expired. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #6

Jul 022012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle has had a very extensive history of heater/defroster failures. This is obviously a known issue with all the Dodge trucks. First the recirc door/actuator broke, they wanted $1000 to fix, then the heater control stopped working. Paid for that to be fixed. Now the blend door broke, $1500 to fix. All of these issues happened in 1 years time. Cheap plastic parts to save money doesn't seem to be saving anyone money except them. This is a danger to all Dodge truck owners. When the defroster no longer works, it is pretty hard to see, and when it is hard to can you drive safely? they don't want to recall all the trucks at $1000 per truck to fix, so they just let the owners pay for it. Can't say I will ever buy another Dodge.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #5

Feb 272013

Ram 1500

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the starter and the battery terminal would have to be replaced. After the repair was performed, the mechanic stated the engine would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Pleasanton, TX, USA

problem #4

May 152012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The doors that switch the air up to the windshield or to your feet or face started flapping back anfourth and then stuck ion blowing on your feet never switching again. Then before I could get back to the dealership to get fixed the whole HVAC system quit working all except the fan switch, it still blows on your feet. When the system quit it also stopped my automatic headlight on switch to quit. You can't defrost the windshield how is that not safe. The truck had about 50000 miles when these started happen.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #3

Apr 132010

Ram 1500

  • 15,500 miles
Truck purchased July 31st, 2009. Since then on four separate occasions with two different drivers, the horn has not worked when pushed. Truck was taken to the dealership twice since purchase. Dealership stated both times there was no found issue. Horn continues to intermittently not work, with two most recent occasions 2/ 16/10 and 4/13/2010. Speed varies from 30-70 mph when horn failure occurs.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #2

Nov 142009

Ram 1500

  • 9,335 miles
Second incident-10/19/09. While sitting in parking lot with foot on brake, truck in drive, engine died out and would not restart. Had to tow to local dealer. Truck did restart after sitting overnight at dealership. Dealership could finally duplicate problem. No codes stored in any module. They checked voltage at the fuel pump and pump pressure, no pressure at pump. After lowering the fuel tank and checking the fuel, they inspected the fuel pump and discovered a power lead at the pump was loose and disconnects with vibration. Installed new fuel pump assembly. Old part not available.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #1

Sep 272009

Ram 1500

  • 8,148 miles
First incident-9/27/09. While driving down the street, engine died out and would not restart. Was out of town and had to tow to local dealer. Service department did code check and could not find anything wrong. They did reprogram the PCM software per tsb 18-038-08.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Not what you are looking for?