Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to tie rod ball stud recall notice problems. The consumer stated she and her husband have been waiting since Jan 2014, for the part to come in. Updated 05/07/14.

- Coeur D'alene, ID, USA

problem #62

Nov 012013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall letter November 2013. The dealer advised the contact that the replacement part had also been recalled and they did not know when the newly designed part would become available for the repair. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Lubbock , TX, USA

problem #61

Dec 262013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- La Junta, CO, USA

problem #60

Dec 182013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice from Dodge/Chrysler in December notifying me that parts to repair my truck would be available starting January 6, 2014. I called prior to January 1st and was told to call back after January 6th. I called back on February 10th and was placed on a waiting list with an estimated wait of 4 to 6 weeks. I have heard nothing as of today. So I followed up with the dealership again today and was told that they have not received parts from Chrysler yet and I wasn't on the advisors list. I've been added again, but was told that there are over 3,000 trucks in my area waiting to be serviced with no estimate as to when the parts will be available. I was also told previously that Chrysler sent parts to the dealership on a prior recall at the rate of one repair per week. If this is repeated this time it will take up to 3,000 weeks to be serviced. I've already waited over 3 months which seems unreasonable and have no assurance of being taken care of in the foreseeable future. How can we expedite this repair?

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #59

Jan 072014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the parts needed for the repair were not available and the repairs could not be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be performed. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #58

Dec 262013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the manufacturer stopped producing the replacement parts because they were defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bourbon, MO, USA

problem #57

Feb 142014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to tie rod recall notice issues. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available. The consumer was placed on a waiting list.

- Corry, PA, USA

problem #56

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V529000 (steering) but was advised by the dealer that the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The contact received the notification months ago and was advised by the manufacturer that they were not aware of when the parts would become available to complete the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #55

Feb 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to complete the repair could take up to six months. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tully, NY, USA

problem #54

Mar 032014

Ram 2500

  • 40,000 miles
Chrysler put out a recall "N49" for my truck I took it to a dealer and they said the parts are defective and need replaced they had to order the parts 3 weeks later and no parts the dealer now says it will probably be another 3 months before they can get the parts I called Chrysler and the only response was that they don't have the ability to produce the parts they cannot tell me what will happen if the parts break and I crash my truck I now have no idea what I should do.

- Underwood, IA, USA

problem #53

Mar 172014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealers were receiving two parts per month. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/28/14

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #52

Mar 142014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Villeplatte, LA, USA

problem #51

Dec 202013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available, as advised by the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape Vincent, NY, USA

problem #50

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact was concerned that the failure could be life-threatening because he transported small children in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacture was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #49

Dec 202013

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the repair part was also recalled and did not know when the replacement part would become available. The manufacture had been alerted of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the a failure.

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #48

Dec 162013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) but was advised by the dealer that the parts were not available. The contact received the recall notice several months ago and was advised by the manufacturer that they did not know when the parts would be available. There are no failures at this time.

- Modesto, IL, USA

problem #47

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer had to place the contact on a waiting list that would exceed two years because the replacement part was called back by the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised the contact that the replacement part had to be redesigned and could possibly become available to the dealer within two years. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Redway, CA, USA

problem #46

Dec 152013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer advised that part was not available to complete the required repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #45

Dec 262013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair. The contact felt that it was unacceptable for him to still be waiting when the vehicle was taken to the dealer January 6, 2014. The manufacture was alerted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated he had not yet experienced the failure described in the recall. Updated 04/22/14

- Yucaipa, CA, USA

problem #44

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl

  • miles
I received an important safety recall N49/NHTSA 13V-529 back in Dec time frame, I immediately contacted crown Dodge in fayetteville, nc. They told me that they are aware of the situation and are waiting on parts to arrive and to call back in two weeks. I call back two weeks later (mid Jan) they explain that they have not received any parts and was told to bring in my truck so they can order parts assigned to my VIN number which I did. After waiting several weeks I called crown Dodge on 4 March 2014 and spoke with frank in the service dept. He explains to me that the parts were ordered last week. I don't understand how it has taken crown Dodge over 2 months to order parts for this recall. [xxx] was unable to give a good explanation why it has taken so long to order parts. I explained to him that my truck has a severe death wobble problem and it is very hazardous to drive and I needed this issue fixed as soon as possible. I don't even let my wife drive the truck because I am afraid for her safety because of this issue. [xxx] could not tell me when the parts he supposedly ordered would come in. I am tired of waiting and hope you could shed some light on this problem I am having with crown Dodge of fayetteville. Thank you helping me in this matter.. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?