Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,220 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 4 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #185

Oct 262012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Freestyle cvt tranny, I need to warm it up for about 45 mins to an hour before it even moves. I had it looked at by Ford and aamco transmission and Ford says I need a new one for $6000 aamco says just rebuild it for $3500.I shouldn't have to get a new trns since the car I only had for 18 mons.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #184

Feb 252013

Freestyle

  • miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle began lunging while sitting in traffic and soon after that began making a grinding noise. I took my car to a local Ford dealership and was told that it would be around $5000 to pull and check the transmission. This is crazy. I had several problems with the lunging forward and now this noise which Ford states they are not responsible for. The car only has 50,000 miles on it. I do believe this is a safety issue and now I'm left without a car to drive because I'm afraid I will do further damage to the transmission or even yet hurt someone with the lunging problem. I don't think I should be responsible for a problem that Ford needs to correct and it is a safety issue.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #183

Jul 112012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
After enduring a summer filled with the typical surging issue, the transmission started making a light grinding sound in park and neutral. Come December 2012, I received a recall notice from Ford concerning the throttle body issue, and in January 2013 took it in for the recall service. About a week later, the cvt transmission's grinding noise had gotten worse, so I took it into the Ford dealer here in town and they said I needed a new transmission to the tune of over $6000. Needless to say, I do not have $6000 to put into a 6 year old car that I still owe $8000 on (bought it in 2010). I've had tires last longer than this transmission, which is currently at 62,000 miles. Unthinkable that Ford has produced such a flawed major component like a transmission, and not stood behind it, or supplies parts for it. I am livid, and after owning Ford for over 30 years I have no idea what I will get next. I feel like I've been taken advantage of, and this Freestyle is indeed a lemon. The car is unsafe to drive, and the cost to repair is not in line with the Taurus X of 2008 which they introduced a transmission that actually worked.

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #182

Feb 192013

Freestyle

  • 76,123 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Put car in reverse veh lunged backward almost causing a crash. This has happened several more times wrench light comes on. Received a recall notice from Ford took veh in to dealer they said the recall only is for cleaning the throttle I needed a new throttle. Cost was $850 I have an extended warranty but it did not cover this part. I feel if Ford has a recall on this item it should be replaced if needed. I am very disappointed in what has gone on with this. Have seen many complaints on this situation it is obviously a problem with this model.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #181

Feb 112013

Freestyle

  • 130,000 miles
My vehicle "lunges" when put into reverse or park. Vehicle stalls when pulling into a parking space.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #180

Oct 112012

Freestyle

  • 79,102 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that a loud noise was emitted from the transmission and the vehicle erroneously accelerated after being placed in drive. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated that the cvt transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 79,102. The VIN was unknown.

- Carlsbad, NM, USA

problem #179

May 242011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 46,828 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After I bought my Freestyle, I started having serious surging issues, especially after idling for a time or when trying to park the vehicle. Sometimes it would occur during rush hour traffic, endangering my life and the lives of other motorists. I took the car to the dealership. The tech's suggested replacing various components of the car A/C system and other related components. No successful resolution was ever reached with the dealership, even after the suggested repairs were made. I continued to have surging issues, making the car unsafe. In January 2013, I took the car to a reputable mechanic who diagnosed the car with transmission failure, specifically the input shaft. I believe that the surging issue related to the subsequent transmission failure. Not only is my car unsafe to drive due to the surging issue, but now is completely undriveable due to the transmission failure. I was made aware in January 2013 that Ford issued a tsb in December 2012 relating to the surging issue and recommended a fix that would completely resolve the issue. But I believe this tsb came way too late. The surging damaged the transmission and thus created a problem within the transmission that wasn't there before. Ford took steps to solve a problem that made their cars unsafe. Now they need to come forward and further address the issue that the surging not only made the car unsafe, but damaged the car and then submit measures to resolve the issues of damaged transmissions.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #178

Mar 272010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
I was idling in a parking lot in my parking spot and the car surged so strong I almost drove into the building in front of me. The wrench warning light came on and the car drove poorly for a few miles. It was jumpy and not very much power. We called Ford and he recommended pulling the battery cable off the battery to reset it and bring it in as soon as we got back from our vacation. It seemed to do ok for a while then randomly it would surge while idling.( in 2011 maybe once a month. In 2012 probably every other day.) brought it to Ford a few times and they didn't know what to do because it didn't do it while they had it. Also the air conditioner will randomly shut off for a minute or two then suddenly come back on. The lights in the car will do the same thing. Also the dash warning lights sometimes all come on at once and then all go out for a while. ( I cant see my speed so I have to pull over). I was scared to let my daughter or strangers drive my car. I am afraid they will get hurt or hurt some one. I have to always hold my brake all the way down and quickly let off and put the brakes back on to pull into parking spaces so I don't run into the vehicle in front of me.

- Lecanto, FL, USA

problem #177

Dec 082011

Freestyle

  • 96,000 miles
A year ago I was experiencing the latest recall on the throttle body for Freestyles, took it to the dealership and they said I needed a new transmission. A year later after many repeated lunging occasions my transmission has now made my car undrivable. I want to bring to attention that O believe as well as some of my local mechanics believe this throttle body issue to be a direct connection to the many transmission cases that have been brought to your attention. I unfortunately am a victim of this. I believe Ford company should be liable for both these fixes they are product of faulty equipment that they put out for consumers to experience. I have seen in some cases as well as lived a case where while driving these issues with the throttle body and transmission have either cases accidents or nearly caused. Please take this seriously and thank U for your time.

