Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,523 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Mar 142014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started to experience engine surge problem that is apparently pretty common. Mostly occurs when accelerating from stopped position. Also check engine light came on. Checked code at Napa store. P0109 indicating fuel rail pressure sensor. Local mechanic claimed it to be a fuel filter problem. Had mechanic change filter, problem resolved for very short time period. About month later same problem and engine code. Replaced fuel sensor myself. Problem returned 2 days later without engine code. From my research on this site and others found out about customer satisfaction program 12N03. Called local dealer to look into having vehicle checked. Was informed by service operator that my VIN does not qualify but they would let me pay $150 dollars to check out problem. I am thinking I will exercise my free will to get rid of this vehicle for a Kia or Hyundai model that I can trust.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #41

Nov 082010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,900 miles
Vehicle had surging problem I all most got hit, and I was so afraid couldn't drive home my husband had to come get me, I reported this problem before, I paid to have throttle fixed at Ford some people getting their money back but I haven't heard anything, now the cvt transmission has gone out this is really sad I paid 32,000 in 2007 for this car now its worth 1,000 and I still owe 5,000.,transmission stop in the street with me in it had car pulled to Ford that how I found out its worth 1,000, I am retired its taking all my money, I still have my receipts went to doug stanley Ford 515 North I-35, desoto, tx 972 223-8050 July 28,2011 invoice [xxx],customer #[xxx] (please help me)I am on the city bus, with a car at home I cant do anything with. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #40

Dec 202012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 63,989 miles
12/20/12- veh idles high and wants to accelerate when braking as advised by a recall and Ford dealer stacher cleaned the throttle body and reprogrammed the PCM.program code; 12N03 repair type-31 wrty claim. Customer code A99. 4/25/13---veh is shutting off while driving. Had new throttle body put on at Firestone. Car cut off and stalled a few times. Firestone reinstalled old throttle body and when we took the van back to Ford dealer and they again verified concern and performed ids diagnosis, code po613B, secure map sensor hose and road tested 26 miles. Did not stall, stated it may have other issue. Invoice cost $93 4/30/13----veh shut off 4 or 5 times. Satcher dealer drove van and could not duplicate problem. 4/31/13 received car from dealer and after duplicating problem returned car back to dealer. 5/2-3/13 - rented enterprise vehicle. Invoice cost $98+. 5/07/13 advised to come get the car after 10 days without loaner car. No paperwork given although requested. When called and asked for paperwork advised there was none. When asked of work performed they said they reprogrammed PCM. 5/26/13 car stopped again several times and when taken back to the same dealer they hooked it to an onboard computer. Car driven for 5 weeks without it stopping again. 7/17/13 - dealer requires computer back and was taken off the car. Situation is dangerous because acceleration is unpredictable and engine power shuts down at any time..

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #39

Jun 282013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After starting the 2007 Ford Freestyle it idols about 1000rpms. Upon putting it into drive or reverse when you lift off the brake the car will rev up the engine to about 2000rpms and speed forward or backward. This rev of the engine last approximately 1 second and then the car returns to normal idol speed. This creates a dangerous situation in which if you do not anticipate the acceleration you could have an accident.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #38

Apr 012013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle lurches forward or backwards at idle speed.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #37

Jun 082011

Freestyle

  • 69,900 miles
On the date shown, while driving in a funeral procession and entering the cemetery my vehicle started to lurch, lunge and bucking. Tried to give it gas but didn't respond. I then shut the vehicle off and when I started upon leaving the cemetery the vehicle started this again. I drove to the dealership and the maintenance person told me that this was being caused by a sensor and that I could shut the vehicle down and restart after a few minutes. This seemed to work for a while then the same problems kept occurring. This was mentioned a number of times to the dealer with the same explanation. I think that this problem has now created another in the the transmission on the vehicle is gone.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #36

Oct 012011

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased the 2007 Ford Freestyle only one month ago from a dealer in blair Nebraska who certified that there were no problems with the vehicle purchased. We have not owned this vehicle for more than a month. While driving today with the family (children included) down the freeway the vehicle stopped accelerating in the center of heavy traffic. Lucky no accident was caused! the vehicle started lurching and then would not go over 25 mph. We are understanding that there are several complaints about this vehicle performing the same way with many others in class action and forums.

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #35

Jul 262011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 30,600 miles
At a slow speed in either forward or reverse when I put my foot on the brake the engine speeds up and the car lunges forward or backwards and I have to hit the brake hard to stop it. This has happened several times and seems to be happening more often now. A couple of times the engine seeded up while the car was in park I see where Ford brushes the problem off as being minor.I think this is a dangerous thing and should be corrected. If it happens while you are parallel parking it can cause an accident. Also when backing out of a parking space you could get into an accident. With over 200 complaints I think something should be done before someone is seriously injured from this defect by Ford.

