Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,323 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments

problem #18

Dec 272015

Fiesta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V246000 (latches/locks/linkages); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 202015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Buzzing, thumping, fluttering through speakers - even with engine off. Noise can be extremely loud and occurs unexpectedly while driving. The vehicle was diagnosed as having a short circuit. The dealer stated the radio tested bad and the radio was replaced. Also, a recall was issued for the door latch. However, the parts were not available.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #16

Jun 052015

Fiesta

  • miles
2013 Ford Fiesta. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle front passenger door latch failure. The consumer stated a recall was issued. However, the parts were not available. Recall # 15V246000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #15

Aug 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 46,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving 5 mph, the rear driver side door opened independently without warning and emitted a loud noise. The door failed to close. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road, where the door was eventually closed with the help of a stranger. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V246000 (latches/locks/linkages) prior to the failure. The dealer stated that a special recall line needed to be reached for the recall repair parts. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,400. MA 10/8 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 10/15/15

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 162015

Fiesta

  • 35,214 miles
Door latch on rear passenger failed for no apparent reason.

- Cisco, TX, USA

problem #13

Apr 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
Rear driver side door latch will not close.

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 152015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 39,112 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I unlocked the doors with the auto lock on the key. Then, I put something in the back seat. When I closed the door, it bounced back open. I tried several things to get it to reset including everything mentioned in the owner's manual, but it would not latch. I looked at the latch on the driver's door to see how they were different and pushed the mechanism back. Then it stuck in the locked position and that door wouldn't shut. I again tried turning the car and the auto-lock system off and on, but nothing would affect those two doors. I finally had to have my car towed because I couldn't drive it home with two doors that wouldn't latch.

- Morongo Valley, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 122014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 81,813 miles
On August 12, 2014 he right front door latch unit failed after attempting to close the door, it would not stay closed after this. Then 3 weeks later (September 4, 2014) the right back door latch failed and would not stay closed. Then on March 5, 2015 the left back door latch failed and would not stay closed. Also note in March 2014 this also happened to the trunk latch.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 132014

Fiesta

  • 55,000 miles
The latch for the rear door/hatchback has malfunctioned, which caused the rear door to fail to open. Upon bringing to the dealer for service, I was instructed that the technicians opened the door but that if I open it again, it will not shut. For two months, it has remained as such while the latch is on backorder with no date identified for part replacement or repair. I am concerned about the integrity of the door and whether it will remain shut while driving.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #9

Nov 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Front passenger door latch broke internally. The door will no longer latch. It was not abused just closed normally. This is the second time this has happened. The first was the passenger rear door about 2/3 months previous.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 302014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear passenger door latch assembly failed. The door will not close or lock.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Oct 102014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 47,800 miles
Rear passenger side door lock opened by itself after parking car and activating the lock button. I pushed door trying to close multiple times and did not close. I opened all doors, started the car and kept trying to close door, did not close back. I was driving with my kids in the rear seat, very unsafe and scary situation. I tied up the door to driver's seat to get home and search online for help. Since then the door does not close at all.

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 042014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The rear door suddenly would not latch. I tried everything and it won't stay shut. I talked to two dealers and they say that unfortunately they don't have the parts and my vehicle is out of warranty this month

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #5

Aug 082014

Fiesta

  • 52,261 miles
On August 8th, the driver's door would not latch. The latch was replaced at the dealer ($450). On September 5th, the front passenger side door stopped latching. We called 5 local dealers before we could find one that had the part as we were told it was on national backorder. When we were able to locate a dealer with the part, we were told that it was reserved for the service department only. If we wanted to be placed on the waiting list to purchase it to have installed elsewhere, we would be #7 on the waiting list. The problem appears identical to the issue that resulted in the escape recall in may: The second case covers about 692,700 escapes. Exterior door handles can bind and stop the door from latching properly. This could allow doors to open while the SUVS are in motion.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #4

Aug 192013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 2,439 miles
Door latches are failing. This is the third time in 1 year. Part# be8Z*5426412 lock asy purchase date: 11/10/12 right rear door latch fail: 8/19/13 @ dealer for 9 days (mileage 2439). Right front door latch fail: 6/30/14 @ dealer for 18 days (mileage 10843). Left rear door latch fail: 9/02/14 still at dealer (mileage 12460). Dealer says part on back order. Delivery of car unknown. Repairs have been limited to a replacement of the broken latch with the original part number that failed to begin with. Reported to Ford customer service (800) 392-3673 on 9/03/14 safety and security are my first concern as well as financial burden once out of warranty.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 222014

Fiesta

  • 9,281 miles
For the second time in three weeks two door latches have failed on my car. Both times it happened while driving down the road and when I made a turn one of the doors came flying open. First incident occured on June 22nd 2014 and the second incident on July 10th 2014. This caused a serious safety concern if someone was not buckled in and could fall out of the car. I had to use a cargo starp to keep the door shut both times while taking it to the dealership for repair. The door latch modules on these Ford are a cheap plastic and become broken very easily with normal use.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #2

Aug 302013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Closed door and door bounced back. Locking mechanism has broken twice on two different occasions.

- Twentynine Palms, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 042013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 2,998 miles
I have the S package, so the doors can only be locked by key or by the interior power door lock button. If the doors are locked by key (which is how I usually lock my car), and then the passenger door is unlocked first, the interior power door lock button does not operate. This is a safety problem in numerous ways: I discovered the problem when my teenage daughter wanted to sit in the car while I did grocery shopping and could not lock herself in the car (which is a safety rule I require). Another problem would be if I needed to get into the car quickly from the nearest side if I felt unsafe, and then lock myself in while calling 911--can't do it in this car. Aside from safety, this is a real inconvenience. When I reported the problem to the Ford dealership where I bought my car and asked them to fix it, they said they had never encountered this problem and called it into the Ford hotline. After consulting with the hotline they told me the car was designed this way, so there was nothing to fix. They even tried it on several cars in their lot and they all malfunctioned the same way. I was not told about this "design" feature before I purchased the car--and, believe me, it would have been a deal-breaker--but Ford will not admit that it is a design flaw.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?