Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #103

Dec 042013

Ram 2500

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving various speeds, the vehicle shook intermittently. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 99,000.

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #102

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering), but the parts were unavailable. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer could provide an estimated date as to when the parts would arrive. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Evensville, WY, USA

problem #101

Dec 272013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #100

Jan 072014

Ram 2500

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while pulling out of the driveway, the vehicle made a loud noise. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the driver front tire was detached. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the tie rod was replaced two years ago. The contact received notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #99

Jan 072014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/7/14 updated 3/11/15

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #98

Jul 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they were not able to specify when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. Contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/02/14 updated 03/2/2015

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #97

Jul 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they have no idea when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/18/14 the consumer stated after almost 10 months from original notice, the parts arrived. However, no appointment has been made. Updated 1002/14

- Dayton, MN, USA

problem #96

May 122014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
Chrysler issued a safety recall for a possible left tie rod ball stud failure. The recall notice says to call for an appointment so the parts can be ordered prior to the appointment. When I arrived for my appointment I was told that Chrysler only sends them only one part per month, and they have hundreds of recalls. When I asked if it was safe to drive, their answer was, it should be. I have not heard from them since. That was 2 months ago. I feel some action needs to be taken against Chrysler to see that the parts are made available to the dealerships. This is for recall notice # N49 / NHTSA 13V-529.

- Palmer, AK, USA

problem #95

Dec 162013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V528000(steering). The contact stated that the repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue.

- Refugio, TX, USA

problem #94

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I had received a recall letter from Chrysler (N49 / NHTSA 13V-529) back in January and I had contacted my dealership (carl burger's Dodge in la mesa, ca 91942) shortly after receiving the letter. I was told that my name was added to a list and that they would contact me after the parts had arrived to replace the left tie rod ball stud on my truck. In may, I sent the dealership an email requesting an approximation for the recall work to be performed. I outlined an upcoming trip that I needed to drive my truck on and I never got a response. I called the dealership in June and was told that my name was still on the list but that I am number 147 and that Chrysler was only shipping them (1) tie rod per week. I have an out of state trip planned for the end of August and I have serious concerns due to some clunking that I am feeling in the steering wheel that this tie rod could possibly fail. Last week I received the same recall letter from Chrysler. I am not sure what more I can do? thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #93

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Important saftey recall N49/NHTSA 13V-529: The left tie rod ball stud on the truck may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could cause a loss of directional control and/or crash without warning. The 2500 Dodge Ram was purchase to tow a 27foot rv. This is its primary purpose. Since I received the recall notice (Jan 2014), I've contacted folsom Dodge (folsom, ca) each month. I am told that they do not have the parts to make the repairs, and that there are over 100 trucks ahead of my truck. Folsom Dodge will call me, but I have not received a call back from them. I have called on the following dates: Jan 27, 2014; Feb 21, 2014; Mar 21, 2014; Apr 25, 2014; May 23, 2014; Jun 20, 2014; and Jul 7, 2014. I am call every two weeks. This is now "camping" season. This repair must be made as soon as possible. It's been over 7 months and still no parts"???" really!!!!! each time we take the rv out, we are risking our lives unnecessarily. This is unacceptable.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #92

Jan 082014

Ram 2500 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/16/14

- Pampa, TX, USA

problem #91

Dec 032013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Amelia, VA, USA

problem #90

Jan 152014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Received first N49 notice and brought vehicle in for 60K service and recall repair on 1-15-14. Recall repair not able to be completed. Multiple calls to dealer and 2 more N49 recall notices received and dealer still not able to repair truck. Latest notice received 6-28-14.

- Kirkland , WA, USA

problem #89

Jul 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the dealer and the manufacturer were not able to provide a time frame for when the parts would be available for the repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Maple Shade, NJ, USA

problem #88

Jan 082014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that he was made aware that parts were not available as a result repairs were unable to be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Vero Beach , FL, USA

problem #87

Jan 022014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering), but the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gallatin Gateway, MT, USA

problem #86

Dec 012013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Recall N49 / NHTSA 13V-529 I have been waiting to get the recall work done on my 2009 Dodge Ram 2500 since December 1 2013. My local Dodge dealer, (don K Dodge Chrysler and Jeep in whitefish Montana) said they put me on a list of customers for the same recall. I have stopped in once a month (6 times) since I was put on the list. During my last visit, I was told by the service manager that there were 137 people in line ahead of me. The service manager also informed me that Dodge is only allowing them parts to do one recall repair every two weeks. From my calculations, that puts my wife, three kids and I 5.25 years of at risk driving before my truck will be able to have the defective parts replaced. I would like my truck to be repaired as soon as possible, as I cannot afford to buy another one. 7 months of waiting to find out it will be 5 more years is not reasonable at all. I sincerely hope to get this issue resolved in the near future. Thanks for your time.

- Columbia Falls, MT, USA

problem #85

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The dealer stated that the manufacturer was only sending one repair kit at a time. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repair. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Crane Hill , AL, USA

problem #84

Dec 112013

Ram 2500

  • 85,848 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering), however the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jerome, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?