Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,334 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments

problem #4

Mar 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the transmission failed intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the engine light would illuminate and then go out. Also, the vehicle accelerated on its own while the cruise control was activated. Updated 08/20/15

- Harrisburg , IL, USA

problem #3

Apr 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 23,408 miles
Engine revs but vehicle barely speeds up, transmission slipping. Took to Ford dealer on 4/11/14, diagnosed as oil leak from transmission, 612 RPM slip, oil on the clutch. Needs warranty transmission repair at 23,179 miles. Ford transmission tech was on vacation, schedule appointment for 4/21/14 to return to dealer for warranty repairs. Returned to Ford dealer on 11/03/14 at 34,540 miles for transmission problem again, low speed chattering during take off and shifts, gears not engaging, slipping on acceleration, unsmooth harsh shifting, loss of power, jerks and shutters, rolls backwards on inclines. Car is unpredictable and unsafe to drive. Car was diagnosed again as needing transmission warranty repairs. Clutch parts are on backorder possibly until 11/28/14. Was informed that Fiestas have had faulty transmissions since 2011. Ford replaces the clutch along with other related parts with the same "new" faulty clutch. Ford has not found a solution for this transmission problem, they are just replacing with same faulty parts that are expected to fail again in approximately 10,000 miles. Ford is bandage fixing my Fiesta transmission, leaving the car at high risk of unsafe transmission issues to continue to happen. The transmission problems with the Ford Fiesta is a well known and documented problem for Ford, I wish I knew this before I bought mine. Now I have to deal with an unsafe car when the transmission decides to fail again besides for dealing with the hassle of repairs every 10,000 or so miles and ending up owning a car that after 100,000 miles cannot have further warranty repairs on the transmission. The end result for me is owning a worthless and unsafe car.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 072013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 4,465 miles
Vehicle when starting from a stopped position will hesitate and shutter the front end and when U keep going past the third gear it will come out of the shuttering. Also wants to stutter when applying gas and acts like its going to stop. Have had the plastic clutch pack replaced in October 2013 but car is worse when accelerating from a stop or lower speed and wanting to accelerate or go faster. The car still shutters hard and acts like wants to die in traffic flow and now car is making grinding and rattle every time accelerating from a speed of 0-30 miles per hr. I want this fixed because this car will not last me until it gets paid off. Ford needs to take note that this 6 pack clutch system is not working for this type of vehicle. I will B getting an attorney if it gets to the point of this cost coming out of my pocket. Shuttering really bad, grinding noise, rattling noise, cutting out like it wants to die, I have seen the first burnt part they replaced in my car and wonder why Ford Motor Company would install a plastic piece inside a metal part. Also my headlights and windows are somehow connected together. Headlights are not positioned properly to see more then 1/2 car length in front of vehicle. Also radiator was loose and ready to fall out of car after driving vehicle 2 weeks.

- Lewistown, IL, USA

problem #1

Mar 072013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 4,465 miles
Vehicle when starting from a stopped position will hesitate and shutter the front end and when U keep going past the third gear it will come out of the shuttering. Also wants to stutter when applying gas and acts like its going to stop. Have had the plastic clutch pack replaced in October 2013 but car is worse when accelerating from a stop or lower speed and wanting to accelerate or go faster. The car still shutters hard and acts like wants to die in traffic flow and now car is making grinding and rattle every time accelerating from a speed of 0-30 miles per hr. I want this fixed because this car will not last me until it gets paid off. Ford needs to take note that this 6 pack clutch system is not working for this type of vehicle. I will B getting an attorney if it gets to the point of this cost coming out of my pocket. Shuttering really bad, grinding noise, rattling noise, cutting out like it wants to die, I have seen the first burnt part they replaced in my car and wonder why Ford Motor Company would install a plastic piece inside a metal part. Also my headlights and windows are somehow connected together. Headlights are not positioned properly to see more then 1/2 car length in front of vehicle. Also radiator was loose and ready to fall out of car after driving vehicle 2 weeks.

- Lewistown, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?