Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,464 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #147

Jul 252015

Ram 2500

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is reoccurring. Dodge has termed it the "death wobble" we bought the truck from a Dodge dealer in 2009 with 17,000 miles on it. It started doing this within days of purchase. The dealership attempted to fix the problem with no resolve it is happening again. I feel they used faulty parts in 2010 when they attempted to fix it. A number of recalls concerning this issue have not been issued to us or resolved by the dealership. Recall numbers performed are H46. Three recalls not resolved (attempted but not done) L16, N62, and R25. Researching this issue informed me that their are pending class action law suits for these recalls on my make and model. I am needing feedback on what to do with our truck. It is my main work truck and I have a family with 4 kids who ride with me at times. It is very very dangerous. The "death wobble" is just that. It scares you to death. It is so sever that it bounces the truck into oncoming traffic lanes or the median. If it would happen in a curve a wreck would be unavoidable. I race cars and can barely maintain control. The driver looses complete control of steering and has to break hard to gain contact to the road. Until an extremely slow speed is obtained, no control can be maintained.

- Grafton, WV, USA

problem #146

Dec 132013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 13V528000 (steering) however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #145

Jul 062015

Ram 2500

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The failure mileage was approximately 113,000.

- Clintondale, NY, USA

problem #144

Jun 152015

Ram 2500

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving approximately 35 mph over a bump, there was a complete loss of steering control for a few seconds. The failure recurred whenever encountering a bump, pothole, or uneven road surfaces. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where a front and rear wheel alignment were performed. The failure persisted after the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Corvallis, OR, USA

problem #143

Sep 102011

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Vehicle went into a severe wobble. Not a shimmy or shake but a wobble to a point that the tires lost contact with blacktop. After numerous trips to dealer and filing complaints with both Chrysler and ntsb I found that all was in vain. I was relegated to keeping the vehicle under 55 mph so driving the freeways in calif was avoided as much as possible. I could not afford another vehicle so I was stuck with the Ram. After an incident on a two lane rd around July of 2014 (wobble in a curve found me in the oncoming lane of traffic) I did as much research as possible thus finding that many were experiencing the same problem. There were recalls and bulletins as found out by my local mechanic regarding this very problem. $900 and change later the problem was finally fixed. The pitman arm was at the wrong angle which put undo stress on the bushings for tie rod and drag link. This created wear thus loosening the entire steering system. Dodge let this problem persist knowing that the loss of control was a certainty...look at the recalls and bulletins. I don't really care about the buy back I feel I should be reimbursed for the repair..## VIN passed ## Dodge Ram 2500 4X4 2007 ##...updated 08/06/15 the consumer stated the pitman arm issue was from a bulletin from Dodge. The angel on the stock pitman arm needed to be replaced with a pitman arm that was at a different angle. Thus leveling the tie rod and drag link. The consumer's mechanic believed the stress on the bushings of the bad angle of the pitman is what degraded the bushings and loosened the steering system resulting in the wobble. Updated 08/13/15 updated 09/29/15

- Cool, CA, USA

problem #142

Mar 122013

Ram 2500

  • 96,211 miles
On March 12 we were returning from skiing, driving down the highway at 60 mph when the left front tie rod broke on our 2007 Ram 2500. My husband was able to slow the truck down and pull off to the side of the road. We had the truck towed to the mechanic where the left front tie rod was replaced, as well as the upper and lower ball joints. When Dodge had the recall on this part we took the truck in and were told that the recall was only on the replacement parts that had been put on for the broken tie rod and that they would not reimburse us for the cost of fixing the original tie rod that broke. The Dodge dealership supposedly changed out the replacement tie rod. My concern with the recall is: If the original tie rod wasn't defective Dodge wouldn't be replacing so many replacements. Why were we not reimbursed for the original equipment that was obviously defective?

- Bloomfield, NM, USA

problem #141

Jul 252015

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 78,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2000 miles ago as I was driving down the freeway the truck began to pull to the right and handled as if there was some broken linkage or steering box was failing. After inspecting and not finding anything wrong, I continued my trek home and couldn't comfortably go above 30 mph, it almost felt like half of the front axle was locked in 4WD. Searched online and saw that seized rear brake calipers are not uncommon so I replaced the rotors, calipers, and pads. Made several short trips and thought it was resolved. During a 1 hour drive the problem returned and I was unable to control vehicle and stopped to inspect. The brakes were not hot but the rear axle was binding badly, I limped the truck home, afraid to drive it again. As I have been doing research on the problem, the internet forums revealed many peoples stories about Dodge Ram axles "locking/seizing" while driving down the freeway causing accidents and roll-overs. Just thought you might want to look into it. Thanks, signed an immaculately cared for and broken Dodge Ram :( update 9/15/15 after replacing the rear calipers, pads and rotors the problem persisted. Pulled rear differential cover and inspected ring gear, pinion, spider gears and bearings. Everything is good. Finally after replacing all the rear brakes lines the problem was solved. Updated 09/29.15

