Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,551 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Dec 182007

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the front driver's side door failed to latch securely. The failure occurred in frigid weather temperatures. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages). The manufacturer was noticed of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #20

Nov 172014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
Drivers side door latch will freeze up when outside temperature drops below freezing. Door will not close properly, or if it sounds like it has closed properly can pop open when driving. Talked to Ford and the recall work was done once, therefore they will not cover the cost to fix again.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #19

Dec 012014

Freestyle

  • 122,798 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the drivers side door latch remained in the open position and failed to close. The failure recurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 122,798. The VIN was unavailable.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #18

Dec 012014

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am very frustrated that I have the same make/model that was included in the 11/8/2006 recall but Ford and NHTSA limited the vehicles to only certain states. During cold weather water is allowed to enter the car door and freeze the latches. The car door latch then freezes making it unsafe and undriveable as the door will not latch. This recall was done on 10/5/2006 under campaign number PE11018 but because my VIN was not included Ford will not fix the safety issue.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #17

Nov 132014

Freestyle

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the door latch failed to return to the latch position when the door was closed causing the door to open while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the front door latch needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Gladstone, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while attempting to close the front driver side door, the door failed to close because the latch had become frozen due to the cold weather. As a result, the contact had to hold the door close while the vehicle was in motion. The contact was able to properly close the door after the vehicle heated up. The failure recurred multiple times throughout the winter. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and notified the contact that the vehicle had already been serviced under recall NHTSA: Campaign 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000...updated 11/06/14

- South Windsor, CT, USA

problem #15

Feb 012010

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was sent the recall for door latches freezing and doors not closing securely and/or doors opening. I had the recall work done at Ford dealer. The following winter was mild and doors were not wet in below freezing days/nights etc the following years doors still continued to open and not latch shut when wet and below freezing. Following this discovery I called Ford customer service on 2 separate occasions and they said "we did the recall work and that's all we are doing" I told them it did not fix anything --they said its not their problem. This car is junk at every level but doors not closing is their problem - please make them re-recall this issue!!

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #14

Dec 182013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the drivers side door failed to latch causing it to open freely while driving. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage were 72,000. Updated 3/28/14 in December 2012, the consumer was informed the recall had already been performed. On 02/18/14, the consumer was informed the vehicle needed a new door latch. Updated 04/22/14

- Groton, CT, USA

problem #13

Jan 152014

Freestyle

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that one of the doors opened independently while the vehicle was in motion. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages) and stated that the vehicle was serviced under the recall but did not prevent the failure from occurring. The manufacture was contacted and advised that they would not assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 97,000.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #12

Jan 022014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the rear passenger door failed to latch which resulted in the door independently opening while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 107,000.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 042010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1.)every winter the locking mechanism on the drivers side door will freeze. So, once you open your door & you go to shut it, it will not latch shut, instead it will just bounce back open. After spending about 1/2 hour each time of manually moving the latch up & down it finally engages. 2.) power window buttons do not work on any window except drivers side. When I have it repaired, & if I put the window locks on, after that none will work again. I'm tired of fixing an ongoing problem! 3.) driver side power door lock is intermittent in working. It must be pressed approximately 5-6 times usually before it will engage.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #10

Feb 072012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
When the weather falls below freezing temp the drivers door lock mechanism jams and no amt of warm air applied to the door will unjam it. I was unable to open my drivers door for three days.

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #9

Jul 312011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 24,500 miles
The back of one of the second row seats does not fold down when the latch lever is pulled up, which means that the entire seat does not lift up. Consequently, passangers sitting in the third row will be unable to exit the car from the corresponding side in case of an accident. When the car was new, it was difficult to release the latch; over time it got more difficult, and now it is inoperable.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #8

Jan 262011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Regarding campaign number 06V383000 dealer installed shield over front latches. Fix did not work. Latch won't reset can't close door also worried door can pop open. The orignal fix never really worked. Happens each winter. Grease has been re applied to latch.

- Plainveiw, NY, USA

problem #7

Dec 222007

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle was door latches failed. The contact received repairs to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch) yet the failure persisted on an intermittent basis and only in cold temperatures. The vehicle was inspected a second time by a dealer who informed the contact that he would need to replace the latches by a different design. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Pittston, ME, USA

problem #6

May 152010

Freestyle

  • 65,000 miles
During vehicle operation, the instrument cluster suddenly and catastrophically fails, apparently disabling several critical safety features. The malfunction at first occurred intermittently, then more frequently, but now occurs continuously. A local Ford dealer has replaced the instrument cluster twice without resolving the problem, indicating that original Ford equipment may be defective. The speedometer and tachometer needles suddenly drop to zero and freeze. The digital display shows ¿odometer data error.¿ all warning lights on the instrument cluster come on at once. Without these instruments, the driver can no longer monitor vehicle performance, such as speed and engine temperature. The malfunction definitely disables the automatic door locks and traction control. It may very well also disable the air bag system since the self-check display also does not work.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #5

Dec 152009

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
I own a 2005 Ford Freestyle that had the same problems described in NHTSA campaign id # 06V383000. During the winter, the latch on my front driver door froze and my door flew open while driving. After finding out about this recall, I contacted Ford Motor Company directly; I was told my vehicle was not involved in the recall. I assume it is possible for other cars to be defective besides just the ones they repaired. I was told that I would have to pay for any repair myself; Ford will not assume any responsibility. The repair charges are outrageous!

- Belton, MO, USA

problem #4

Dec 202008

Freestyle

  • 58,500 miles
When the weather here dropped to the teens, the front passenger door would not latch. You could open it, get in, then not be able to close it.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #3

Dec 012008

Freestyle

  • 70,265 miles
In cold weather front doors do not latch. Not able to close and doors open while driving. This item was a Ford recall worked for one season. Ford claims item the latch were repaired and recall was honored. This is a major safety issue. Please help!

- Eastchester, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 012008

Freestyle

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. When the weather is very cold, the driver's side door latch would stick and not remain shut. It took the contact 45 minutes of playing with the door to get it to remain closed. The failure was due to the latch linkage system. The failure and current mileages were less than 32,000.

- Sanduski, OH, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?