Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
111,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #127

Nov 262010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Windstar rear axle recall. I brought my van in for inspection for the rear axle recall (1os13) the Ford dealership condemned the vehicle and I was provided with a rental car. Ford has no parts to fix this concern and also has no timetable when this will be resolved. This is unacceptable to me and Ford needs to stand behind there products and show loyalty to there customers.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #126

Oct 312010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar SE: May 4, 2010, backing out of driveway, loud noise, could not drive car. Driver's side rear axle fractured, car towed to mechanic who repaired and reinforced said fracture by welding. August 2010, Ford announces recall of Windstar, issues letters to affected owners late September, 2010. Received Ford recall notice during the week of October 18, 2010. Sunday, October 31, 2010, while driving on side road (5 passengers, plus driver) same loud noise, car immobilized. Passenger side rear axle fractured. Passengers left stranded. Car towed first to residence then to dealership on Monday am. Told by dealer that car would not be repaired until January or February, 2011 (at the earliest) as no parts available.

- Rockland, MA, USA

problem #125

Nov 162010

Windstar

  • 115,800 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that he received a recall letter 10V385000, suspension:rear:axle:non-powered axle assembly and took his vehicle in for the recall on 10/29/2010. The dealer inspected the vehicle and offered him no assistance. While driving approximately 35 mph the rear left trailing arm broke on November 16, 2010. He drove the vehicle into a parking area and later had it towed to an authorized dealer. The dealer advised him that he needed to make some phone calls and would call him back. The dealer later advised him that the part that failed was not under the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired and remained in the dealers possession. He called the manufacturer on 11/18/2010 and was advised of the same information provided by the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 115,800.

- Strafford, MO, USA

problem #124

Nov 012010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford co. Is causing undue hardship in our attempt to get safety recall completed. We have one car, so made appt. W/ local dealer (1/2 hr away) & got confirmation # for recall 10S13 on a day both of us had off work. Had to get someone to follow (1 hr drive) to bring us back. Dealer would not honor appt. And told us to make another one in 3 - 4 wks. I E-mailed Ford co.detailing poor service we had and the difficulty this created for us. Recv'd response 2 days later that they are working on it. One week later, still not heard from Ford co and was concerned about our safety, so I called and explained dilemma to cust serv rep. She tried to get us an appt w/ a dealer 40 mins away, but she was not able. After waiting 20 mins. I had to go back to work, so I called Ford co. That night and this cust. Serv rep tried to get us appt. W/ different dealer who was 1 hr. Away, but they could not look at it. I was then disconnected, so called right back. Another rep said we could go to a dealer in S.C. I don't think it is reasonable to require us to travel long distances for their bad product. Again, we have one car, so have to ask someone to follow us to dealer. We work retail (christmas season) so cannot request special time off. We have made five attempts and gone far beyond the call of duty to have this recall done. Ford needs to do their part and provide customer service for the safety of their customers.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #123

Nov 012009

Windstar

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle would have to be held by the dealer for months for recall 10V385000 (suspension: Rear: Axle: Non-powered axle assembly). The contact stated that the manufacturer provided a rental vehicle but it was not comparable to the vehicle being repaired. The contact believed that the repair was going to take too long. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #122

Aug 102010

Windstar

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact waited for the manufacturer to perform the recall repair for three months. The vehicle crashed into another vehicle due to the faulty rear axle. The driver suffered injuries due to the crash. The dealer found a crack in the axle and advised her to call the manufacturer. The manufacturer stated that they would call give her a call when they determined the repair process or they would buy the vehicle back. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Fonddulac, WI, USA

problem #121

Oct 262010

Windstar

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Ford Windstar rear axle cracked in half yesterday 10-26-10 while I was driving. I received the recall from Ford on 10-23-10. These vans need to taken off the road not just told to bring them in to get checked. This was extremely dangerous for me and I thank god my children were not in the van when this happened. I wonder how many people will have to dir before realizes how serious this problem is. The dealership has my van which they will keep until parts come which I;M being told is maybe sometime in January. Ford has given me a rental that is a four passenger car which is must smaller than my 7 passenger, but I will have to deal with that. I hope the NHTSA can do more to get these vehicles off the road because this problem is only going to get worse before it gets better. Maybe the top executives should put their families in a Windstar when the axle cracks in half so they can understand the danger of this problem.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #120

Oct 122010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Occurrence: 12 October 2010. Traveling I-95 Washington, DC/suitland, md. Vehicle: Ford Windstar, 2001. Speed : 60-65 mph. Traffic : dense. Failure of defective part : rear axle snapped in two parts while traveling on smooth highway, northbound. Explosive sound, lots of smoke, extreme consternation/fear of heart attack experienced by my wife and I ( my wife has a dangerous heart condition "ihss") at occurrence. I immediately turned on hazard flashers. Managed to maneuver across several lanes of traffic to get to highway shoulder safely!! thank god for the alert fellow travelers behind us!!! if we were hit by any 18-wheelers on the highway, I wouldn't be writing this complaint now!!! concern for our safety was shown to us by fellow travelers; particularly, md traffic safety person, who should be commended by his superiors for his professional and understanding actions!! he looked at the damage and said that he had never seen anything like it before; and he said that we were lucky to be alive!!! van was transported by professionals to the nearest Ford dealership where I first became aware that a recall notice was in force for my vehicle!!! at this point, I became greatly disturbed that I had no previous notification of this dangerous condition and that my wife, grand children, etal were traveling in potential rolling coffin! in my opinion, this seems to be criminal; particularly if greater profit motives might be involved! I certainly hope that inferior materials were not used in this regard!! I was informed that my van would have to remain at the Ford dealership until Ford Motor Company decides how I will be provided with a safe vehicle, since no replacement axles were available. (nb ; I have no idea whatever other damage exists as a result of this awful failure! I certainly don't want a duplicate axle replacement to replay this horrific catastrophe! in my wife's delicate condition, I cannot expect her to travel in this unsafe vehicle! justice!!!

