Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #123

Dec 102013

Ram 2500 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a notice of safety recall in November or December 2013 and was informed I needed to call the dealership beginning January 6, 2014. It is now November 5, 2014 and I am just now having the repair done. As a result of this extreme delay I was unable to use my truck to tow my boat out of storage and thus incurred a $750 charge. I contacted the dealership numerous times over the past year and was informed each time they would call me for an appointment which never happened. I had one appointment cancelled because they had run out of replacement parts. I am due reimbursement of the storage charge of $750 because I was unable to tow my boat out of storage. I can send the receipt for the storage charge and the work order when the tie rod was replaced for documentation of this outlandish situation.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #122

Jan 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was available. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Summerfield, KS, USA

problem #121

Dec 162013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
I received a "safety recall" concerning the left front tie rod (ball joint) mid December 2013. As of date 09/26/2014 and approximately 10,000 miles later the recall has not been done. The dealer claims there are no parts available.........8 months"???? "safety recall"?????? "steering could fail"?????? no available parts??????" come on.

- Twin Falls, ID, USA

problem #120

Sep 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact went to the dealer on several occasions and was informed that the part was not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #119

Sep 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact went to the dealer on several occasions and was informed that the part was not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #118

Sep 022014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to left tie rod ball stud recall notices. The consumer contacted two dealers, and they both informed him, the parts were not available. Recall# 13V529000.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #117

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer could not repair the vehicle for eight months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fouke , AR, USA

problem #116

Aug 222014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer was contacted numerous times and was informed the parts were not available. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be inspected. The technician verified that the vehicle needed the replacement and was put on the waiting list. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/09/14 the consumer stated the problem was fixed. Updated 10/30/14

- Windsor, NY, USA

problem #115

Nov 192013

Ram 2500 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the parts for the repair were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer had exceeded the reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/02/14 the consumer stated that the issue has been resolved. Updated 3/9/2015

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #114

Mar 152014

Ram 2500

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. While making a turn at 10 mph, the steering became wobbly and the contact heard an abnormal squeaking noise. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #113

Aug 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to unable to schedule service at dealership to complete tie rod recall notice, due to lack of parts.

- Doniphan, MO, USA

problem #112

Aug 192014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
This vehicle received a recall alert 12/20/2013. This vehicle has been on the list at the dealership since Feb. 2014 to have the needed repairs. According to the dealer, there is a long waiting list for the part and I haven't been called as of August 20, 2014. The dealership is flower motors, montrose, co. I don't understand why the parts are not available to fix this problem. I have to use this truck everyday and I'm concerned I may be in an accident. What advice can you offer" when can I expect to have this problem repaired"

- Crawford, CO, USA

problem #111

Aug 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #110

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the part needed to service the vehicle under the recall was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Craig, CO, USA

problem #109

Aug 122013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #108

Jan 092014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part was not available to perform the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/2/14 the steering linkage was replaced. Updated 11/18/14

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #107

Jan 152014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer informed the contact that the recall parts were on back order.

- Moses Lake, WA, USA

problem #106

Mar 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/15/14

- Nazareth , PA, USA

problem #105

Jan 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received the notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that she had contacted the dealer and the manufacturer numerous times and there was no date available for when the parts will be available for the repairs. The contact felt that the repair exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The contact did not experience a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue.

- Olean, MO, USA

problem #104

Jun 102014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Norwich, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?