Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
122,071 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jun 152016

Windstar

  • 111,759 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While driving at any speed, an unusual noise was heard underneath the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed that the frame underneath the front end of the vehicle was badly rusted and was considered unsafe to drive. The technician informed the contact that the noise was coming from parts of the frame that were fractured. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 111,759. The VIN was unavailable.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #23

Jul 022014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 236,000 miles
While backing out of my driveway the subframe fell out of my vehicle causing the throttle body to open all the way dropped out of reverse and went into drive lost steering, lost brakes jammed vehicle into park to stop 1 foot from telephone pole. Had vehicle towed to Ford took 1 week to here anything from them, was told I could not have a rental or loaner vehicle while they had my car. Called Ford customer service line was told I could only get rental car for 1 day for subframe and 1 day for rear axle recall, as of 7/14 2014 was told I would maybe have my vehicle back by next week after Ford evaluated my car for repairs. I did not receive a phone call from Ford dealer until 7/14/2014.

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #22

Mar 112013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Stopped to get my oil changed, they showed me where the entire right front subframe has rusted away making my Windstar unsafe to drive. I looked online and found this is an ongoing problem with this model with of these having the same problem with the passenger side right front. This can cause you to loose steering control or in an extreme the engine to fall out going down the highway, Ford recalled the same problem on the rear axel, ,why not fix the front also. I live in arkansan but bought the windstorm from a person in Missouri where I see Ford list as a state with a rust problem but doing nothing to fix it.

- Clinton, AR, USA

problem #21

Jan 102013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 191,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear axle, is rusted and snapped literally right in half while driving with my two young children! we were lucky enough not to have been seriously hurt or in an accident!

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #20

Oct 292012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
Just 18-months after the Ford Windstar safety recall repairs were completed, the front sub-frame of my 2001 Ford Windstar cracked resulting in loss of stability. The vehicle was taken to the Ford dealership in midland Michigan. It was deemed unsafe to drive by the Ford dealership service manager and repair technician.

- Mattawan, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 282012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields) and took the vehicle to the dealer for recall service. The contact stated that unbeknownst to him, the recall repair was not fully completed and the vehicle was still unsafe to drive due to the sub-frame being completely rusted. The president of the company and the board of directors were informed of the failure. A letter was mailed to the contact advising that they would not assist with the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 85,000. The consumer stated the dealer repaired only part of the front sub-frame, they did not replace it. The consumer later learned Ford's instruction was to perform cosmetic repair of the corrosive damage on the front sub-frame. Six months later, when the consumer took the vehicle to a local service station for an oil change, he was informed the sub-frame mount was completely rotted out. The consumer was informed by letter, after writing to Ford, they would not honor any new repairs. Updated 02/11/13

- Norwood, NJ, USA

problem #18

Jul 132012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

7/21/2011 bought van from private party. Recall completed in March of 2011 regarding back axle. On 7/13/2012 8pm, my 18yr old son, while driving home from lacrosse practice, nearly killed. Upon pulling out onto the main road, he lost all controls, no steering, no brakes and no power. He coasted and prayed it would stop. I arrived, we called aaa. Flatbed to my home driver could not believe his eyes. The engine had fallen out. 7/16/12 called Ford in mich and spoke to rep. To be towed 13 miles away to route 23 auto at our expense. Really? route23 wanted nothing to do with me (they did recall). Went back and forth then per RT23 "it will be a month until we can look at it" getting know where. 7/18-22 borrowed friend car for tournament. 8/1/12 called magarino Ford and with great concern had a flatbed that night. This tow truck driver could not believe it. Fluids raced out and double stabilized for engine sliding during Transport. 8/2/12 magarino called 9am, pictures sent to Ford and awaiting reply. 8/5/12 T/C from M stating Ford refuses to buy back and sending a subframe. You mean a recalled one" magarino caught in middle I questioned whether he would put his children in this van. He softly replied, "no" what am I to do, out of work 2 years, single parent with no car to find work. 8/8/12 I questioned Ford why this van ever left rt 23 auto, according to researched paper a part was waiting on. You mean to tell me that upon this fixed axle nobody noticed the subframe was rotted from inside out causing the engine to fall out the next summer nearly killing my son! but they signed it was fine! really" now we have case # 1373091992 8/10/12 picked up van. Broke= A/C, R-window, heater engine, airbag, brake light on, runs hot steering= thumps makes noise (full fluid) skip gears, sways, barely can get up a hill. 11yr old scared to drive in

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #17

May 312012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 1,217,329 miles
When driving the front end of my van would start shaking at 54mph. Took it in to my mechanic julyof 2012 told me my subframe was bad.Ford recalled my van in Jan of 2011 had it for four months recall on subframe and rear axle was completed in may of 2011 contacted Ford they will not help me.

- Chagrin Falls , OH, USA

problem #16

Aug 162012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 86,604 miles
Making a left turn, heard a loud bang. The sway bar link came loose attached to a chunk of rusted metal from the subframe. The sway bar and link are fine. It is a part of the subframe where it attaches to that came off. There is no way to reattach the sway bar as the whole section where it attaches to subframe is rusted. Called Ford dealer in ithaca, this is not covered by their recalls.

