Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.3

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,405 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Focus Electric engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Focus Electric:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Focus Electric Owner Comments

problem #16

Jul 232016

Focus Electric

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had yet another "stop safely now" warning in which the car completely lost power to the drivetrain while in motion. I had previously taken in the car for the recall in January and was told that would resolve the issue, but the problem has popped up again. This is a very dangerous thing to happen to have a car suddenly lose all power while driving in the middle of the road. Ford has clearly not fixed this problem yet.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #15

May 262016

Focus Electric

  • 17,000 miles
I was driving along at freeway speed, in commute traffic, and the power shut down and an alert showed on the dash "pull over safely". there was no power left in my electric vehicle, so I coasted over to the shoulder. The car wouldn't drive. Car was towed to Ford, where it has taken over 2 weeks, and they are stating the whole motor needed to be replaced. There are only 17,000 miles on this car. I "googled" the "pull over safely" alert, and have found this seems to be an ongoing problem with this car for many people, and that Ford had recalled over 2,000 Ford Focus ev cars, model years 2011-2013, for this exact reason.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 062016

Focus Electric

  • 19,000 miles
Six times my car's engine has stopped working. Either I am driving and it gives me a 10 second warning before the engine shuts off or I am parked and it won't start up properly. Every time it gets towed or I take it to the dealership, they tell me they have updated the computer system and it should be fine. Ford's corporate office has said results are inconclusive and there is nothing they can do to help me. After doing research online, it seems like this is a common issue with this vehicle.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #13

Sep 222015

Focus Electric

  • 22,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Tuesday, September 22, 2015, while my son was driving on the freeway at 65 mph in the carpool lane, the car suddenly stalled on him and loss all power to the car. A message popped up on the dash in an orange triangle stated "stop safely now". since he was in the carpool lane, he did not have enough time to get the car off to the side. He was stranded in a busy carpool lane and almost got rear end from behind when the car suddenly cut off all power and came to a stop. This has put my son in a great danger situation!!! he could have got rear ended and the stalling of the car could have caused a multi-cars accident in the carpool lane on the freeway. Somehow he managed to able to restart the car after turning the car on, off and opening the driver side door and closing it several time. The car continue to have the same problem on and off for the next couple of days. We finally got the car into Ford dealership September 24, 2015. At the time of this report, Ford dealership has not call me with a cause for the issue. I also noted that there was a recall for a similar issue that was issued from Ford for the electric vehicle for model 2012 to 2014. The serviceman at Ford dealership told me that my VIN number was not on that recall list yet my son still encountered the same issue that was described in the NHTSA investigation report a couple of years ago. I don't think Ford has done enough to correct this dangerous problem.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 062015

Focus Electric

  • 18,000 miles
"stop safely now" warning light came on at ~18K miles, 17 months into ownership, while driving on express way at ~35 mph. Car powered off after coming to a complete stop at next stoplight, was stranded before intersection. Car did power up again and was driveable after opening and closing driver door, waiting several minutes, and turned power off and on.

- Fremont , CA, USA

problem #11

May 202015

Focus Electric

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,950 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Focus electric. While driving at approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 3,950....updated 07/30/15 updated 09/08/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised the failure was caused by an electric battery failure. Updated 11/9/2015

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #10

May 302014

Focus Electric

  • 5,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Second time this has happened. Back in January the car would not start from a parking lot. Dealership checked it out and replaced the harness. This time was going down the freeway and the car shut off and the pull over now message came on. Luckily for me the person behind me stayed with us while I pushed the car over to the side. This car has some issues and needs to be addressed. Its back at the dealership today to find out what is wrong. I am going to see if they dealership will take it back and get me something else. I am not comfortable with a car shutting off while on the freeway. Just not safe.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #9

Apr 202015

Focus Electric

  • 2,250 miles
While driving down a major local road, the car completely lost driving power (accessories still worked) and a warning light on the dashboard came on saying "stop safely now!". my wife was barely able to pull over and we were unable to get the car moving again, eventually towing it to the dealership. When we picked the car up they stated that a connection to the high voltage battery came loose and they've fixed it. Yesterday, when attempting to start the car, the same warning message came on and the car would not start. We once again have had the car towed to the dealership. The dealer called me this morning saying the car "works fine" which makes me more concerned since clearly this issue is now totally unpredictable.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #8

Jan 272015

Focus Electric

  • 3,865 miles
Was taking off from work - barely got out of the parking lot and the car came up with the warning light and said to pull over. Barely pulled over the car shut off. Dealer hasn't really had to work on their electric cars, had to contact their engineering department. Now they say they have to replace the electrical harness of the car. Car also doesn't grip the road when at a stop and trying to do a quick pull out to merge into traffic.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #7

