Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,845 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments

problem #14

May 302016


  • 138,836 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 138,836.

- Hermiston, OR, USA

problem #13

Nov 172015


  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle made a wobbling motion and the traction control warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Minneanpolis, MN, USA

problem #12

Sep 142013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
Only when the ac is on does the car lung/accelerate when I brake and come to a stop. It has also stalled out on me when I have come to a stop in traffic (when ac is on). Luckily it has restarted but what about next time. Please help. Its expensive to repair. I bought it used from a used car dealer, now it makes sense why they were so quick on approving me for the loan for that vehicle. I am still paying it off ($300 monthly) so paying for repairs is out of my budget for sure. Is there a recall?

- Seguin , TX, USA

problem #11

Jun 062014


  • 101,000 miles


While driving on highway my traction control, airbag, seat belt, ABS & parking brake lights came on. I was able to drive car home, but soon after my transmission was also affected.took car to dealer and a week later, they finally found the traction control motor is gone and needs to be replaced $ doesn't know if the traction controller needs to be replaced too, but will test that after loading new motor. If the controller needs to be replaced, then it's another $1,200 on top of everything else. Dealer originally thought it was an electrical problem which they never found and costing so much money and time.

- Naugatuck, CT, USA

problem #10

Dec 202012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 63,989 miles
12/20/12- veh idles high and wants to accelerate when braking as advised by a recall and Ford dealer stacher cleaned the throttle body and reprogrammed the PCM.program code; 12N03 repair type-31 wrty claim. Customer code A99. 4/25/13---veh is shutting off while driving. Had new throttle body put on at Firestone. Car cut off and stalled a few times. Firestone reinstalled old throttle body and when we took the van back to Ford dealer and they again verified concern and performed ids diagnosis, code po613B, secure map sensor hose and road tested 26 miles. Did not stall, stated it may have other issue. Invoice cost $93 4/30/13----veh shut off 4 or 5 times. Satcher dealer drove van and could not duplicate problem. 4/31/13 received car from dealer and after duplicating problem returned car back to dealer. 5/2-3/13 - rented enterprise vehicle. Invoice cost $98+. 5/07/13 advised to come get the car after 10 days without loaner car. No paperwork given although requested. When called and asked for paperwork advised there was none. When asked of work performed they said they reprogrammed PCM. 5/26/13 car stopped again several times and when taken back to the same dealer they hooked it to an onboard computer. Car driven for 5 weeks without it stopping again. 7/17/13 - dealer requires computer back and was taken off the car. Situation is dangerous because acceleration is unpredictable and engine power shuts down at any time..

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #9

Jun 292013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Over the last couple of years, I've noticed that the vehicle would jump a little when shifted into gear. Occasionally, the same little lurch would happen at a stoplight. Today, while stopped at idle the engine repeatedly revved over the course of about 10 seconds causing the vehicle to jump forward even with the brakes applied. Shortly after, a similar problem occurred, but not as pronounced as the previous event. After the incident, the performance of the engine seemed to have degraded and the vehicle was only able to accelerate very slowly.

- Sunset Beach, NC, USA

problem #8

Jan 032012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles


While driving at a slow speed, my Ford Freestyle will lunge forward even while braking. I have jumped curbs because of this issue and feel that this problem should be addressed before it causes someone serious injury.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #7

Aug 062012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
When reversing out of and into various parking spaces, the vehicle lurches forward when I am not accelerating. I cannot detect a pattern but it has happened at least 6 times.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 172012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Car will lunge if I'm starting to brake or pressing very lightly applying brakes and sometimes will move several feet before I can get it to stop I have hit curbs and garage doors because of it.

- North Pekin, IL, USA

problem #5

May 312012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
The car first started when I had it on cruise control going down the highway at 70mph. I had the air conditioning on and the tach went to 4,000 rpms and the car shut off while going down the highway. The car when sitting idle will idle up and down. When put into reverse or drive the car jumps forward or backwards and you can barely stop it by pressing the brakes. Now when the car is put into reverse and your backing out of a parking space the car will lunge and then turn off.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #4

Jun 152012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


This vehicle will lurch forward, sometimes several feet when I have been stopped with my foot on the brake. If I lift my foot, the car will lurch forward before I touch the accelerator. Reapplying the brakes will stop the car, but sometimes have to turn off the engine before it will stop lurching. Last occurrence was when I was in line at carwash and was moving the car forward slowly. Each time I moved forward, it lunged. I haven't yet hit anyone or anything but this is dangerous and I know from researching that several hundred people have reported similar incidents, this is not normal, it is dangerous and should be recalled before someone is seriously injured.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #3

May 162012


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving on various occasions. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated to accelerate when the accelerator was depressed on a few occasions. In addition, the vehicle intermittently failed to respond when the brakes were applied. The failures recurred and became more severe. The failure was common when the vehicle had been idle or parked under the sun for a while. The power train and engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to dealer for a diagnostic test or repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 5,040.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #2

May 262012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The vehicles accelerates when brake is on. Has happened on multiple occasions and for both drivers of vehicle. The vehicle just surges forward a short distance. Don't know exact first date as it was infrequent and I thought maybe I was imagining it. Second driver of vehicle confirmed problem. Only goes forward a few inches but very scary and frequency is increasing. Will be taking to shop. See this is listed on web sites as a frequent problem with the 2007 Freestyle.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #1

May 012009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
When attempting to enter a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and lurched forward necessitating a very quick change of foot position from gas pedal to brake pedal. After bringing vehicle to a complete stop and again attempting to move forward into a parking space, vehicle repeated lurching movements, and again necessitated rapid change of foot position to brake. Vehicle continues to exhibit problem, not only when moving forward, but also when vehicle is in reverse. It has been inspected several times at a certified Ford dealership, with no obvious defects detected. Online defects search lists numerous reports of similar problems with solution being to replace throttle body, a very costly repair.

- Ivins, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?