- Geneva, NY, USA

problem #34

Jul 122011

Freestyle

  • 66,673 miles
At first occurrence, I was pulling into a parking space. As I took my foot off the gas and placed it on the brake my car lurched forward unexpectedly. This unexpected lurching has increased in frequency and happens both in drive and reverse. There have also been incidents when the car is in park and it revs, as if I am pushing on the gas pedal. It will rev like that and idle down a few times and then the engine will stall.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #33

Aug 282011

Freestyle

  • 69,000 miles
2007 AWD Ford Freestyle. Lunges forward, revs up on it's own, completely stalls out. Have learned it is the throttle body. Ford knows about this and there is no recall. Why" this is very dangerous to anyone driving this car. There is a facebook page dedicated to people in my position. Cars stalling out on highway, on railroad tracks. Mine died in an intersection. The problem is much worse when hot out and air conditioning is on high. Why isn't Ford doing anything about this? who has over $1,000 to fix this problem? why is our safety not important enough to recall this car"

- Ottawa, IL, USA

problem #32

Jul 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford Freestyle has 87,000 miles. Until recently, it has been a terrific car. However, it now has had intermittent problems that (according to the code) are linked to the throttle body. The transmission and engine lights come on. The accelerator doesn't work, and then it lunges unexpectedly. After researching online, I found hundreds of others are having this issue.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #31

Aug 092011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 48,469 miles
Lunging & cutting off. Vehicle would occasionally lunge & required braking to keep it stationary. Begin cutting off recently. Would restart, run a few minutes and cut off again. Carried to Ford dealer on 02/09/11 and problem was diagnosed as a malfunctioning fuel system throttle body.

- Danville, VA, USA

problem #30

Jul 172011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 51,558 miles
I was beginning backing up my wifes' 2007 Ford Freestyle in the harris teeter parking lot on 07/17/2011 when the vehicle suddenly accerlated and I had to hit the brakes hard to avoid loss of control. The vehicle stalled. I restarted the vehicle, put it in reverse and it accelerated suddenly again, I braked and it stalled again. I was far enough out of the parking spot to go forward by this point. I put the vehicle in drive and went forward out of the parking lot. Now I had acceleration problems as the engine did not accelerate properly- I couldn't get the motor past 3000 RPM. I called the local Ford dealer on the following Monday, scheduled a repair appointment and took the vehicle in for repair. The dealer replaced the throttle body assembly at a total cost of $792.16. The vehicle is again driving properly. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #29

Jul 232010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Since 2007 when I bought my Ford Freestyle, I have had it into the Ford dealer numerous (approx 10) times for investigation of the lunging forward issues as well as slow throttle response after long idle times. I have had several incident's where I have almost hit parked cars in parking lots, stalls in the middle of intersection. Each time that the vehicle was taken in the common response was "we do not find a problem at this time". in the spring of 2009 it was found that the throttle body was bad and was replaced in late summer 2009 after waiting 5 months for the part, due to a national back order of the part. Prior to having the throttle-body replaced, one of the two scenarios would happen 1-2 times a week and more frequent at 3-5 times per week just before the throttle-body was replaced. On 7/24/2011 the car lunged forward once again and then accelerated rapidly forcing me to press the brake harshly until I could get the car in neutral and shut off. This incident almost caused my to crash into the back end of a semi-trailer before I could get it shut down. At this time I have not suffered any personal injury, but have come very close to causing damage to other's property (vehicles) due to the nature of this problem. Although the throttle -body was replaced, the issue is still present in my case and I am requesting that further investigation be performed before serious injuries or death is incurred. I have noticed that these issues seem to be happening in hot and extremely hot conditions outside and have yet to experience these issues during the cooler months.

- Orrick, MO, USA

problem #28

Jul 232011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle lurches at idle. It also cuts off when the air conditioning is running and I turn the wheel sharply.

- Tega Cay, SC, USA

problem #27

Jan 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle lunges at low speeds when foot is not on gas pedal. Investigations point to throttle body needs replacing.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #26

Jan 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Our2007 Ford Freestyle is doing something exactly as described by many other owners on the internet. Not every time, but intermittently, when you put the car in drive or reverse the engine revs and the car surges a few feet. More often than not when it does this our foot will be on the brake. Initially I thought I must have had part of my foot on the accelerator. I now know for sure that no part of my foot is on the accelerator when this is happening. We are having to be very careful when driving the car, because of this dangerous situation. If you don't have your foot hard on the brake when putting it into gear, and if there was a person or a vehicle in front or behind you, you would hit them. Initially it may only happen once or twice a month, but now it is happening more frequently. When we first brought it to a Ford dealership they said they had no idea why this was happening. Now that our extended warranty has expired, we are just finding out that there are many other people out there with the same dangerous problem happening. I have read that it is because of a faulty throttle body unit. I am working with a new dealership to try to get it fixed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 022011

Freestyle

  • 52,000 miles
The car leaped forward unexpectedly while pulling up to a stop sign. This happened on 7/02/2011 for the first time. We had this occur several more times in the next few days, always while stopping or parking the car. In one instance the car would of struck a light pole, had there not been a curb there. This seems to occur whether the car is cold or has run for awhile. We are now having to drive this car like it may leap forward at anytime. Ford needs to get this taken care of before some is seriously injured.

- Nashville, IL, USA

problem #24

Jul 112011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 97,980 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle has been having an issue with lurching forward when the brakes are applied. Several close misses of rearending someone due to this issue. Ford needs to investigate and recall these vehicles. It is an safety issue and Ford has known about it for sometime.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #23

Jul 092011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
My vehicle lurches when idling and jumps in RPM unexpectedly after slowing which if you are not on the brakes causes the vehicle to move uncontrollably and rapidly.

- Moore, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?