Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Mar 022015

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Ford escape. Consumer writes in regards to brake failure. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer stated the service brake system was a sporadic issue for a very long time. When the error message displayed, there was no pressure on the brake pedal, the power brakes failed, and in order to get the brakes to work at all, he had to press the pedal to the floor. The consumer expererienced a loss of power, the inside lights dimmed and the radio cut out. It was determined the battery needed to be replaced. Four months later, the sporadic brake system message illuminated. The dealer was unable to find a problem. Updated 08/24/15

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 172013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brake warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times. The technician informed the contact that the electronic hydraulic brake system would need to be replaced. The vehicle was scheduled for repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000. Updated 11/19/13

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #25

Apr 092012

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
ABS light and brake light came on when I got into the car to go to work after driving it the previous day with no problems. Brake pedal became soft and braking was not smooth and when brake pedal was pressed it made a squealing noise. Dealer diagnosed it as a faulty ABS module replacement cost of $3000.

- Cedar Grove, NC, USA

problem #24

Apr 042011

Escape Hybrid

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes fail on a regular basis while slowing down from speeds between 10 and 35 mph. It occurs as a sudden release of braking pressure while stepping on the brake pedal to slow down. At that time a momentary warning light comes on for several seconds and the system appears to go into a fail-safe mode that allows manual operation of the brakes. This causes a large increase in braking distance and I consider it very dangerous. This failure seems to be related to the hybrid braking system and may be common to other hybrid vehicles. After stopping the warning light goes away and the brakes will again function normally. The failure does not occur continuously but it does occur almost every day that it is driven. The car has been in a repair shop numerous times with many part replaced but the problem continues to evade our fleet mechanics. This is an inherent problem with this vehicle and commonly known where there are large fleets of hybrid vehicles. My co-worker drives the same type of Escape hybrid and he has the same failure. Please investigate with Ford and/or Toyota. A similar problem has been seen with Toyota prius in out fleet.

- Corona, NY, USA

problem #23

Aug 072011

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 72,102 miles
Brake light comes on, service brake system message on dash displays, and ABS light displays. Vehicles brakes fail and even when applying brake pedal completely vehicle does not stop completely without pumping brakes several times or using emergency brake. This happened a couple times last week (without warning lights) and took it to a local mechanic who inspected brakes and advised everything looks fine. Occurred again this evening with warning lights. Turned off vehicle & restarted and no lights and no problem braking. Researched online and there are numerous complaints of this in blogs, comments, etc.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #22

Jun 282011

Escape Hybrid

  • 99,000 miles
While traveling home on an interstate at 70 mph the red brake light came on after a light breaking situation. I did the system check available on the vehicle and the brake fluid was shown as ok. The brake pads were replaced not long ago so I was confused. A short time later the yellow ABS light came on. When I went to brake my foot went to the floorboard and the vehicle was not stopping. I swerved onto the shoulder of the interstate to avoid an accident. It took a great distance ( I would say more than 100 yards ) for the vehicle to stop. I was never so scared in my life. I drove home on side streets at 25 mph with my warning lights flashing and virtually no brakes. After taking the vehicle to a Ford dealership I researched the break failure issue and to my amazement found numerous other such incidents. After five days in the repair shop and three failed attempts by the technician to bleed the break lines I was told that I needed a $4200 computer control unit. I believe this is a serious design flaw in the electrically controlled break system of the hybrid vehicle and no person should have to go through the terror of attempting to stop from 70 mph with the breaking system shut down. This is a timebomb waiting to go off in the form of a fatal accident.

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #21

Jul 092011

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 72,075 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

*this is the second time that I have had a complete "brake failure" while driving my 2006 Ford Escape hybrid in traffic. This last time, I was driving on a freeway in bedford, Texas and observed that traffic in the distance was stopping for construction. I applied my brakes but the peddle went to the floor. I had to exit the roadway onto the shoulder to avoid other vehicles. I put my vehicle in low gear from drive and applied my emerengy brake to stop my car. This is the "second" time I have had to take evasive action to avoid a collision with this bake problem. The "ABS" light came on, the red brake light came on, and there was a computer message on the dash that read "service brake system". the first time that I experienced this same problem, I took my car into the dealership in for warranty repair. They advised that since the "code lights" were not on at this very moment, they were not able to diagnosis the problem. I was instructed to drive the escape until the "code lights" came back on and then bring it back for service!!! I complied to this request and bought the truck back in with the "code lights" on and the message reading. Dealership worked on the vehicle for several days and the assist service manager drove it for a couple of days to check it out. The truck was returned to me with assurance that the "brake problem" was fixed. On July 9, 2011, I again had a "complete brake failure" with my truck(see above) on July 11, 2011, I took my Escape hybrid back to the dealership and advised the assistant service manager, about the problem and what almost happened to me in traffic. I also showed him some of the other complaints about this same type of "brake failure" that has occurred on other Ford Escape hybrids. I have also called Ford corporate to start a complaint! "does it take someone getting killed or injuried before something is done?" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 052011