- Park Hills, MO, USA

problem #176

Jan 222009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Car surges forward when the brake is applied. And when driving in the summer the car will sometimes stall and the wrench light comes on.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #175

Apr 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whenever I put it in forward or reverse there's a surge or in reverse its does a jerk. When I go in reverse I cant use the air conditioner. It cuts the car off and then the wrench comes up when I restart the car.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #174

Dec 082010

Freestyle

  • 64,000 miles
Purchased an 07 Ford Freestyle. Less than three yrs old and had to replace transmission at $7000! was told the revving and lunging the vehicle does caused the transmission issue. I have reported this to everyone I can. Why does no one care that these vehicles move on their own? when Toyota had this issue, the news stations were all over it. A recall happened within months! if you google these issues, there are more than 20,000 people with the same issue. These are family cars! family vehicles which drive kids and they accelerate on their own even in reverse! I don't have another $7000 for another new transmission. Ford issued a one time throttle cleaning, that I just received in the mail. Thx Ford for the $150 service that does nothing! never again will I buy a F.O.R.D! found on road dead=Ford!

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #173

Jan 012011

Freestyle

  • 75,000 miles
While at rest, car suddenly surges forward. Then, while reversing my car started surging making it darn near impossible to drive as well as park. In 2011, spent 7000$ on a new transmission for a four yr old vehicle with 75,000 miles!!!! ridiculous. Now, the car surges in both directions and timing is off. Ford issued a one time throttle cleaning. What a joke! thanks Ford! $150$ service that fixes nothing and 20,000 people online that are out 5000-7000$ for transmissions get what?

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #172

Dec 082012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 116,200 miles
While driving on freeway, RPM's increased excessively, pulled over, turned off and restarted car. Seemed fine. About 2 months later, slowing and turning at about 20mph, RPM's increased excessively and lost speed. Turned off and restarted, put into drive, but car would not move forward. Stalled out when pressing accelerator. Independent mechanic performed diagnostic said transmission needed to be replaced. Towed to dealer for estimate - they said that a transmission from Ford with a 3 yr warranty is on back order for two months! had just paid this off and our extended warranty just ended 2 months ago.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #171

Feb 152012

Freestyle

  • 80,000 miles
The vehicle lunges into gear - both drive and reverse. Rpms jump rapidly and car jumps into gear. I need to push on brake with all of my might to stop it from moving. Also jumps erratically when stopped such as at a traffic light or stop sign. It is much worse when the air conditioning is on. As the situation worsened, the vehicle would stall due to surging. Upon restarting when wrench light comes on and then the car will not move. There is no response to the gas pedal. After waiting 10 -15 minutes it will then start and run fine until next time. I had transmission trouble as a result of this. I had the transmission serviced but this did not correct the problem. The technician cleaned off the throttle body housing and it seemed to solve the problem....temporarily. Within 10,000 miles the vehicle started stalling again. I took it to my mechanic who ran a scan and got transmission codes. Back to transmission shop. Now they said that the transmission needs to be replaced. Replaced the transmission with a used one with 30,000 miles. Ran fine for 15 minutes and wrench light comes on again and the car won't move. Upon researching I have found multiple complaints on both the transmission and throttle body and housing. I understand you are investigating this and would like my complaint added to your list!

- Pitman, NJ, USA

problem #170

Dec 252010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
We purchased our Freestyle in 07 and literally only drove it for 3 years. The car started to lunge and make all kinds of noises when we took it in and they said our car was out of warranty by a couple miles literally they wouldn't do anything for us just told us it was going to be about $5000 to repair. That is huge when your still paying on it. Please investigate this so we all can get a vehicle we can drive and not worry we are going to lunge at the kids school where you could easily hurt children.

- St.Clair, MI, USA

problem #169

Nov 222012

Freestyle

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the transmission down shifted with a whining sound as the engine rpms increased excessively. The vehicle was taken to both an authorized dealer and an independent mechanic, whom both advised the contact that the transmission would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Stevens , PA, USA

problem #168

Nov 142012

Freestyle

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 35 mph, the transmission began to down shift abnormally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who advised that the transmission would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that there was not a recall related to the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Stevens , PA, USA

problem #167

Nov 052012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,259 miles
At 49,660 miles we had to have the throttle body changed because the car lunged forward and stalled out. On June 19, 2012 our 2007 Ford Freestyle was serviced with a transmission flush and fluid change, and a multi-point inspection. Everything looked good. On Nov. 5, 2012 it would rev up when driving and would not accelerate. After researching, we found out that the cvt transmission that was put in the 2005-2007 Ford Freestyle is a defective design that poses numerous safety concerns. Ford does not even make the transmission any more, so our only choice is to pay over $5000 for a used/rebuilt one that may have the same problems. Our car is only 5 years old. We have taken good care of it. We need a reliable vehicle and do not have the money to fix this. Please have Ford recall these faulty cvt transmissions and have more concern for safety and customer satisfaction.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #166

Jun 082011

Freestyle

  • 69,900 miles
On the date shown, while driving in a funeral procession and entering the cemetery my vehicle started to lurch, lunge and bucking. Tried to give it gas but didn't respond. I then shut the vehicle off and when I started upon leaving the cemetery the vehicle started this again. I drove to the dealership and the maintenance person told me that this was being caused by a sensor and that I could shut the vehicle down and restart after a few minutes. This seemed to work for a while then the same problems kept occurring. This was mentioned a number of times to the dealer with the same explanation. I think that this problem has now created another in the the transmission on the vehicle is gone.

- Medford, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?