- Ithaca , NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 082012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
On Sunday July 8th, 2012 I was driving my 2001 Ford Windstar I stopped at a light and as the light changed I began driving and then heard a loud noise, my wheels began to squeel and pull all over and my van came to a complete stop in the road and would not move.. the front passenger side wheel was turned outward but my wheel was straight. Thank god I was not on an expressway or highway with all my kids in the vehicle.. I called a tow truck the driver inspected it and said something underneath the front frame had snapped off.. so today I had it towed into a Ford dealer to find out it is a new recall how can these Windstar vans have so many frame and axle issues and be safe to drive exspecially with all these brackets they are having to put on them for the recalls.. if I was on an expressway me and my son would of been hurt badly if not killed.. not to mention if I would of hit someone else I could of injured others too..I will never trust another Windstar with my family this is crazy.. it is the subframe front lower control arm rear attaching flages completely broke/snapped off while I was driving down a basic 40 mph road..when it broke it messed up the underneath of my vehicle it ripped the drive shaft right out of the transmission.. and who knows what else is damaged now.. people need to know about this now before someone is seriously hurt..

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle has been ruining every front tire put on it ever since the recall front subframe work was done on it by Ford in 9/2011 and it has been through 2 sets of front tires in the last 4,500 miles since the work was done. Ford does not acknowledge any responsibility and the last dealer who looked at it told me I needed tires. No kidding. The last time I took it to Firestone to get tires, they told me they wouldn't touch it and that I needed to take it to a body shop; the specs were so off. The dealer that did the original work redocumented the car's problems 3 times but the manufacturer refused to buy it back and they did the work on it the best they could and this is what I am left with: An unsafe vehicle. I had a blow out on interstate 95 on christmas eve that could have taken my life and another blow out since then at a slower speed (thank god!) I need help nailing Ford to the wall on this and making them be responsible for risking my safety and I am sure that I am not the only one. I wonder if other people have been hurt or lost their lives over this"? over a few dollars?" Ford needs to be made to admit they did not protect their customers properly. I wonder if it all comes down to avoiding liability for people that have been injured. Please help me.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 222011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to Ford recall #11S16 involving the subframe lower control are due to rust/corrosion the consumer was informed by his mechanic, that the steering issues he was experiencing were related to the subframe recall. Subframe brackets were installed at that time. However, while driving, the consumer heard a knocking sound coming from the right front passenger side of the vehicle, whenever there was a bump in the road. The consumer returned to his mechanic and was told the problem was still due to the subframe issue. The consumer stated the mechanic was surprised that the dealer had repaired the problem with a kit, instead of replacing the subframe. The consumer returned to the dealer and was informed the problem was with the sway bar, which had disconnected from the subframe, but it could not be repaired unless the rusted subframe was replaced at a cost of $ $2,781. The dealer sent Ford pictures of the subframe, but they refused to replace it at their expense.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #12

Feb 232010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle was purchased in November 2009. I first began having problems with the ABS/brake light coming on, in February 2010. The next incident was the power windows on drivers side and back window would not role down. The next incident was the heater wont work. A recall and repair was done on the rear subframe 11S16 in April of 2010.vehicle repair was not complete now taking in for front under carriage repair on wed 21,2012.

- Liberty, IL, USA

problem #11

Apr 142011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
My 2001 Ford Windstar was repaired at valley Ford in valley view Ohio on 4/14/2011 under recall #20287. I had the van in for an unrelated matter on 12/07/2011 at that time I was informed by my mechanic that the sub-frame was rusted through. After contacting Ford's national service center I took the van to valley Ford. They inspected it and confirmed that the sub-frame was rusted through. They forwarded their finding to Ford Motor Co. And Ford Motor Co. Was not willing to address the issue with the sub-frame. I believe this issue should have been addressed under the initial recall. Since at least April of 2011 any time my children, myself, or anyone else rode in the vehicle it was subject to a catastrophic failure of the sub-frame which could have caused serious or fatal injury to the occupants or others.

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #10

Nov 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to recalls the consumer stated he received a postcard in the mail advising him to see his local dealer regarding two recalls. However, when he arrived at the dealer, they informed him the recalls had already been done. The consumer stated the problems are present in his vehicle.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 242009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Before Ford recalled for this problem, my rear axle broke in half at 65 mph on the highway resulting in loss of control and fumes filling the car from tires rubbing against wheel wells. In March of 2011 Ford recalled and reinforced the subframe. Inspection is now due on my vehicle and my mechanic will not pass it due to the installment of the recalled reinforcement. Reportedly the installation was performed and attached to an equally as corroded part and failure is once again imminent. I returned the vehicle to the Ford dealer that made the recall repair and was told that it is indeed safe. I am now stuck with a potential repair bill of $700 that will not fix the problem due to the model year parts having the same issues, or just driving the vehicle until failure occurs (again) and going back to Ford with a lawsuit as I cannot in good conscience sell this vehicle to anyone else.

- Avoca, NY, USA

problem #8

Sep 012011

Windstar

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to recall for sub frame rusting the consumer stated the dealer reinforced the bracket. However, they claimed the bracket that rusted holding the sway bar was not covered by the recall, which caused the vehicle to sway in the wind.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #7

Sep 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to defective front end the consumer stated two recalls were issued and for the past year, he has been unsuccessful at getting his vehicle inspected. The consumer was informed by several dealers, they were not performing any recalls.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #6

May 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact heard a banging noise coming from the front subframe on the vehicle and it began to shake between 50 and 55 mph. The dealer confirmed that the subframe was covered with rust. The manufacturer advised the contact that his vehicle was not included in recall number: 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields) and offered no other assistance. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 99,000. The failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 05/26/11 the dealer placed two brackets on the front frame. However, they stated the repair can fail at anytime. Updated 05/31/11

- Pewksbury, MA, USA

problem #5

Mar 012011

Windstar

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle recall the consumer stated she took the vehicle to the dealer because she received a recall letter in the mail. The dealer inspected the vehicle and informed her she would receive another letter in the mail stating when to return with the vehicle. The consumer stated she has not received a letter. The consumer stated the vehicle is emitting gas fumes.. updated 04/26/11

- Spencer, WV, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?