Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact mentioned that the manufacturer had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated they were only receiving 2 repair kits a month and had a waiting list of over 200. The manufacturer not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure described in the recall. Updated 10/02/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 8/1/14. Updated 3/9/15

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #82

Feb 072014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Batesville, AR, USA

problem #81

Apr 202014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #80

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering). However, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bayton, MN, USA

problem #79

Jun 252014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that she had contacted the dealer numerous times and they have no idea when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted. Updated 10/29/14 updated 4/22/15

- Beford, IN, USA

problem #78

Jan 012013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
I received recall notice # N49/NHTSA 13V-529. I contacted my dealer in Jan as instructed, again in March and again in June of 2014. I am still waiting on my recall work to be performed.

- Melville, LA, USA

problem #77

May 052014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering). However, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Salsurrias, TX, USA

problem #76

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Received a recall notice for left tie rod ball stud in January. I contacted the dealership and they said it will be a couple of weeks for the part to come. It is now the end of may and my vehicle has not been fixed.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #75

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Chrysler safety recall N49/NHTSA 13V-329. I received this notice on Jan 6, 2014. The stated problem is "the left tie rod ball stud on your truck may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could cause a loss of directional control and/or crash without warning." I contacted my dealer on Jan 7, 2014 to schedule a service appointment to make this repair. I was put on as waiting list due to a low supply of replacement parts available from Chrysler. It is now May 28(5 months later), and still do not know when this repair will be made. My question to you is, do you have data which somehow establishes a likelihood of this event happening?

- Ellensburg, WA, USA

problem #74

Jan 312014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected availability date. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle had not experienced the failure.

- Morgan, UT, USA

problem #73

May 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to the left tie rod ball stud recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, there was an extended wait, as they only received 1 part a week. Recall # 13V529000.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #72

Dec 262013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign recall number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures at this time.

- Dammeron Valley , UT, USA

problem #71

Oct 172013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wenatchee, WA, USA

problem #70

Dec 302013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact was placed on a massive waiting list. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saucier, MS, USA

problem #69

Oct 152013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he was concerned for his safety since the parts were still not available for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact did not experience a failure. The current mileage was 69,810.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #68

Jan 022014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000(steering) and stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time because the dealer indicated that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Ocean Side, CA, USA

problem #67

Nov 302011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 10,000 miles
Car was brought in 5 times to have various front end recalls performed, two different dealers bedard brothers in cheshire mass. And beterra for steering recall (now N49/NHTSA 13V-529) previously same recall had two or three different numbers. They have never had the parts and could never perform the recall. Because they say that the steering may fail at any moment I have used the vehicle only when I absolutely have no other transportation. Hence as of today the car has 17,200 miles only. The other problem is loss of coolant, the egr cooler has been leaking, I have had it at dealers three times and they have no clue how to repair. This is a common complaint. Because this internal leak goes into the turbocharger. The turbocharger failed and on 7/08/13 had to be replaced at 16,150 miles. That was the symptom of the egr cooler leak, but the cause (leaking egr cooler was not addressed then or on two following trips to the dealers. On to bedard and one to berterra. The Chrysler case number may be 24954056 after dealers worked on car two trouble codes appeared P052 and P0700 I don't want to continue driving a car that the steering will fail at any moment or the engine may blow because of coolant loss.

- Middlefield, MA, USA

problem #66

Mar 242014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed by the dealer that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated arrival date. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fayette City, PA, USA

problem #65

Jan 092014

Ram 2500

  • 11,435 miles
Chrysler group llc sent us a recall on this truck. Recall number N49, a left tie rod that may fail causing loss of directional control and/or crash without warning. I contacted the local Chrysler co where we purchased the truck on January 9 and we have not been called back to replace the part. We are fearful of driving this truck because of the warning. We haul horses and do not want to have to worry about a crash and have to deal with loss of life, limb, truck, trailer, and horses. We think that Chrysler should replace your truck with one that does not have a recalled part as they have been very slow in replacing the part. It is time. Note mileage is low for a 2009 truck because of that concern. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gettysburg, PA, USA

problem #64

Dec 202013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the notification months ago. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable timeframe for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Joliet, MT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?