Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,481 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Jan 202014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There has not yet been an incident but we have been trying to comply with this safety recall since January 20, 2014 and our dealer does not yet have the part from Chrysler to repair our truck. Why?? I believe the dealer to be honest in their attempt to obtain the parts and do not understand why there is not a designated operation to produce and provide these needed safety corrections.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #110

Jul 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Mount Aukum, CA, USA

problem #109

Apr 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- El Campo, TX, USA

problem #108

Jul 072014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that he had contacted the dealer and the manufacturer numerous times and there was no estimated date when the parts would be available for the recall repairs. The contact felt that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #107

Apr 302014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #106

Jun 302014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the dealer stated that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lincolnton, GA, USA

problem #105

Dec 112013

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering); however, the part was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plesantville, IA, USA

problem #104

Jun 252014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated received the first notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer stated that they have only serviced 200 this year and have a waiting list of 400 people. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure described in the recall.

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #103

Jan 072014

Ram 2500

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000 (steering). However, the part to do the repairs was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Depauw, IN, USA

problem #102

Feb 032014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
I received a recall notice back in January 2014 and it stated to contact the dealer to have the recall maintenance done. I have called and tried for 5 months to get an appointment to have my Ram looked at, to no avail. I keep being told that they are waiting for parts. If Chrysler initiated this recall why don't they have the parts to fix it. My neighbor has a Ram also and he is in the same position. What can I do to get my Ram repaired? the recall # is N49/NHTSA 13V-529.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #101

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The dealer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the repair was not performed in a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chino Valley , AZ, USA

problem #100

Nov 102010

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Submission from constituents re 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 pick up truck recall notice. (full document not imaged). The consumer stated, he experienced problems with the truck for several years. Whenever he went out of town, the vehicle would severely vibrate. The problems included, the tie rods and front end issues. Finally, the problem was identified in a recall letter, he received. Also, the egr had to be replaced at a cost of $ 950.

- Dinosaur, CO, USA

problem #99

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
I received recall notice N49/nhtsa13V-529 and took my vehicle to a local Dodge dealership in January 2014. I was placed on a waiting list for parts to be ordered. I called the dealership in March 2014 and was told the parts were on back order. It is now June and I am being told the part is still on back order. I do not feel comfortable operating my vehicle on the freeway knowing there is a discrepancy with my steering. I also do not think a 6 month wait to repair a safety recall is timely or acceptable. I would appreciate your assistance in resolving this matter.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #98

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
Received a safety recall notice from Chrysler in early January 2014 for left tie rod replacement on 2008 Dodge 2500 pickup truck. I have attempted to schedule repairs to replace left tie rod ball stud on numerous locations with local Chrysler/Dodge dealer and have been told they have not been getting parts from manufacturer. First review and attempt to schedule was on January 14th. Placed on wait list. Have followed up in both late February and late March to schedule, and still told no parts available to repair under recall notice. Dealer informed me they will contact when they can schedule. Today is May 27th, 2014- no call back to schedule yet.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #97

Jul 112008

Ram 2500

  • 26,000 miles
I have a recall that still to this day has not been taken care of, and was sent out in Nov. 2013. The dealership says that the parts have been back log, and now I have had to pay for a frontend alignment. This truck has had right tie rod and other front end work done ever since I have owned it. I'm so upset over all, and in hopes that ntmv safety can do something about this. As ntmv Safety Act says that this could cause a loss of directional control and / or crash without warning. And to pay thousands of dollars for a truck that I paid hard earn dollars for, and could endanger someone else or myself. I don't feel it is safe to drive, because of all these recalls I have been sent. Yet, I have invested $$$$$$ in this truck and I need it to be safe. What can I do" can you help" please!

- Payson, AA, USA

problem #96

May 212014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before may of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #95

Dec 262013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under the recall due to the part not being available. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/11/14

- Veedersburg, IN, USA

problem #94

Dec 172013

Ram 2500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA recall campaign number:13V528000 (steering). The contact was advised that the parts were not available and as a result the recall repair could not be performed. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. There were no failures at this time.

- Columbus, MT, USA

problem #93

Mar 122014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V529000 (steering) but was made aware that the parts were not available and the repairs were unable to be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Kmj

- Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #92

Jan 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V259000 (steering) but was unable to have the vehicle repaired because the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had surpassed a reasonable time frame to initiate the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the contact's concerns. The contact did not experience the failure.

- Hampstead, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?