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 52,012 miles
Brake failure resulting in the brake pedal going to the floor and a loss of hydraulic or power braking. Vehicle does stop after a hard pressing of brake pedal. This is sometimes followed by a yellow ABS light and red brake light warning. The problem is fixed by turning the car off and back on. I am not kidding. Its like rebooting the computer. This started about 2 years ago. I reported it to Ford who said they do not know anything about it at the dealer and national level. I took the car in for an oil change at the dealership and mentioned the intermittent brake failure. After the oil service, the problem went away for a year. I thought Ford had secretly fixed it while they were changing the oil. Then about a week ago the problem has returned and has happened 10 times. I think it is related to the car not having enough power because this happens while the ice (internal combustion engine) is off. Perhaps it is related to running the air conditioning since it stopped after the summer and returned again. The ice turns off while braking at speeds below 40mph so that is probably related.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #19

Jun 012011

Escape Hybrid

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that the brake system failed with the illumination of the ABS warning lamp. The contact also mentioned that he was able to stop the vehicle by using the emergency brake. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 64,000.

- New York , NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 242011

Escape Hybrid

  • 152,200 miles
I just bought a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid. The service break system light and message came on Monday, the 2nd time I drove it, on the way to work. I stopped at a gas station but it turned off. Next morning, same thing so I checked fluids. It was off again the rest of that day. Lit up again Wednesday. I made it that evening to a service station before they closed (very rural area). The warnings were not on and he could not see anything obvious on preliminary inspection but said to bring in in the morning if the warning was back. Thursday it acted funny on my driveway. The next curve I found out why, no breaking power even with the extremely stiff and difficult pedal to the floor. I finally got it to a stop way past the crazy ride around the curve. I stopped to calm myself and decide if it was possible to get to town. I decided the E-brake seemed to stop it if I kept it very slow. So I proceeded to town-not to a Ford dealer because of some very scary big hills, but instead to the service station who I trust. He was booked a week and a half and he didn't know if his computer had the hybrid programming to check it. So I had to tow it 63M to the dealer I got it from, thinking they would stand by it or it would be covered by the "drivetrain plus" service agreement I purchased to cover any scary priced repairs that crop up on older cars. It was sold as-is, and Iowa has no lemon law apparently, the plan I purchased sounds like it won't cover it, and they offered me a measly 10% off the bill that is about half again what I paid for the car. I got to drive my new used car 4 1/2 times. All I can do is thank my lucky stars my kids weren't in the car, there wasn't a car near me, I wasn't coming down one of the steep and curvy river bluffs on my way to or from work, or any number of other scary scenarios that could have been. Faliure of the brake system's hydraulic control unit hcu and master cylinder is extremely dangerous and a design flaw many have experienced.

- Elkader, IA, USA

problem #17

Mar 062011

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact was traveling 50 mph when the ABS warning light illuminated. The contact applied the brakes and there was a reduction of 80% braking power. The contact referenced technical service bulletin 10024326 (service brake: Control unit module) and believed the failure to be the same. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 81,000. Updated 4/4/11 the repair shop installed a master cylinder. Updated 05/23/11

- Shermon Oaks, CA, USA

problem #16

Jan 122011

Escape Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Ford Escape hybrid 2006 ABS and brake failure light come on, lose power braking. Must push very hard on brake petal to stop car, has happened approx. 8 times. After stopping car, I can usually turn key off and then restart car and problem is gone.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #15

Sep 192010

Escape Hybrid

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the ABS warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who informed the contact that they were unable to perform a full diagnosis and was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 54,000 and the current mileage was approximately 59,000.