- Kaysville, UT, USA

problem #140

Jun 052013

Ram 2500

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the steering wheel was extremely stiff when turning left or right. The contact noticed that the failure progressed when the vehicle was pulling a trailer or without the trailer. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel, which was painful to the vehicle owner's arm upon turning when the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Valley Park , MO, USA

problem #139

May 052010

Ram 2500

  • 32,000 miles
Front end started shaking violently after hitting a bump on freeway, was uncontrollable until slowing down to 30 on freeway.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #138

Mar 132015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that upon turning left or right or while in reverse, there was a loud noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed ort repaired. The contact received notifications of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 13V528000 (steering), and 14V817000 (air bags) but the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #137

Sep 052013

Ram 2500

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving at 55 mph, the steering wheel became loose. The contact had to steer in excess in order to turn the vehicle. In addition, there was a noise coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the tie rods needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had previously experienced the failure and the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #136

Jan 152014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Reference the below complaint, and others: Date complaint filed: 03/02/2015 component(s): Power train, suspension date of incident: 10/01/2014 NHTSA id number: 10691476 driving approximately 50 mph on winding two lane country road, while executing curve to right, after passing over a slight bump in the road, front suspension entered what is commonly called a " death wobble". steering quickly became ineffective, braking was diminished due to loss of firm contact between front tires and road surface. Wobble is regenerative in that it continues to get worse until vehicle speed is reduced to 15-20 mph. I was unable to precisely control direction of travel, crossing into oncoming lane before reducing speed enough to regain control. Vehicle shakes so bad as to dislodge items from the dash and console pockets. This event repeated several times at a particular spot on my way to work, where there was an irregularity in the roadway on a straight section of paved two lane road. Behavior was the same as described above. The last even was while pulling a twenty two foot trailer on a major interstate, while negotiating a right hand curve on a down hill merge lane at freeway speed of approximately 60-65 mph. Again I was unable to maintain my lane of travel and a crash would have resulted if any other traffic had been near me! definitely a safety issue! local dealership assured me a new steering damper would cure the problem. (it didn't) I eventually fixed the problem myself by researching what other owners had done online (there is a lot of info on this issue!), and replacing the pitman arm, drag link, tiered, and adding a steering shaft stiffening brace. The drag link, tiered and tiered ends were a mopar part kit. Much heavier construction than the original part. Response to a known issue? this issue makes the truck nearly un drivable.

- Coltons Point, MD, USA

problem #135

Jul 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
Safety recall N62 - left tie rod ball stud I've been told the parts are still unavailable after I've called every 1-2 months since July 1, 2014. On February 1, 2015 it will have been six months since I've requested resolve in this matter through: Hurley Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram 2173 South woodland blvd., deland, fl 32720 sales:(888) 736-6912 service:(888) 736-6914 parts:(888) 737-5717 currently, I'm developing vibration in my steering and am concerned something dangerous may be developing. Are these parts even manufactured any longer? any update would be appreciated. Thank you.

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #134

Jan 312014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My truck violently shakes when you hit a bump at approx. 55 mph or greater. It also wanders and is very tough to steer when the vibration starts. It seems to be consistent to thousand of other complaints bye Ram 2500 owners I have read about online and watched videos regarding there "Dodge death wobble" nightmares with the trucks. I recently consulted with the dealer and they offer a steering linkage "upgrade kit" for approx. $1200 installed. From what I have researched is the kit doesn't always fix the problem. I have a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500 with only 55,000 miles on it that I will not drive over 55 mph. It terrifies me when it shutters so bad. I cannot believe a $45,000 truck new priced is undriveable over 50 mph due to the ungodly shaking. I don't know how this has escaped recall with millions of owners complaining and making you tube videos and posting on forums about the "Dodge death wobble." Its so unbelievable that I paid over 30K for a truck and it only has 50,000 miles on it and cant be driven over 50 mph!! please look at some of the "Dodge death wobble" videos on you tube and tell me how that cant be safety issue.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #133

