Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Oct 142015

Freestyle

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unable to start car immediately after filling gas tank. Also, upon stopping at light or turning a corner it feels like the gas is not going to the engine and I am unable to move forward. This forces me to pull over to the side of the road.. at the time I had the air conditioner on and now am told the compressor is bad. There is loud clicking (like the computer is 'thinking') coming from under the dash.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #29

Mar 132012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
Im not sure if these are two completely separate issues. Starting around 2012 the vehicle would lunge forward after coming to a complete stop and especially when the air conditioner is running. Now the cvt transmission has gone completely out an we are unable to drive it.

- Elkmont, AL, USA

problem #28

Jan 012015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
I got into my car, turned the key in the ignition and it started sounding like a helicopter. This noise happens while the vehicle is in park, neutral and while reversing. I have spoken with a transmission shop and have been told it is a known problem with the internal components of the transmission. It will cost around $6000 to fix. There is still plenty of life left in my car. No body or interior or damage/issues. I still have 2 years left on my loan. If Ford knows about this issue it should have been repaired. This is dangerous and now I am not able to drive my car for fear of getting hurt or being stranded.

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #27

Dec 052014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle will lurch forward when putting in forward gear. Vehicle stalled while driving and also when making turns in residential area. Almost hit another vehicle because the power steering went out.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #26

Apr 072012

Freestyle

  • 76,000 miles
When you slow down to stop, vehicle sometimes lunged, or accelerates. When you back out of a parking spot, vehicle sometimes suddenly lunged or accelerates.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #25

May 242013

Freestyle

  • 93,300 miles
First happened the day I bought the vehicle used with 93,000 miles. I was backing out of a parking space and the vehicle lunged. It also turned off. It did it twice in a row. Then no problems for another few hundred miles. It does it every tank or so of gas. Occasionally it will be accompanied with the wrench light. I brought it to a local auto shop when the light was on (pure luck because it turns off quickly after) and it coded something but then when the searched the code it came up as not matching my vehicle! I am bringing it to a dealership next week for service before a long road trip and hope to have the throttle body cleaned. From what I gather this is a known and widespread problem with this vehicle. I really wish they would recall it and fix it!

- Beaver Bay, MN, USA

problem #24

Jun 012013

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I have the car in park and am ready to reverse or drive forward, it seems like it wants to take off on its own before I even let go of the brake or give it gas. This can cause an accident to occur without me having an control over it. This is not safe!!

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #23

Sep 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 44,886 miles
I was on the freeway driving freeway speed in the middle lane when the engine stopped, I had no power. I was very lucky to be able to get to the freeway shoulder without an incident. After a few minutes, the engine started and back at freeway speed. A few miles later, the same happened. This continued for the next several hundred miles. Start, stop, start stop etc. Cost to replace fuel pump...$1000. Nov. 22, 2012 (two months later) @ 48200 miles, again on the freeway, the same happened. One hundred miles and four hours later I got to the repair shop. Another fuel pump, this time it was warranty by planet Ford here in spring, Texas. Nov. 2, 2012 at mileage 56023 another fuel pump failure. Ford said only the first pump fell under their warranty policy. I was told by a mechanic at Ford, I should try not to let the fuel tank get less than half full, the fuel in the tank keeps the pump cool. Another mechanic told me that because the drive shaft goes thru the tank, the tank is "split" and can cause the pump to overheat. Can you help? thanks.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #22

May 042012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The 2007 Freestyle which was built near the end of 2006. It was ok when first purchased as used back in 2008. But as time went on its throttle began to surge unexpectedly. Eventually it began to happen often enough for my wife and I to notice how it usually happens when the ac is on. It's particularly a problem while pulling in and out of parking spaces. Now it happens every single day beginning when the car is backed out of the garage. We have learned to keep our foot on the brake to stop the car from crashing into anything. To me the problem seems to be getting worse. But I don't drive it as often as does my wife. She says that the progression of the problem seems to have slowed down. But she says she has gotten used to compensating for it. The car also has difficulty starting occasionally. Maybe that is related to the surging throttle. But so far we have not noticed the starting problem correlating with anything in particular. The local Ford dealer says there is a recall to have the throttle body cleaned. That has been scheduled.