- Newport, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 012010

Escape Hybrid

  • miles
Letter from senator dent on behalf of constituent regarding a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid (dot/I # 2010-2203) the consumer stated a warning light illuminated to service the brake system. The consumer stated it cost $120 to diagnose the problem as a faulty hydraulic computer module and the cost to replace it would be $ 5,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #13

Oct 182010

Escape Hybrid

  • 58,300 miles
Brakes on my 2006 Ford Escape hybrid failed at highway speed and the ABS and brake light came simultaneously. By pinning the brake to the floor I was able to slow the vehicle in the shoulder. Turning the car off and back on "resolved" the issue and I was able to drive home. The problem happens randomly and without warning. I have placed a call to the dealer but have not heard back yet. Looking on line it seems to be a common problem, yet no recall has been issued for this very dangerous situation.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #12

Sep 242010

Escape Hybrid

  • 150,000 miles
2006 Ford Escape hybrid - intermittent power brake boost failure. When beginning to press on brakes for an instant they feel normal and power assisted, then the pedal falls and all power assist is gone. The vehicle stops with great pressure in the last few inches of pedal travel. 3 occurrences: As of October 4, 2010 1. May 2010 at the end of a freeway off ramp at approximately 160,000 miles on the vehicle 2. 24 September, 2010 ( approximately 180,000 miles on the vehicle) same brake problem occurred after a stop of over 30 minutes, and when the vehicle was backed up, first brake pressing resulted in an instant of pedal, then pedal snapping to the floor and car stopping after application of manual pressure. Dash indicator lights came on a few seconds later. 3. one week to the day later, 1 October, 2010 at approximately 188,500 miles. First brake application after a start of the vehicle and backing up. Pressing brakes resulted in the failure described. Approximately 30 or 40 seconds after the loss of brake boost the dashboard lit up with "brakes" red light and otherslike the 'service soon' wrench. I am the purchaser of the car new in the los angeles, California area, and the primary ( over 90% of the time) driver, covering over 110 miles 4 days a week.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 152010

Escape Hybrid

  • 58,000 miles
A couple months ago, I took my Escape hybrid to have the brakes checked out. Needless to say, they checked it out and said everything was fine and I was on my way a couple of hours later. Then yesterday, my ABS and brake lights illuminated and then check brake system came on. After this occurred, my brakes go out and then I must come to a rolling stop on the side of the road while trying to avoid hitting anyone. It occurred 6 times at different speeds (20mph & 70mph) I then returned it to the dealership yesterday and asked them to look over it. Today, I am told that I need a new ABS system installed with the hydraulic/electric control units totally $7,400. Of course, there is no warranty for this. I have been researching this issue online and have noticed several posting regarding a similar issue however still no recall. I would assume a factory defect regarding the brakes would be significant enough for a recall before someone gets killed.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #10

Aug 152010

Escape Hybrid

  • 37,100 miles
I was driving approximately 40 miles per hour, approaching a red light and busy intersection. I applied brakes (via pedal) as usual, but had no braking power / corresponding slowdown. I had to jam my foot to the floor and cover the emergency brake in case I needed it, and thankfully I was the first car at the light so there was no accident. The rest of the drive, it took at least 5 times longer/more distance to slow the vehicle to a stop than normal and at the same moment I lost braking power, a chime sounded & both the ABS and brake(s) light on the dash lit up; message center read "service brakes soon". I just had the veh in for its 40K mile service 2 days ago & it had nothing wrong with it--brakes were all listed as top condition. Now I'm absolutely terrified to drive the vehicle, unsure when this condition will recur (the lights reset & and I checked today--the brakes are working again, for now.) when the condition occurs, braking is an odd slow pulsing, like a slowed down version of an emergency ABS stop ("pumping the brakes" feeling.) I've never had brake problems until this incident. When I turned the car off and restarted it, the ABS & brake lights cleared and, for now at least, the brakes *seem* to be working but I can't chance it. Getting it towed for service.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

May 122010

Escape Hybrid

  • 57,800 miles
Red brake light and service brake system light a constant problem that has not been fixed. I have had this problem since May 2010 and it is now August 2010 and it is still not fixed. We own a 2006 Ford Escape hybrid. We have had new brakes, a new wire harness, some other tip replaced, and a sensor replaced. We have even had a Ford engineer look at it. I have been concerned about having an accident because I have two small children. The vehiclenly has 58,000 miles and I believe that the problem is the ABS module. But the ABS module should not be going out at 58,000 miles. This problem has been very frustrating.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #8

Jul 102010

Escape Hybrid

  • 56,000 miles
I was driving in town, doing nothing out of the ordinary when the vehicle suffered complete ABS brake system failure. I am now afraid to drive it.

- Kneeland, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?