Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
160,856 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Windstar brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 3 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #175

Aug 042014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


Approx., a year ago my ABS module went bad and I had it checked by a mechanic to verify that fact. Just recently my speed control deactivation switch went bad and leaked, . now I found out there is a connection between both the switch and the ABS bad module. Ford does not have a recall on the ABS system, but they do on the above switch. Very possibly the high cost of the module has kept them from having a recall!!! I have read complaints about the same problem from another Ford van owner. Also the switch was changed approx. 5 years ago and it went bad again.( per a Ford recall then) there should be a definite recall on Windstar van ABS systems and as a safety issue---Ford should replace the switch and wire harness again!..updated 08/12/14

- Charles City, IA, USA

problem #174

Jan 282014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
The ABS light and the brake light will frequently light up on the dash. If I am able to pull over and cut the car off, the lights will occasionally not come back on when I start the car again. However, if they don't come back on, I have no idea if they will stay off or if/when they might come back on. If I am unable to pull over, the lights will stay on for the duration of the ride. I have no idea if this is doing damage to the brakes or if it is just some sort of electrical short.

- Atoka, TN, USA

problem #173

Apr 142014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 230,950 miles
While driving the ABS light comes on an the emergency brake light come an stay on.

- Marrietta, GA, USA

problem #172

Jul 242014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 65,870 miles


ABS sensor and brake dash lights would repeatedly flash on and go off intermittently. Took it to the local Ford dealership and was told the ABS sensor and ECU are failing and need to be replaced.

- Hartville, OH, USA

problem #171

Jul 082004

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 15,460 miles
ABS and brake light on continuously.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #170

Jul 212014


  • 190,000 miles
ABS lights came on out of nowhere when nothing is wrong with the brakes.

- Louisbug, NC, USA

problem #169

Jul 012014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles


Loved my Windstar then all of a sudden my dashboard lit up like a christmas tree. Odd thing is that it is July" first fuse #10 blew, we replaced it N it blew again. After about 6 fuses we just dealt with it. Chalked it up to it being a 2002. Then the brake light started coming on and off randomly. Odd because there is no rhyme or reason to this. It can be on, I can shut my van off to get lunch and boom its off when I come back out. Again I chalked it up to being a 2002. The final straw is this ABS light. It is on, it is off, it is on, it is still on. I swear this van is possessed and I do not even believe in that stuff. Oh and "traction control" is showing up on my dashboard. Go figure! I had the 2009 recall #09S09 completed immediately in 2009. However I am still having issues. I have had 3 very good mechanics look at this issue and they say my van is fine. I myself am not very mechanically inclined however I know when something does not make sense and this my friend does not make sense. I repeatedly told my mechanic that this was an electrical problem to which of course he laughed. However after a little yahoo and google he now agrees also. I have never heard of this website until 2 days ago in my research of this issue. Hoping that your investigation will make Ford do something about this sometime soon" it is costly and beyond frustrating. I can only pray it does not lead to brake problems seeing as though I have children in the van the majority of the time.

- Mcconnellsburg, PA, USA

problem #168

Jul 062010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The ABS light and brake light started coming on. Now they come on all the time.

- Reva, VA, USA

problem #167

May 052014


  • 103,000 miles
Car bought in March 2014 from used car dealership. ABS light and brake light started coming on in May. Mechanic told me that this is a problem with the ECM and getting it replaced is costly. If I chose to replace it, the issue may occur again because Ford has not resolved the issue on the actual part. Brake failure concerns me because I have two children under 4 years of age in the car with me most of the time. This past weekend, the brakes did not respond when I decelerated. I had to put the car in park and shut off the engine to stop it. Ford needs to look into resolving this major problem asap, as no driver should have to be worried that their brakes will fail while driving.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #166

Jun 252014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Brake and ABS lights come on intermittently, the brakes are brand new, the ABS light now stays on..

- Edgerton, WI, USA

problem #165

Jul 132014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 82,179 miles


My ABS and brakes lights have been coming on at different times for my 2002 Ford Windstar for a long while, and stay on now that it is summer. I have tried to fix this problem on two occasions and changed the bad ECM with a new one and the problem has returned both times only after a few months. I made a left turn at about 5 mph with the two lights on and when I applied the brakes at the completion of the turn to stop at a red light the brakes seized and the car continued moving slowly into on coming traffic while making a metal grinding noise. I was able to quickly put the car in park to stop it right under the light. I then turned the car off and back on and the lights went off and the brakes worked normally again. A few blocks later the ABS and brake lights came back on but the brakes didn't seize this time. This issue is dangerous and I had both my wife and children in the vehicle with me. Ford needs to recall these cars and build a ECM that will not expand during warm months causing the ABS system to fail. Mechanics have told me that this is a major issue with the Windstar.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #164

Aug 052013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
ABS light came on intermittently after 8/05/2013. Had brakes checked, pads/rotors/drums appeared, tested ok. Had brakes serviced (front pads/rotors replaced) 2/24/2014. Light for ABS came on again 07/01/2014. Light comes on and stays on. Turns off when restarting. Seems to only occur in summer months. Stopping distance seems to increase when ABS light is on!!!

- Wyandotte, MI, USA

problem #163

Feb 022010


  • 90,000 miles
Brake lights, red + amber on the dash, are on almost constantly. Not a mechanical problem. Design failure in part 2F2Z-2C219-ba causing failure. I understand that the board expands and contacts with the heatsink plate the circuit board is attache to.

- Asheboro, NC, USA

problem #162

Apr 242014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Ford found that the rear axle had a hole in it causing the axle to shift to the right. Recall work was done a few years ago. They said it was my fault and would not pay. ABS and traction control light come on however reset when restarted. As of today they don't go off.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #161

Jun 012014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
While driving the ABS and brake light will illuminate at the same time within the instrument cluster. While the lights are on, the ABS system is inoperable and braking distance is reduced. Problem is intermittent. When driving the problem will show up and after turning off the engine and restarting, the lights will go out. Issue happens again within a few days/week later.

- Limerick, PA, USA

problem #160

Jan 012010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
ABS and break light come on when applying the breaks. Checked the break several time but there was nothing wrong.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #159

Jun 232014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
We continue to have issue with ABS and brake light kicking on randomly. When this happens brakes become tight, squeal. Brakes and system appears fine. Others have the same issue. They need to recall.

- Sparta, IL, USA

problem #158

Sep 172013


  • miles
My ABS and brake lights have been coming on while driving and staying on for months. I am not sure if there is an issue with Ford Windstar in general or if there is an issue that causes this.

- St. Cloud, MN, USA

problem #157

Jun 012012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
The ABS light will come "on" and brake light comes on a few seconds to a minute later while driving, brakes seem to work fine.

- Oelwein, IA, USA

problem #156

Jan 142013


  • miles
Brake and ABS light on after vehicle is operated, parked briefly, and operated again. Problem occurs intermittently. Worse in hot weather. Problem has been on going for two years.

- Gibsonville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?