Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Ram 3500 exhaust system problems

exhaust system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments

problem #3

Jun 112007

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 3500. On April 13, 2007, at 1,100 miles, the alternator failed and had to be replaced. On May 22, 2007, June 14, 2007, July 13, 2007, and August 11, 2007, the check engine light illuminated. On each occasion, the catalytic converter was diagnosed to be 100% full and had to be replaced. On October 3, 2007 the computer system was updated. On November 2, 2007 a diagnosis displayed five different codes and the computer system was reset. At that time, the contact was informed that the catalytic converter would be replaced until the warranty ran out. After that, the repair would be his responsibility. The current mileage was 62,000 and failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 11/21/07.

- Minford, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 122007

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,047 miles
At 1047 miles, my new 2007, Dodge 3500, diesel 4X4 trucks catalytic converter showed 100% full. I was 75 miles from the nearest paved highway, (aka as the middle of nowhere!) and could only drive 5-15 mph due to extremely bad road conditions. Upon contacting a service tech at my dealership, I was told the only way to get back would be to unbolt the converter. I did & was nearly "gassed" to death by the fumes. I experienced a headache and burning eyes for a couple of days after. The dealer has now re-attached the convertor, but nothing was done to correct the "plugging" problem of this convertor. Hence, it will occur again.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #1

Jun 202007

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 3500. The vehicle emits black smoke when the accelerator pedal is depressed. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 30 mph. The dealer stated that the catalytic converter needs to be replaced, however, the parts are on back order. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage is 21,000 and failure mileage was 20,000.

- Homer City , PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?