Nov 262014

Focus Electric

  • 9,500 miles
I was driving the vehicle when the "stop safely now" (ssn) flashed on the dash and the car started beeping. I slowed down and was able to get off the road. The car then died and was inoperable. I got out to look around the car and make sure there were no flat tires - everything seemed fine. After a few minutes - I was able to start the car and it worked as usual. The car seemed fine so I kept driving it without incident until January 6th, 2015 when I was driving the 3 kids home from school - the battery had 75% on it and the ssn flashed on my dashboard. I slowed down coming to a light - and the car went completely dead - I tried to move it out of the lane to the side of the road - but there was no power to do that. We were stopped in the lane of a busy 4 lane road. There was no way around our car without cars merging into the other lane. It was very dangerous and unsafe for our family. I called aaa to have the car towed. I tried every few minutes to start the car - but it wouldn't work. Finally after 15 minutes - I started the car and it acted as if nothing was wrong. I drove the car to the dealer and they said the code poa0A: 01-08-PCM showed - they reset it and said no new code came up when they test drove it. Now a week later - I am driving the car on 1/14/15 and the ssn come on again. I slow down - the car won't move or restart. I wait 10 minutes. The car started and I drove it back to the dealer - the same code appeared. They reset it - but now want to keep the car until they can get it to stall on them. There is very little time from when the ssn flashed and beeps to pull of the road and get out of harms way. The last 2 times it happened I was stuck in the lane of traffic and could not move the car.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 232014

Focus Electric

  • 2,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stop safely now error message displayed along with multiple other error messages (tire fault, engine coolant error, rear parking sensor error, etc). Car is brand new and unable to drive.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 012014

Focus Electric

  • 185 miles
Brand new 2014 Ford Focus electric - less than 200 miles on odometer. Driving on 35mph road during evening rush hour the car suddenly flashed a "stop safely now" warning on the dash. As I looked for a place to pull over the car shut down completely (dash gauges went dark...estimated less than 10 seconds after warning message). Fortunately I was able to coast into a parking lot because I was at speed but I lost power steering. Headlights flickering, relays clicking, etc. I called Ford roadside assistance for a tow. Had this happened at a faster speed on a highway, I or other drivers could have been killed or severely injured. Ford supposedly corrected this defected in earlier models years. At this point I do not feel safe driving the vehicle until I have positive confirmation the problem has been identified and corrected. Ford is going to kill someone if they don't get this corrected! at www.myfocuselectric.com/forum/viewtopic.php?F=15&T=900&sid=8bb1F29cee82B54E62bb67213B1B3B1D&start=500 there are a string of complaints from Ford Focus electric owners on this dangerous defect. Updated 1/21/2016

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #4

Nov 132014

Focus Electric

  • 4,918 miles
Ford's recall campaign number 13S09 only addressed certain models produced thru late 2013, however my car was produced in 3/2014 and displayed the same issue. I've experienced two occasions where the car lost power and displayed the "stop safely now" warning message on cluster. The first happened on 11/7/14 while stopped at a stop sign. Took it to Ford dealer who cleared code and stated it's is fine. It happened again on 11/13/14 while driving up on my driveway. Both times, the car worked again after turning it off and waiting about 5 mins.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 022014

Focus Electric

  • 1,250 miles
On 4 separate occasions with 48 hours the "stop safely now" warning appeared on the dash accompanied with a total loss of power and/or the engine shutting off while the vehicle was in motion. These occurred in distinctly different scenarios: While accelerating from a stop, while braking, and two occurrences while traveling at 45 mph and 35 mph. The brakes and steering thankfully still worked however accidents almost occurred in the two higher speed scenarios. The vehicle could be restarted after it was turned off and on again. The warning would disappear with no further information.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #2

Apr 092014

Focus Electric

  • 3,600 miles
Without earning, this electric vehicle's power systems die, even if fully charged. The car is left inoperable. A engine light "stop safely now" appears and the car can't move. Very dangerous if it happens in moving traffic.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 262013

Focus Electric

  • 667 miles
I was traveling about 35 mph when my car flashed a message "stop safely now" and the car had lost power to the wheels and I was now just coasting. I pulled the vehicle off to the side of the road. I was able to turn off the vehicle and get it started again. I was lucky that I was able to safely get my vehicle to a safe place had this been on a freeway I would have surely been in a serious accident.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?