Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,532 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fiesta body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Oct 212016

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2012 Ford Fiesta in 9/2015 with approx.16,000 miles on it. Since I purchased the car, it has been in the shop 5 times (one of which for 26 days). #1 was due to the door latch. My 10yr old was sitting in the backseat when the right side door swung open while I was making a turn. #2 was due to the transmission. The car was having trouble shifting gears & began shaking, then the lights inside & out started blinking and the car completely shut off while I was driving down the highway. #3 was for the transmission again, which locked up while I was driving down I75 in naples the evening of 12/28/2015. The car completely locked up and had to be towed in the middle of the night. #4 the transmission again. While driving North on I75 the car started making a strange whinny noise then shortly after locked up while I was still driving. That time I barely made it off to the side of the highway. Car was towed again to dealership. #5 transmission...again. While driving at 11:30pm at night 8/2016 car lights started blinking on & off and then the car completely shut off while I was driving. Managed to be able to turn it on again and drive it to the dealership...where it stayed for 26 straight days. Tomorrow will be #6...due to transmission problems...again. Car is making whinny noises again, shaking and having trouble shifting gears, temperature light is coming on and A/C is not cooling anymore. Tomorrow I'll be getting an attorney as well.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #41

Sep 152014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I opened my passenger side rear door and when I closed it the door would not latch. I got this fixed at the Ford dealership and several months later (April 2015) the same thing happened to the driver's side rear door. I now have a bungee holding my door closed because no matter if it is locked or unlocked the door will not latch. I had no previous incidents with either door.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #40

Apr 062015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
On April 6, 2015 my rear passenger suddenly stopped working. I had just arrived at my destination, was there for a few minutes, and then started my car up. The light alerting me that I had a door ajar came on. I figured it was my drivers side front door and reopened and closed it again. I noticed that my display said that the rear passenger doors side was ajar. I thought odd because nobody uses my doors. I got out, and tried to close the door only to have to bounce back at me. The door would not latch closed. Fortunately, a friend was able to loan me a bungee cable to hold my door closed. It is currently secured with rope and the bungee cable. On the 21st, as I was making a U-turn in a residential area, my driver's side passenger flew open. At the same time my drivers side door started to unlatch as well, terrifying me and resulting in a minor collision. I managed to get my drivers side latched again, but now I have to have all of my door secured, I bought this car brand new from the dealership. A brand new 2012 Ford Fiesta failing in early 2015. In addition to my door problems, my model had a recall notice for I believe some transmission problems. My car was violently shuddering, cutting out/turning itself off, etc. This occurred when I was at a red light, while driving, reversing, etc. I took it in to have the problem fixed and it is still occurring. I'll try to give the car some gas and it'll shudder and die, I had to replace my car battery because it kept getting drained which did not help the problem, trying to reverse while always result in my car cutting off unless I hit the gas, and it seems it doesn't shift gears correctly. As I said before, I bought this car brand new. I am honestly scared for my safety. I can no longer driver my cat which is utterly unacceptable. I refuse to risk my life.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #39

Apr 172015

Fiesta

  • 34,812 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was parked at a store when my friend got into the backseat she didn't realize the back passenger door wasn't latched. I pulled out of the space as my friend was latching her seat belt and fell out of the car. She ended up with an abrasion on her right arm.

- Canyon Country , CA, USA

problem #38

Apr 212015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
This morning when I was going to drive to work, I found the front right door does not close. I tried to close it several times but failed. The door just didn't stay shut. This is not the first time this happened to me. About 8 months ago, the door at back right side had the same issue. It caused me $400 to fix that. Now another probably another $400....

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #37

Apr 072015

Fiesta

  • 23,500 miles
As I was backing out of my driveway my alert light pinged on letting me know my passenger door was open. I leaned over to shut it and the latch of the door wouldn't catch and actually close. I got out of the car and walked around my vehicle thinking I had something in the way and I couldn't find anything. I kept attempting to close it and check the latch but I couldn't find a reason as to why my door wouldn't shut. I attempted to tape it shut to drive it to the dealership but it didn't hold, and neither did rope. I had to call roadside assistance and have my vehicle towed to a Ford dealership for this safety concern. Very upset that I'm not even out of my 3 year warranty yet, and come to read more this is a huge issue that is being investigated right now and no actual recall for the problems.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #36

Mar 202015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car has had 2 door latches fail and need replacement after only 50,000 miles and no collisions. In October of 2014, the rear passenger side door latch failed and required replacement as per the dealership. The car was outside the bumper-to-bumper warranty at this time. However, I believed this was a major safety concern as the door would not close, requiring me to tie it down with a bungee cord. I contact Ford Motor Company multiple times and they would not offer any sort of assistance with the repair. After paying for the repairs out of pocket, the front passenger side door latch failed in March of 2015. Once again, I contact Ford. This time my case was escalated to a regional customer service manager but the end result was the same. This car is only 3 years old with 50,000 miles on it and two door latches have failed. This is a major safety issue. Two defective door latches have left me with two doors which would not close and required tying ropes and bungee cords to seats to secure them. Even with these measures, the doors were still prone to swinging open while driving. Without the doors being able to fully close, I also could not lock my car. As of March 24th 2015, no recall on these door latches has been issued despite this being a known issue with the service manager at my Ford dealership and the Ford customer service. This is unacceptable and I believe Ford should be required to fix these defective door latches. Once again, these are major safety issues and substantial expenses costing me $400+ per each door latch replacement.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #35

