Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,958 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape Hybrid drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 252016

Escape Hybrid

  • 133,000 miles


I was driving my 2009 Ford Escape hybrid home from work, on the highway during rush hour, when the car went into "limp mode" nearly causing an accident. I could not accelerate at all. I barely avoided a 16 wheeler and made it to the freeway shoulder while hitting a concrete curb nearly causing me to lose control and damaging my right front tire. It was terrifying, and this happened less than one year after the steering went out, nearly causing an accident also. The wrench sign was light up and a message to pull over was on. I was able to turn the car off and restart it and was able to drive home. It has happened 3 more times, driving at various speeds, in the last 2 days making the car basically undriveable. A code 2112 was pulled from the car and I was told that the electronic throttle body was bad and that there was a customer satisfaction program that should replace this. When I called Ford with my VIN number, I was told that my 2009 hybrid was not included in the customer satisfaction program 13N03. I went online and found numerous other 2009 Escape hybrids with this exact same problem that were not covered. These vehicles need to be included in this customer satisfaction program before someone gets killed!!!

- Spring Lake Park, MN, USA

problem #14

Feb 202016

Escape Hybrid

  • 58,000 miles
In 2013, on several occasions, while driving, the car lost power completely under acceleration, while going uphill on city streets. I had to pull over to the side, turn the car off, wait and try to start the car again. After several attempts the car turned on and was able to drive normally. After the first incident, the engine indicator light came on. At the dealership, they informed me the throttle body accentuator was faulty, not under warranty ( car 3 years old at time) because it was really an electrical malfunction. The was replaced in 2013. Now again in 2016, engine light on again...same diagnosis. Part replaced again, not under warranty. Dealership says it has no indications that this is a common problem in the Ford Escape hybrids. Engine light still on...yet to be resolved.

- Pearl City, HI, USA

problem #13

Apr 152015

Escape Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Vehicle power steering failed while turning left. In 2014 my vehicle was serviced for a power steering recall. I did not have a power steering failure until after the software update.

- Ellettsville, IN, USA

problem #12

Aug 202014

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 125,600 miles


Twice in the last 3 months the Ford lost acceleration. From 65mph to 40mph..even though I pushed the gas pedal all the way in. And the pedal and acceleration locked in! until I hit the brake the car locked in on the freeway. The situation is getting terrible!! afraid major accident will happen. Please fix this problem Ford!!!!

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 072014

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
I was driving at a speed of approximately 45 mph and the throttle went out. I could not accelerate above 40 and was very slow to get to that speed. The engine was idling at a higher RPM than normal at stop lights. When driving up hill the speed was about 20 mph and there was no throttle to increase the speed at all. The yellow wrench light came on. Once I made it home and turned off the vehicle, my husband took it to get the codes pulled and the wrench light had gone off and it ran like normal. We could not get the codes pulled.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 132014

Escape Hybrid

  • 88,297 miles
Stopped at red light when car begin to run extremely rough, service engine light came on and when light turned green it would only accelerate up to 20 miles per hour. Vehicle was towed to the dealership this morning (08/14/2014) and it is the throttle body issue listed in DP12006 for Ford escape vehicles. The reason for this case is Ford Motor Company / randall reed Ford wants to exclude a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid from the customer satisfaction program 13N03 and have me pay for the repair. Your help in getting this resolved is greatly appreciated.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #9

Jan 022014

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 40 miles


The service wrench would go on and hold and but always seem to go off when I arrived at the dealership so they could never check the problem. This went on for a month until in addition to the light the vehicle would not accelerate above 40 mph. I took the vehicle in and the throttle body was replaced at a charge of $476.99 since my vehicle was no longer under warranty. This upsets me because I find out tonight that this was a known issue and because no official recall was issue, I was forced to pay for the repair. my vehicle was purchased new and delivered in November 008 - vehicles produced after Oct. 15, 2009 have electronic throttle bodies manufactured with a new process that resolved this condition, the government said. The bulletin instructed dealers to replace the throttle body on a number of Ford and Lincoln vehicles. Depending on the condition of throttle control system malfunction, a driver may experience varying levels of reduced engine performance. In addition, I would have never known about this had it not been for the fact that I received an official recall notice today for something else.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #8

Nov 192013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 112,112 miles
Driving down a major blvd. 4 lights turned on simultaneously, brake, ABS, traction control and the "wrench" icon indicating a major failure. Brake pedal went to the floor and I experienced an 80% loss of braking power narrowly avoiding a collision with cars stopped in front of me. Lights remained on and brakes were severely compromised as I limped to the nearest repair shop with very little braking ability. Turned the car off. When I restarted the car all systems were operational and all lights were off. Drove the car to a Ford dealer the following day for evaluation. Dealer diagnosed a compromised battery as the source of failure and replaced the battery. Dealer service rep denied this problem had anything to do with hydraulic control unit as other reports mention with the exact same symptoms on your site, as well denied problems with the master cylinder or regenerative braking system. The battery didn't explain the problem to me, why then did the car continue to drive normally for a while following the failure before the battery was replaced" even if this is the problem, no battery light indicated a problem prior to failure. Am I to expect brake failure to be what announces my battery might be in need of replacement" no fail safe mechanism appears to be in place on this vehicle. Treacherous. I'll likely sell the car as I don't want my less experienced 16 yr old to be confronted with this issue. I was lucky to have left plenty of following distance, without which I most certainly would have become the victim of an accident.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 012013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 78,100 miles
Car loses power while driving, does not completely stall out, but loses power steering and acceleration. Wrench light sometimes turns on. Once I pull over, stop and restart car, it seems to return to normal functioning. This has happened four times over a period of six months. Dealer diagnosed throttle body failure and replaced throttle body.

