Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,220 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 13)

problem #245

Jun 272015


  • miles


I am having trouble with the cvt transmission in my car when I put it in gear it lunges almost over powering the breaks. It also will stall if I have to hit the breaks hard to come to a stop real fast. I will be getting in the highway and every so often it will not shift it just runs at really high RPM. It will also loose power suddenly and a wrench light will come on that limits me to 2000 RPM and I have had to pull off to the side of the highway many times because of this. I have been doing some research and I have come to find out that thousands of people have had some of these same problems and Ford won't do anything about them. I feel unsafe while driving my car but it is my only transportation at the time so I have no other option is have also experienced problems with my AWD and I feel it can't work because of the problems of my transmissio.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #244

Apr 102016


  • 126,000 miles
I was attempting to pass a slow truck on a two lane road. As accelerated and pull alongside the truck the ctv transmission failed and the engine raced. I was able to get around the truck and get to the shoulder of the road. I call a tow truck and my car has been in the repair shop for 8 weeks. I am concerned regarding head on collisions that may have not been reported as a transmission problem. If a car would have been approaching in the opposite direction I would have suffered a head on collision.

- Prosperity, SC, USA

problem #243

Jan 142016


  • 114,000 miles
I was driving at a steady speed on a slightly hilly road when the yellow tool indicator light came on and it appear that the transmission lost its connection. The engine stayed around 2000 RPM then drifted down and would not respond to the gas pedal changes. Vehical towed to shop and left it there.

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #242

Oct 172014


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. In addition, the contact stated that there was an abnormal sound coming from under the hood of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was not available.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #241

Oct 082015


  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle failed to shift from first gear and the vehicle was making an abnormal sound. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #240

Jun 042010


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle began to accelerate without the accelerator pedal being depressed. While the air conditioner was activated, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body and the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure was persistent. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #239

Apr 162015


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When the contact started the parked vehicle, a loud knocking sound was heard coming from the transmission. The throttle control/transmission and the service engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle would not accelerate over 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #238

Sep 052015


  • 82,061 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While starting the vehicle, the wrench warning light illuminated. While driving at 30 mph, there was an abnormal noise and the vehicle felt as if it would accelerate independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,061.

- Martinsville, VA, USA

problem #237

Apr 152015


  • 130,000 miles
April 2015, my vehicle started making knocking/grinding/ticking noises once it was started. Sometimes the transmission would fail to shift into gear(s). I prodeeded to physically move my shifter into gear(s) a few times. The transmission then shifted into gear(s), making a hard "clunk" sound. Sounding like the transmission had 'dropped' into gear; as if it had a low trasmission fluid level. Mind you, recently, a local shop changed my oil and all fluids were checked and refilled if needed. The shop informed me about code P0942, because they had never seen this code before in their life! states: "P0942 - hydraulic pressure unit" with a rating of 3/3 (3=high). I called a local Ford dealership, and was informed about this code; which doesn't identify the actual problem/issue; resulting in no specifics. On Thursday, August 20, 2015, while driving on the highway, my vehicle started to surge, and the RPM's continuously fluctuated (while the cruise was on). My vehicle then started to shake, and made a thumping/crunching noise, followed with the forward propulsion ceasing to exist. I frantically turned my fore ways on, and drifted until at a complete stop on the sholder of the highway. Again, while I physically shifted gear(s), the transmission sounded low on fluid, as if no (valid) shifting of gear(s)S and also maintained a humming noise. From the passenger seat, my 12 year old son, grabbed my hand and asked me to pray with him; pray that we'd make it home without getting hurt (our safety). Numerous times our vehicle shook tremendously when other vehicles passed by. Once home, I was still calming my son down, we both needed to sleep. That night, my son and I experienced a tramatic (nightmare like) situation. Now, Ford customers are forced upon (a) safety hazzard(s). Yes, preventable safety hazzard(s), if dealt with asap.

- Mountain Grove, MO, USA

problem #236

Jul 202015


  • 93,200 miles
The cvt transmission in this vehicle is not safe. Not sure why there hasn't been an investigation as of yet. My car started out making a humming sound and now has progressed to the point I need a new transmission. After lengthy research online I have found this is a common problem with this vehicle as well as in other Ford vehicles. I have read of failures in these types of transmission as early as 15,000 miles on the vehicle. This is a well known problem including the fact that there is a class action suit on this matter which as far as I know is still pending. Apparently Ford has known of the problem, hence they stopped using and manufacturing this transmission making the parts to repair this transmission outrageously priced. So not only is Ford profiting from the sale of these vehicles, now they are profiting from the sale of the parts as I have my vehicle in for repair for an outrageous amount of money. This vehicle is not safe. Failure can come at any time under any situation without warning. This vehicle can cause an accident or even worse bodily harm or even death when this transmission fails completely. I am quite sure by the shear numbers of complaints I have read that someone has contacted you in regards to this product. If not I am. Please help the small guy out.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #235

Aug 022015


  • 190,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When starting the vehicle and shifting into reverse or drive at 2 mph, the vehicle would lunge forward or backwards as the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, the check engine and the wrench warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 190,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #234

May 242014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle VIN # [xxx]. have had car for less than 2 years. Replaced brakes twice. The throttle seems to be sticking and transmission. Wrench on dash. Have two small children. Car will accelerate on own when foot is on brake. It has also jumped backwards. Concerned about this dangerous vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #233

May 082015


  • 100,970 miles
Put car in drive started down the street when all of a sudden the transmission started making noise and the car started slowing down. I pulled over and parked the car then turned it off, try to start it back up but the car would not move when put in drive. It would reverse but it would not go forward. Had to call fro a tow truck and have vehicle towed to dealer. The following codes showed up when the repair shop checked the transmission: Po 218, po 701, PO868, PO871, PO961. The Ford dealership said that the transmission would have to be replaced because the transmission was dead. I have looked up the Ford Freestyle and have found that there are many vehicles with this same problem. I could have had a bad accident I was on the highway because the vehicle stopped in the middle of the road and traffic had to veer around me to keep from hitting me. I had children in the vehicle we could have died. A new transmission cost me $2200 and the cost to have it replaced was $900. I believe that I should get some kind of compensation for a problem that you knew the vehicle has with it's transmission.

