Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 1
Average Mileage:
22,676 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Contour seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Contour:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Contour Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Dec 012005

Contour 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 99V243000 concerning the air bags sensor control module. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. The contact repaired the vehicle at his own expense.

- Plainview , NY, USA

problem #23

Feb 252005

Contour 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 89,714 miles
Regarding NHTSA campaign id # 99V243000, concerning Ford Motor Company recall 99S23 on 1998 Ford Contour. The NHTSA web page lists the remedy as: Dealer will install air bag sensors with revised wiring insulation. In addition, vehicles which have the air bag warning light lit, will have a new air bag diagnostic monitor installed. My 1998 Ford Contour has had the wiring replaced when I brought the car in for it's annual inspection, and the air bag warning light was flashing code 51. Once the wiring was replaced, the air bag light remained lit, and the car failed the safety inspection. Ford customer service, and the Ford dealership (freedom Ford, 1020 w. Mercury blvd. Hampton va), refuse to replace the diagnostic monitor unless I pay for it. I would like the nhsta to remove the wording from their web page regarding this replacement, or inform me that Ford Motor Company is responsible for the remedy. Thank you.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #22

Apr 132004

Contour 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles
Recall no.#99S23, airbag sensor module: Recall no.#01F22, heater blower resister: When the vehicle is running the air bag light stays on at all times. Also intermittently the heater will not work properly when the system is engaged. The heater will also blow out a foul odor similar to sulfur. There is a recall for this make, model and year vehicle but, the consumer's is not a part of the recall.

- Center Barnstead, NH, USA

problem #21

Jun 012004

Contour 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light flashing 4-4, something to do with front air bag sensor, affected in damp conditions and occasionally for no reason. Dealer looked at them and greased them for better connection, but wouldn't do any further work because my car doesn't fall under existing recall of same symptoms and problem. 1998 Ford Contour SE sport, with 64,000 miles and excellent condition. Still an ongoing problem, no injuries or crashes yet, but my understanding is that my airbags will not function if flashing during accident, that could be nasty. Thanks again Ford for trying you best to fit me under that existing recall!!! ha!

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #20

Sep 172003

Contour 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,500 miles
Air bag light is on flashing 4-2. this indicates a failure in the front left crash sensor. Under recall 99V243000 (Ford # 99S23) this was supposed to be replaced. Ford indicated that the recall work was performed on Feb. 28th, 2000. I picked up the vehicle on Feb 29th, 2000. If the recall work was performed, it lasted less than 4 years. Ford stated to take it to local Ford dealer, but no further recall was planned. A recall fix should last more than 4 years, especially on a safety system.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #19

Sep 292000

Contour 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
On September 29, 2000 this vehicle was involved in three car crash. Upon impact the air bags deployed. The passenger side air bag deployed fully and remained inflated although the driver was the only occupant in the vehicle. The drivers side air inflated 50% the deflated. The driver sustained minor injuries to her chest/ribs. The dealer replaced the air bag sensor.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #18

Aug 042003

Contour 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to the Ford dealership here in Louisiana and showed them the papers that was sent to me concerning recalls for my year & make of car. I told them that some of the recalls on those papers was happening to my car and why haven't they been repaired when I brought my car in and they stated to me that if the VIN # for my car didn't come up as a recall and as long as the problem didn't exist then they could not repair it. And I stated that even though my VIN didn't come up and even though my car is having some these recalls problems yall are not going to repair them because my VIN # didn't come up and the problem is not existing right now all are not going to repair or fix these recalls, and I was told yes. Well, some of these recalls are existing on my car and I can't get the Ford place to repair or fix them why is that? I think that's very unfair to the customer.

- Fort Polk, LA, USA

problem #17

Oct 012003

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
There was consistent air bag module failure. Scc

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #16

Aug 052002

Contour

  • miles
Mfr# 99S23 & NHTSA# 99 V 243 000/air bag senor assembly:consumer states that the air bag senor light would flashes intermittently while driving. A recall has been issued on the the vehicle make & model, however this vehicle is not included due to the VIN#. feel free to provide any further information. Nlm

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #15

Jun 202001

Contour

  • miles
Took vehicleto dealer for recall 99V243000 repairs in March of 2000. Dealer replaced diagnostic monitor for airbag system. 15 months after original parts were replaced. Airbag warning light was flashing. Took back to dealer, and they stated that diagnostic monitor failed, which had been replaced prior.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #14

Oct 152000

Contour

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall 99V243000/air bag sensor assembly:dealer:M&M Ford, muscatine, ia; phone 563-263-5324 refused to honor recall because vehicle had too much mileage. Manufacturer was notified. The water pump failed and was replaced. The consumer states there was a recall on warning light but the dealer did not fix the recall due to high mileage on the vehicle.

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #13

Nov 011999

Contour

  • miles
Driver lost control of the vehicle while trying to avoid hitting an animal in the street, the vehicle overturned onto its roof and ran into a ditch and after impact the air bags deployed, as a result of the faulty air bag the driver was killed and the passenger sustained injuries to his head, prior to this accident the consumers received recall notice 000-000 for the air bag and went to the dealer for repair, the delaer was unable to perform repairs due to lack of parts and the consumer was advised to return in a few days, consumer returned to the dealer who still had no parts available and approximatley three days later the accident occured.

- Shubuta, MS, USA

problem #12

Mar 112000

Contour

  • miles
Recall 99V243000. Repairs were done. However, after repairs, air bag warning light on the instrument panel remained illuminated, and dealership could not diagnose problem by error or computer codes. *note: Air bag light was not on prior to recall service. In September 2001, dealership discovered an error code finding that the front air bag impact sensors were faulty. Dealership was charging consumer $70, for diagnostic S, $300 for repair work. Please provide any additional information / attachments.

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #11

Nov 061999

Contour

  • miles
Intermittent rattle in steering wheel near air bag, dealership investigated and found no case, however, the front crash sensor was replaced as per recall 99V-243, on 9/16/00 air bag light began to flash, no record of code found in system, on 11/11/00 air bag light began to flash intermittently again, apparently, rh crash sensor not mounted, bracket rusty and broken, bolt broken, repairs made. CJ airbag light continues to illuminate, dealer checked vehicle in March 2001 and still found no problems, consumer has another appointment with a dealer in June to see if they can determine problem.

- West Senec, NY, USA

problem #10

Jun 152000

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Consumer was not notified of the recalls on the vehicle by the manufacturer, web site alerted the consumer to obtain repairs.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #9

Jun 152000

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Consumer was not notified of the recalls on the vehicle by the manufacturer, web site alerted the consumer to obtain repairs.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #8

May 152000

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Consumer is very unhappy with the number of recalls (6) that have been issued on the vehicle and feels the vehicle is a lemon. Nlm

- Battle Gro, WA, USA

problem #7

Aug 121999

Contour

  • miles
Posible air bag sensor failed causing the air bag light to blink intermittently.

- Feasterville Trevose, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 012000

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Air bag sensor is on back order since October 1999. As of yet dealer has no part. Please provide further informaton.

- St Helena Island, SC, USA

problem #5

Nov 081999

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Consumer contacted dealer in reference to recalls 99V149000, 99V243000 and manufacturer's 9S23. Dealer stated parts ere not available.

- Oak Hill, WV, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?