Oct 112013

Ram 2500 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
In 2007 I purchased a new Dodge Ram big horn 4X4 cummings diesel.I pull a 2-horse bumper pull trailer about 12 times a yr, haul a few things in bed, truck has light use.being a career mechanic I am particular about maintenance, truck is garaged,1/2015 only has 38,000 mi.took to dealership in 2013 for tie rod end recall, told me all was ok, no parts needed.during a 300 mi.round trip pulling trailer/horses 10/13, I noticed some wandering, upon return took to dealership for check and tire rotation which was also due.immediately noticed wandering was worse going home, took back again, they rotated tires again(probably back how they were),added wheel weight, still wandering, tired taking in with no results.new tires Oct 2013, ruled out tire problem as cause.noticed wander more with trailer.for peace of mind took back 1 more time before horse trip Oct.2014, told all ok even thou still wandering.started weaving also during trip, felt uncomfortable about stability there and back.a few wks ago taking to dealership for oil change/weaving check, while on local paved road truck pulled sharply to right, pass.mirror smashed into sign, $530 bill.lucky I kept truck on road!right away took to front end shop, didn't feel confident with dealership.they found front end parts worn, needed replacement, tie rod ends, track bar bushings, drag link and ball joints!on a 38,000 mile well maintained truck that didn't haul or pull heavy loads!ridiculous!search found thousands of complaints for this issue, many people put in dangerous life threatening situations, people may have died from this failure.main cause seems the engine is too heavy for weak inferior parts with poor design.Dodge takes no responsibility and ignores issue while consumers pay millions in repairs and unknowingly risk their lives.Dodge needs to recall these dangerous vehicles!fixes are there but should not be at consumers expense!

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #132

Dec 032014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My son ([xxx]) was driving along king college road, bristol, Tennessee at about 8:55pm on December 4, 2014 my vehicle became unsteerable while driving down the road. The left front tire rod apparently broke and he was unable to steer the vehicle. Prior to this incident he had taken it to a local Dodge dealer and they said it was not on the recall list. Come to find out it appears someone erroneously listed the vehicle in the system as being repaired and it was never repaired. I believe someone listed it so Chrysler would not have to repair my vehicle and it could have cost my son's life when the tire rod broke. I am requesting that an investigation be conducted to see who erroneously listed the vehicle as being repaired. Thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #131

Nov 272014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 140,299 miles
Recall notice N62/NHTSA 13V-528 left tie rod end may break while driving causing lose of steering and may result in accident"?wow now you would think Dodge would make this a priority to get fixed?? so I have emailed Dodge several times about getting this fixed always same answer do not have parts, been to local dealer doing the same, got the same answer no parts to fix vehicle??? well lucky it broke on my street turning truck around to back in my driveway, steering linkage pushed into my left tire 6" so side wall belts are now broke but it was also causing my new tires to wear out faster on front of truck even after alignments done, so after a year my truck is still not fixed and is sitting at hall Jeep/ Dodge and no fix for it due to no parts available. So no I am less my truck and need to borrow a vehicle just to got to work, I find this a huge problem not only should I have a rental vehicle that matches my vehicle but want two new front tire now also why cant they get the parts I can order all parts needed right now online or go pickup locally and get my truck repaired but getting my money back for repairs will be a huge issue because after market parts?? really be better parts in my eyes being I would get heavy duty parts for replacement parts so no more front end issues I am done with Dodge and trying to get a truck fixed that should have been done months ago with no hassle period!! oh and to top it all off the dealer gives me number to Dodge roadside assistance to tow my truck to dealer less than a 1/4 mile form my house they want to charge me $73 for the tow?" um your recall issue and your tow problem I am not paying a dime being you cant get parts to fix my truck and when its now broke and has no steering Dodge want me to pay for a tow bill ya ok good luck on that too...really wish could up load pictures its a site to see linkage stuck in my tire....

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #130

Nov 102010

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
This has been an ongoing problem since I purchased the vehicle. It has been identified by the many people that have experienced the problem as the death wobble. I have addressed this problem with Chrysler and they will not admit there is a problem more than likely because there would be a recall and much money to spend. I have also addressed this problem with my local dealership and they have maintained the same position as Chrysler. Upon researching the net many have experienced the same problem. Description of the problem is as follows; at speeds of 55 to 70 mph, upon hitting normal pot holes (normal for calif pot holes) the vehicle will go into a violent shaking. This is shaking of the entire vehicle where the only way to stop it is to slow to about 30. So needless to say it happens mainly on the freeway. My latest episode happened on a portion of a highway with a curve to the right. After the wobble started due to centrifical force the truck "danced" into the oncoming lane and on to the right shoulder of the same lane. In an effort to slow the truck I was now on gravel/dirt sliding side ways. Came to a stop and sat to collect myself. Resumed my travel slowing to 40 mph at any and every curve. I have not been able to take this vehicle on any freeway because of this problem. Please keep in mind I am not alone. Simply log on to the net and type in death wobble. You will discover how prevalent this problem is. Can you folks help?

- Cool, CA, USA

problem #129

Jan 162014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced...updated 12/15/14 updated 10/5/2015

- South Cosseyville, OK, USA

problem #128

Mar 122013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2007 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to left tie rod ball stud fractured. The consumer stated the ball stud fractured while driving. The vehicle began to shake uncontrollably, and caused the tie rod to drop to the ground.

- Groves, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?