- Accord, NY, USA

problem #21

Jan 032011

Freestyle

  • 72,000 miles
While at a signal completely stopped, the vehicle motor revved and excelled acted forward. This caused the engine to die and all dash lights came on. The engine light stayed on after restarting. This has happened several time almost causing several accidents. We have had our transmission replaced because of it. The amount of times it happened and torque it produced caused damage in transmission. We have had several mechanics refuse to work on this issue because they say this model is know to do this and no one knows how to fix it. I am out $7000 and a unreliable car that is unsafe to put my wife and kids in. Ford has said they would look at it and would cost me another $5000, and we're not sure if they themselves could fix it. They are not sure what the issue is, but would be willing to research if I pay for it.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 032012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at a slow speed, my Ford Freestyle will lunge forward even while braking. I have jumped curbs because of this issue and feel that this problem should be addressed before it causes someone serious injury.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #19

Jun 262012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 114,684 miles
While stopped the vehicle will lunge either forward or backwards without engaging the gas pedal.

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #18

Jun 202012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 77,977 miles
Low speeds forward or reverse, here in Florida hot humid environment, car accelerates faster than foot pedal response.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my 2007 ff Dec of 2010. Three months after purchase, I noticed mild acceleration sometimes without applying my foot to the pedal. It became progressively worse by mid June. So much so that I contacted drivetime where I purchased the car & they gave me some transmission shop to take it to, only be told that it was normal for that particular transmission. Well, by 2012, the uninitiated acceleration has become so bad that a few months ago my car accelerated on its own & ran slam into the back of a lady's car causing more than $2000 worth of damage. I tried to explain to police that my car accelerated abruptly without me doing anything but slightly lifting my foot from the brake (never touching the gas). He didn't give me a ticket but said it was still my fault. My kids call the car a transformer but it is the worse trying to keep it from plunging forward or backward & hitting something or someone! I have to make absolute sure no one is around when I am in shopping lots because I am afraid when the car takes off backwards from parking spaces. I usually have to slam on brakes but then the car shuts off &on comes the engine light. Something has to be done about this dangerous problem with the Ford Freestyle!!!

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #16

Jul 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Not long after I purchased the 2007 Ford Freestyle, summer came and I was using the air conditioner a lot. I noticed that when the ac was running, especially at high, the car would "lurch" forward at low speeds (probably 5 mph or less ). when I was parking the car, rolling into a parking space, with my foot hovering over the brake pedal, as soon as I got to the proper spot, the car would "lurch". when I would back out of a parking space with my foot hovering above the brake, it would "lurch". this proved to be a scary situation many times as there were cars passing in the parking lot. Many times, I could have hit another car. Even in the drive through of fast food restaurants with other cars in line, many times I have almost hit the car in front of me. Many times, my car has "lurched" and stalled. The wrench light comes on, and if I don't turn the car all the way off in park, the car does not behave properly (as in no acceleration) nor does the wrench light go off. In the beginning, I thought it was something to do with the air conditioner being on high. The problem stopped in the winter when the ac wasn't being used. However, in the summer of 2011, it all started again. My ac went out, so I had it worked on. The problem continued. Today, the problem continues. I almost hit a child in a parking lot the other day because my car "lurched". I began searching and found that others are having the same scary problem with their Ford Freestyles. It sounds as if I am maybe lazy or not too concerned since I haven't had this checked earlier, but frankly, I don't have the money to spend on repairs, so I keep hoping it won't cause a disastrous situation. Please investigate this issue before it does become deadly.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #15