Apr 042014

Fiesta

  • miles
I had bought the car on March 10 2014, since then 2 different doors had opened up while driving on the highway with my family in the car one opening on my wife (front seat) and the other my 9 year old daughter(back seat). The third incident happened as my same 9 year old shut the door it swung back hitting her in the face bringing the total to 3 separate incidents. These doors shouldn't have a problem as this car is rarely used for family outing but only for my wife to go to and from work.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #34

Oct 152014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The right rear-door on my 2012 Ford Fiesta one day failed to latch, and it hasn't latched since. The door is now sitting ajar at all times and I have to tie it closed. The "door ajar" warning light on the dash comes on randomly as I drive down the road or turn corners, and the "door ajar dinging sound" plays randomly. I took it in to a Ford dealership to have it looked at, as well as see if anyone else has had this issue. The gentleman said no one has had any door latch issues on the 2012 Ford Fiesta. He gave me an estimate of $418 to have it replaced -- but I found this article that says different. www.autoblog.com/2014/09/15/NHTSA-Ford-Fiesta-door-latch-investigation/

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #33

Mar 152015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The rear passenger side door just came open on its own and would not close. My 6 year old daughter was riding in her booster seat in the rear driver's side seat when it came open. Had she been in the other seat, she could have fallen out! the door will not close at all and in fact, bounced back and hit me when I tried to close it. I now have to tie the door shut with a rope connected to the other door to keep it in place. The dealership wants $600 to fix it!

- Key Largo, FL, USA

problem #32

Mar 022015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I put something in the passenger side back seat, as I closed the door, it bounced back open. I thought something was in the way of making the door close, I checked, nothing was there. I thought the latch was stuck, it wasn't. I had to find some bungee cords to keep the door closed on my 42 mile drive home. I could only imagine if my kids were in the car when something like this was to happen.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #31

Sep 272014

Fiesta

  • 57,000 miles
As I was pulling out of the driveway and started driving down the street my front passenger door flew open only to find the door latch to be broken. When the door wont close the lights stay on resulting in a dying battery. Extremely inconvenient and unsafe. This happened again one month later and each time the part was on a national backorder.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #30

Oct 312014

Fiesta

  • 59,000 miles
While driving out of my neighborhood my rear passenger door latch stopped working. The door swung open as I turned the corner. One could only imagine how terrifying this was for my 7 year old who was sitting right next to that door as it flew open.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #29

Jan 012015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
I have a 2012 Ford Fiesta SE we were driving and turned a corner and the rear door flew open we pulled over and the door would not stay latched. Bought a bungy cord and tied the two doors together, went to Ford the next day and they stated that there was a known problem with the door latches I called customer service brought the car in, contacted by the service adviser stating it would not be covered since my car is out of warranty they want $175 to analysis the problem and + parts and time to fix. I refuse to pay it since the latch should of been recalled. Its a known problem but they will not take action or accept responsibility. I am appalled. What poor customer service they have at Fiesta Lincoln and berge Ford in mesa, AZ. They do not listen or respond with a solution, call Ford if you want too, was their suggestion.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #28

Aug 142014

Fiesta

  • 29,801 miles
I have a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The back right door lock has failed and now the rear back door won't remain closed. Luckily this happened while the car wasn't moving. Could have been a huge issue had I actually been in motion.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 092015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
After dropping off my kids I drive 4 miles and make a left turn my back passenger side door opens up and the message on my dash lights up saying the door is open. I stop on the side of the road and try and close the door but, the door will not latch. Lucky I had bungee cables in my car to close the door to get home. This is a big safety issue that a door can open at any time. This needs to be recalled and fixed before someone gets hurt.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #26

Jan 052015

Fiesta

  • miles
I was riding with my friend today going to lunch in his 2012 Ford Fiesta when the door slung open as he took a corner causing me to almost fall out! when we reached a stop we tried to close the door and it would not shut! I read online this is a frequent problem! it should be recalled!

- Cleveland , TX, USA

problem #25

Dec 042014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 53,400 miles
The door latch for the rear passenger door stopped working. The door will not close anymore. There was no damage to the door.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #24

Nov 132014

Fiesta

  • 48,000 miles
I was driving along and turned the corner and the back door swung open. I pulled over and tried to shut the door and it would not shut. I tried to see what was wrong and the latch seemed to be in an open position but would not engage, . I did not know what to do I went to walmart and purchased some cord so I could tie the doors together. I searched the internet about the problem and there seem to be a problem with the Fiesta door latches. I took the car in to palm springs Ford on Friday, November 14 2014 and after 2 hours was advised it was not covered under the warranty since my warranty was expired after 36,000 miles and they want over 300 dollars with parts and labor to fix the door latch that is obviously should of been a recall from Ford since so many people have had that problem with the latches. The service advisor stated that I should call the customer service line which I did and they opened up a case which I handed back to the service advisor, and got a call several days later to advise me that my warranty is out and I would have to pay. I asked the service advisor to have his manager call me. A few hours later the service advisor called back and stated that his manager said he would give me the part at 1/2 price. I asked him to have his manager call me and to this date have not heard from him. I called twice today and asked the service advisor to cal me and still have not heard from him.. I don't' feel like I should have to put out that kind of money on a defective part when Ford knows that this part is defective.

- Desert Hot Springs, CA, USA

problem #23

Sep 232014

Fiesta

  • 49,500 miles
The car was park on the street. I was inside waiting for my mother to return with my sister. My mom open the rear passanger door, got my sister buckled in then try to close the door. The latch was ineffective it would not latch on so it remains open.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?