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #6

Sep 052013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 72,715 miles
I was driving to work. The powertrain light came on, my car started jerking. It wouldn't accelerate and the steering wheel became difficult to control. I had to pull to the side of the road. I turned off the ignition and restarted it. It was ok. That has happened twice since that first incident.

- Clifton , VA, USA

problem #5

Sep 272013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


9-27-2013, my car was idling weird at a red light. I looked at the RPM gauge and it was bouncing erratically. At some point my wrench dash light came on. I was driving thru a neighborhood at the time so my car seemed to be ok going between 30-40 mph, but at every red light my car seemed like something was wrong. It wasn't going into electric mode like it normally would. I drove on the interstate for a mile and my car would not accelerate over 40-45 mph so I put on my hazards and did my best driving in traffic. The escape was acting like it was dying at one point and started decelerating so then I kept pressing the gas pedal to the floor and it still wouldn't go over 45 mph. I stopped at a red light about a mile from my house and turned the entire car off and sat for a minute or so. When I started it back up the wrench light was off. I took the car to my nearest Ford dealership the next morning and was told that no diagnostic codes were coming up but the tech did some special tests and determined that my mass air flow sensor needs to be replaced. So that's what they did. I asked if they could also replace the throttle body and he told me that they would have to send the part to Ford and if there wasn't anything wrong with it they would be out that money so they could not replace the throttle body. My car is at ~78,000 miles so this seems like a problem I should not be having. My wrench light came on once back on 7-22-13, on a road trip but we pulled over on the side of the road, turned the car off and back on and it never came on again until 9-27-13. My car had been idling weird right before my last oil change on Aug 30, 2013. I mentioned it to my Ford tech then and no diagnostic codes came up so they did a fuel induction cleaning service costing me $145.95. I'm not sure that this even necessary.

- Millington, TN, USA

problem #4

Jun 012012

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
In 2012 a clunking noise and slight lurch began to be felt occasionally when breaking my 2009 Escape hybrid. Over time the clunk and surge increased in intensity but remained intermittent. When I took my vehicle in for its 40,000 mile maintenance, I requested that the dealership check my breaks. They reported the breaks looked in excellent condition. Over the next year the clunk and surge got worse. Suspecting perhaps my transmission or U-joint was the problem, I took the vehicle in to the dealership to diagnose and fix the problem. I was able to leave the car at the dealership for about 1 month. I told them I was not in a hurry, I just wanted it to be fixed properly. Several mechanics drove the car and explored possibilities but reported back to me that it was a normal aspect of the hybrid breaking system although somewhat extreme (more severe than most hybrids). One mechanic explained it to me in this way. There are two types of breaking in the hybrid. In electric mode the car uses "simulated breaking." In normal engine drive mode, the car uses "normal" breaking. When I use the break, the computer decides which type of breaking is required and when to switch between the systems. Under certain circumstances, when in between modes, the clunk and surge occurs. The ABS breaking system complicates the problem. The mechanic suggested I try to drive so that I can break the car more slowly and gently. I believe the degree of clunk and surge is dangerous and may contribute to the hastened deterioration of my car. I am also worried about the breaks actually failing. I am worried that my 2009 Escape hybrid is unsafe. The mechanics at the dealership insisted there was nothing they could do to fix the problem.

- New Meadows, ID, USA

problem #3

Dec 152011

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- La Jolla, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 122012

Escape Hybrid

  • 50,000 miles
2009 Ford Escape hybrid, 50,000 miles. My throttle body is defective and causes the car to have seriously reduced low speed acceleration. I have been advised by Ford service, wayne Ford, wayne, NJ, that I need I need a new throttle body. Unfortunately, the throttle body is on backorder. That in and of itself should indicate that the problem is widespread. My car is dangerous to drive, and the part that is defective should last more than 50,000 miles. Ford should issue a recall for this dangerous condition and also refund customers for any repairs done to this defective part. I am also experiencing a problem where the hybrid battery will no longer engage. When the engine is fully warm with ac and or defroster off, the engines idles continuously. It is suppose to shut off, and engage the battery. It does not. The car is now no longer "a hybrid" since the battery is never engaged, and it runs poorly due to the throttle body defect. At 50,000 miles, this is unacceptable for a vehicle purchased new.

- Glen Rock, NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 262012

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 28,005 miles
The wrench light illuminated indicating a power train failure. We immediately took the vehicle to our Ford dealership the next morning. Diagnosis revealed a faulty blend door actuator motor in the rear which controls air flow to the hv battery. The dealer said it would not be covered by warranty. The vehicle is only 2 months out of the 3 year warranty period and has only 28,000 miles on it. The power train warranty is 5 years/60,000 and the vehicle is still within that warranty period. The dealer says that component is not covered by the power train warranty even though the vehicle itself and all documentation says it is part of the power train system. This is a highly dangerous problem and if not fixed, could result in the hv battery overheating and causing a fire or serious damage to other components. This is a known problem on 2006-2008 models, including the mariner hybrid, and a tsb was issued for those vehicles. This vehicle was one of the first produced for 2009, so the problem was apparently not fixed and is carried over from the previous model year.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?