Jan 022012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 82,510 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle has been surging over the past year and a half. At first it was very intermittent. Now it is almost every time I use the car. I took it into the mechanic and he said that Ford is having issues with the cvt transmission. So far there as not been a recall. He said he can't fix it because he cannot get the parts. My car with lunge forward when I turn it on. It also will surge when I go into reverse. Today when I was dropping my youngest son at school it lunged forward in the area where children around. I had a difficult time controlling the car. It now is becoming a bigger safety issue. Why is Ford not recalling this car" it is not safe! what does it take to get this taken care of" my concern is someone is going be severely injured due to this problem. Before this issue I was very happy with my Freestyle. Now I am so scared. Ford please help!

- Felton, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 052010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 61,463 miles
We purchased this vehicle new 8/18/07 from palm coast Ford. In may or June 2010 I began noticing the car lunging when backing out of parking spots or once you have backed out and then placed into drive. I also encountered an issue with the car stalling if parked on an incline. On 7.5.10 the vehicle was left for several days with palm coast Ford for diagnostics and they claimed nothing was wrong with the car as they could not duplicate the "issues." As this "issue" did not seem appropriate I visited the daytona beach Ford dealership but this was not a documented visit as was the palm coast Ford visit. The daytona Ford service manager indicated it was a just the way the car was designed to prevent stalling when backing up or pulling forward. So I lived with this problem hoping that it wouldn't lunge and hit someone in a parking lot. My brother finally rode with me and said this is not correct so I took the vehicle to a non-Ford repair shop who recommended a tune-up be accomplished. This occurred Oct. 25, 2011 and corrected the problem. However, now whatever they accomplished with the tune-up is now wearing off as the vehicle has begun it's lunging problem again in the past few weeks. That's when I researched and found these incident reports so I want to report my problem to help you document there is definitely something going on with this make/model car. I like my Freestyle but there's definitely an issue with the lunging situation.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 012011

Freestyle

  • miles
We have owned this car for just over a year. For several months now, we have been having problems with the car surging/lunging. It happens without any notice, and you have to slam on the brakes to stop it. Initially, I only noticed the problem when pulling into a parking space. The vehicle would lunge forward. In the last couple of months it has started lunging backward and forward, regardless of how fast I was going (pulling in, backing up, or driving down the highway at a steady speed.) once, the car lunged as I was backing up and hit another car. Minor damage. Not reported. It is starting to happen more often, and the car has also begun dying if it happens whole backing up. Turning the car off and restarting it solves that. I've had to start parking further back in spots because I don't want to hit the car in front of me. This has indirectly caused cosmetic damage (coming out of a store twice I've noticed scrapes that look like someone backed into me.) I don't understand how this can be such a widely reported and potentially dangerous problem without a recall or even acknowledgement of the issue (if you call Ford.) my car has lunged forward at red lights and stop signs toward oncoming traffic, as well as driveways with children nearby. It may only be a few feet, but even that can be deadly considering when the problem occurs most.

- Starkville, MS, USA

problem #12

Sep 062012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,642 miles
I had left the vehicle idling in park while I went to check the mailbox. When I gotback I shifted into reverse and when I took my foot off the brake the vehicle lunged back almost striking a pedestrian I have complained about this before and I notice the investigation has been open since May 2011 I have also noticed there have been alot of complaints about this problem on the web. Just an fyi it seems to lunge when taking off in forward or reverse. I also noticed there is a class action suit against Ford for this problem in California.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #11

Aug 042012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 58,800 miles
I was going to pull out into a 4 lane road and was easing up to see better...out of nowhere the car begins to accelerating. Once I got out into the road the car just cut off and I had to quickly restart it to avoid being hit. Then I turned in to chic fil a and was in the drive thru line. It was a pretty long line so we would ease up ever few minutes. The car jumps and starts to accelerating and I stomp on the brakes. The car was accelerating so much that the force of the brakes stopping the car made my tires squeal.

- Madison, GA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?