- Laurinburg, NC, USA

problem #232

Apr 022015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle 01/20/15 from a used lot in raleigh nc, 'something you should never do in the first place''. I had just got off maternity leave and I needed a car so I could be able to get to work. On the 4th of April 2015. I was driving the car on the highway when it started to jerk back and make a very loud roaring sound. The car started to slow down and jerk back and forth if you went over 20 miles per hour. I pulled over to check the car and I could not figure out what was wrong with it so I called my husband and he came. The car could still drive but very slowly while making the same sound so he drove very slowly behind me. Keep in mind I had my two month old in the back seat when all of this craziness was happening. Next day I couldn't even drive the car because of the poor condition it was in. When we took it to a specialized mechanic for this cvt transmission it has, they notified us after waiting four to five hours to replace this unique engine it would cost $4-$6,000 dollars. That is insane to have to replace the entire transmission after only having it for two months and to replace it because ''Ford'' is too cheap and inconsiderate to not recall this piece of crap of a car. How can Ford ignore this issue that it is causing world wide. It is not just one or two minor issues it is the entire transmission that needs to be replaced. Wake up Ford!! this is a terrible vehicle to sell to the american people!! I wouldn't even sale this vehicle in foreign countries!! my advice to anyone is to never ever buy any Ford vehicles!! this was a nightmare!!

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #231

Jan 022015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I have not had a catastrophic incident, yet, but certain to after researching the issue I am experiencing from the cvt transmission in this vehicle. Since about January 2015, while in park or neutral, there is a loud whirring sound, similar to a helicopter. After extensive online research, it seems that most, if not all others who experienced this same issue eventually led to catastrophic failure of the transmission. I have also experienced the cold weather related issue where once drive is engaged, the check engine light and wrench light illuminate and the car just stumbles when the accelerator is depressed. Letting it run for about 10 to 15 minutes temporarily resolves the issue.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #230

Mar 132012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
Im not sure if these are two completely separate issues. Starting around 2012 the vehicle would lunge forward after coming to a complete stop and especially when the air conditioner is running. Now the cvt transmission has gone completely out an we are unable to drive it.

- Elkmont, AL, USA

problem #229

Mar 022015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 237,000 miles
When I am driving my car it will start to take off without me pushing down on the gas pedal. I am having issues when trying to put the car in reverse, the car will hesitate while driving in reverse. When putting the car in drive or reverse the car will jump.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #228

Dec 302014


  • 138,000 miles
Helicopter noise started in December 2014. You hear the whirling sound in park neutral and reverse- sounds fine in drive. Driving fine. No loss of power this vehicle gets driven about 100 miles a day. Last week had dealer look and tell me the torque converter about to break. Can only fix it with complete new tranny install. $6300!!! took it to independent transmission guy and tells me same thing with lower price. 2 hours later after I stopped car and went into store and started car up and the wrench was lit up on dash. No power. Revving really high. Bucking and undriveable. Got a code reader and code P042-hydraulic pressure unit came up let car sit for 30 mins then turned car on and wrench display gone! moved car out of road to safety and there it sits. Should I be fixing a car that cannot be guaranteed to never do this again as all cvt transmissions do this" how can Ford be ok with this" my vehicle is amazing and roomy and safe and I hate to think its ready for the junkyard at 140K. So disappointed with Ford. Please join me in hopes that Ford will step up to the plate and acknowledge this.

- Sanbornville, NH, USA

problem #227

Jun 092014


  • 155,000 miles
I was driving out of the driveway and onto a somewhat busy street. As I attempted to accelerate, I noticed I could not go any faster than about 10 mph despite being in a zone of approximately 35 mph. After traveling less than a mile at this speed, I turned around and return the car to the driveway. I then proceeded to have it towed to a repair shop, who reported this was a transmission issue. This repair shop asked for our permission to tow the vehicle to another shop who specializes in transmission issues. We agreed then later received word that the transmission was "shot" and the cost to repair would be in the area of approximately $4,500. When I looked up the value of the car on line, it was showing it's running value of approximately the same amount. The transmission repair shop stated that they were told by a local Ford dealer that the models of 2005 through 2007 Ford Freestyle's cvt type of transmission was the cause of the problem. They were also told that Ford didn't have sufficient inventory of parts to repair the transmission, and by the way there was no recall notice out on them since parts weren't available. I am now stuck with a car that will not run, nor can I sell or trade in as it has little to no value at this time. Ford needs to step up and take responsibility for this faulty designed cvt transmission's.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #226

Oct 092014


  • 126,120 miles
When changing gears from park to reverse or reverse to drive, the car will lurch forward or stall. While driving, the engine runs high and when slowing down to make a turn the car stalls.

- Three Rivers, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?