- Ramsey, NJ, USA

problem #119

Oct 252010

Windstar

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The vehicle was included in recall 10V385000 (suspension: Rear: Axle: Non-powered axle assembly). When he spoke with the dealer, he was informed that parts would not be available for the repair for five months. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 111,000.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #118

Jul 102010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
I own a 2001 Ford Windstar SE. In July 2010 I noticed two cracks in the rear axle. Manufacturer warranty has expired on this vehicle. I had the cracks repaired (welded).

- Woodstock, IL, USA

problem #117

Feb 122009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Ford Windstar has broken through 2 rear axles! also the interior lights blink on and off as I am driving and sometimes come on and stay on and while turned off will sometimes drain the battery and the headlights and hazard lights will blink on and off and the horn will beep. Also at times my power windows will not function.

- Brockway, PA, USA

problem #116

Sep 182010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
I was driving down I-75 in toledo Ohio at 70 mph when my rear axle broke in half on my 2001 Ford Windstar minivan. Lost control but was able to not hit anyone or roll over. I have had no help from Ford and nothing but a run around from them help!!! I have 4 children and no transportation. My eldest daughter has no busing in our county so I have to Transport both ways and no vehicle. No way to get groceries or dr. Appts. Ford promised me a rental but 9 days have gone by and no help. What do I do? they are telling me it will be over three months before I can have my van repaired.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #115

Sep 042010

Windstar

  • 95,000 miles
Sept 4, 2010, approx 5 pm on interstate 80 in heavy traffic in altoona, Iowa my 2001 Ford Windstar rear axle snapped in 2 and we miraculously cut across several lanes of traffic onto the shoulder. I truly thought this was going to be the end of our lives. We were not injured. The highway patrol got us off the interstate and my van is now sitting in a junk yard. The axle is completely severed and my tires are lying flat. We could have gotten killed because Ford neglected to inform me of this life threatening defect. Waiting until Sept 27 to start sending recall notices may be too late to some victims. God took the wheel this time. I will not ever drive that van again. My children are traumatized as so am I.

- Red Oak, IA, USA

problem #114

Aug 272010

Windstar

  • miles
I drive a 2001 Ford Windstar and was relieved to find out there has been a recall on the rear axle for this vehicle. I have been driving a ticking time bomb since May 2010 the tire pressure light came on the same day I drove the car off the lot and I have replaced four rear tires since. Not until I had my mechanic come and lift the vehicle up to see why I could not control the vehicle coming to work one morning did I realize the severity of the matter only after my 17 year old daughter was driving it the day before to run errands. Scary how the life of my child could have been lost because of such negligence. The van now sits at my job and is undriveable, and I found out the state I live in is not under this recall. What exactly will it take to realize the Windstar is a hazard. I will fight to get this state added to the recall list, do what I need to do, talk to whom ever will listen.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #113

Aug 272010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Rear axle fractured while driving my Ford Windstar 2001. As a result I lost control of the vehicle.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #112

May 052010

Windstar

  • 10,800 miles
Alex.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #111

Jul 132009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 164,529 miles
2001 Ford Windstar vehicle seemed to have a suspension problem with a lot of bouncing. Rear axle failure that needed replacement at 164000 miles. 7/13/09 $868.90 axle tube and hooks replaced.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #110

Aug 282010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 157,000 miles
I own a 2001 Ford Windstar LX I was driving down the expressway at 55mph when the rear of the van start to sway and pull eratically I pulled off the side of the expressway and found that the rear axle on my van had cracked in half.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #109

May 152010

Windstar

  • 83,807 miles
1. vibration in steering wheel. 2. rear axel broke in 2 places on the New Jersey turnpike. The car veered uncontrollably almost causing a serious accident. 3. the car was towed 90 miles to our local service station where axel was replaced with a used part.

- St Davids, PA, USA

problem #108

Aug 242010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Own a 2001 Ford Windstar minivan. On Tuesday, 8/24, I was driving from rhinebeck NY to yonkers, NY, mostly along the taconic parkway. This parkway has many potholes due to the grates sinking over the course of a year and it is very hard to avoid many of these grates because of their location along the right edge of the right lane. After driving along this route for a while (not sure how long) the van started to squeak on some turns and there was a smell of burning rubber that came and went. There were no problems managing the car or continuing to drive and there was no problem breaking. Because of the late hour (we arrived home at 9 pm) I opted to keep moving to get home and not stop along the road. The squeaking was mostly when I made right turns - I could not tell when/or why the smell would return. Upon returning home I pulled into the driveway and there was a sort of 'clunk' as I parked. Next morning I went out to see the van and noticed the rear wheels were no longer parallel. I have multiple sclerosis so I did not get down to look at anything and there was no immediate need for car so waited for my husband to come home. He looked at the rear undercarriage and told me the axle was cracked. He was able to get it to a nearby mechanic who was surprised I was able to get home with it and asked about what I 'hit'. I did not hit anything except potholes and was not driving above legal limit of 55 mph (too dark and area known to have deer crossing so would not risk going over limit). It is currently in for repair now. Also we have not had any accidents with this vehicle prior to this date and it has reasonably low mileage on it for its age.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?