Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
152,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Windstar engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #123

Mar 122014


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving various speeds, the speedometer would become stuck at 20 mph. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V399000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #122

Feb 012015

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 92,205 miles
The ABS sensor light comes on after a minute of driving. Sometimes the emergency brake light will come on when braking. This happen to me after putting in new wheel bearings. Then I put in new ABS sensors still have problem. Alot of other people on the internet are having same issue as me. The I put in speed control deactivation switch. Still have same issue.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #121

Feb 152014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 73,425 miles
Used the vehicle to go on a trip about 200 miles from home, the cruise control was working but the brake light stayed on. When I got back home and parked the vehicle for a couple of days, when I went to go back out in the van on another short trip and got on the interstate the cruise wouldn't work again. The brake light stays on all the time when before the cruise stopped working it was only intermittent. Now the light is on all the time and the cruise isn't working at all. I can't use the van on trips O when I go a few miles away from home because the cruise don't work. I have a bad back and joints and rely on that cruise to help me get from point a to point B. thanks....updated 01/07/15 the consumer stated the issues are on recall. Updated 01/17/15

- Ward, AR, USA

problem #120

Aug 282010


  • 75,494 miles


While driving on a highway with cruise control engaged, the brake and ABS lights came on. The brakes were unaffected. We stopped and checked on finding a mechanic in the town we were going through, but when we re-started the van, the lights were back off. The brakes remained unaffected. The problem recurs sporadically at intervals of a few weeks to a few months. Sometime later, we had to have the cruise control repaired due to two bad switches (damaged by leaks). I mention this because evidence suggests a link between the cruise control and the ABS problems.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #119

Dec 062014


  • 112,000 miles
ABS lights on. Speedometer don't work and overdrive light keeps blinking..speed control fuse keeps blowing.

- Barling, AR, USA

problem #118

Dec 182013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 124,511 miles
ABS system activated under normal breaking conditions, caused extended breaking distance. Has happened 13 times since the initial failure. Dealer unable to replicate but scanned for codes and found C1185 which they said was failure of the ABS controller/computer. They suggested $1200 in repairs but couldn't guarantee it would "fix the problem". have multiple ABS fault codes all the time now. C1198, C1194, C1254, C1246, C1250, C1242, C1214, C1210, C1446 which all point to multiple failures in the computer. Searching the internet it appears on that a recall for this issue may be in the works as of 5/2014.

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #117

Sep 012014


  • 81,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact also stated that the instrument panel gauges spiraled back and forth. In addition, there was smoke coming from the front end of the hood. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 09V399000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #116

Aug 042014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Approx., a year ago my ABS module went bad and I had it checked by a mechanic to verify that fact. Just recently my speed control deactivation switch went bad and leaked, . now I found out there is a connection between both the switch and the ABS bad module. Ford does not have a recall on the ABS system, but they do on the above switch. Very possibly the high cost of the module has kept them from having a recall!!! I have read complaints about the same problem from another Ford van owner. Also the switch was changed approx. 5 years ago and it went bad again.( per a Ford recall then) there should be a definite recall on Windstar van ABS systems and as a safety issue---Ford should replace the switch and wire harness again!..updated 08/12/14

- Charles City, IA, USA

problem #115

May 262014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 64,500 miles
Follow-up on ODI # 10593430. On May 26, 2014, after Ford dealership in fort walton beach, fl kept my vehicle for a week to fix the cruise control and seat latches recall, I was finally able to pick up my van. They also checked the cause of odometer and speedometer to stopped working, ABS and brake light remained on, sliding doors not working, and O/D light flashing; I was told the cause is a defective ABS module. They charged me $114.27 to diagnosed the problem and quoted me $1,265 to replace the ABS module. I showed to Ford service advisor, andrew tompitch, a print-out from NHTSA website stating that part of fixing or remedy to the cruise control recall was to "inspect the ABS control module connector and repair as necessary." "repairs will be completed free of charge." Yet Ford charged me for this service and told me that the problems were not the same since my vehicle's scds supposedly did not leak. How could I verified what he told me was true when he wouldn't let me enter the work bay to watch what the technician was doing to my vehicle? andrew admitted that the ABS module is defective and that they had replaced several modules due to the same problems as my van. But andrew said it's not part of the recall and wouldn't replace it free of charge. If Ford used defective parts such as the ABS module, then Ford should be responsible to replacing the defective ABS module and recall it before a life is lost!

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #114

May 202014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 186,669 miles
My vehicle was taken in to ace Ford in woodbury, NJ as part of a series of recalls. The 09S09 speed control campaign was one and they did the fixes as well as the rear axle. After getting my vehicle I noticed my ABS light was on, my odometer has all dashes, my brake light is on, my speedometer does not work and my O/D light blinks fast constantly. Service was closed at the time so I drove it home. Upon driving every bump I hit it felt like my back end was going to fall off. I took it back the next day on May 21st, 2014 and complained about the issues. They did not seat my rear axle properly and they say they fixed it. As for my dashboard issues, I was told that the 09S09 speed control was installed and it then made another part fail. They said (dealer and corporate Ford), they will not replace it for free. I have to pay $390 for the part and then labor. I have been in talks with Ford to no avail. I did some minimal research on the internet and found many other people have had the same issue. Ford will not replace the part.

- Wenonah , NJ, USA

problem #113

Jun 162006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles


On June 16, 2006, while vehicle was parked in a parking lot, someone informed us that my 2002 Ford Windstar was smoking from under the hood. An internal fire occurred, damaging the wiring harness and windshield wiper motor. Unaware to the cause of said fire the damaged parts were replaced. Then other problems started to arise, the vehicle cruise control stopped working, the ABS/brake light remained on and the speedometer was not working properly (not accurately reading). The local Ford dealer was informed of the before-mentioned problems including the internal fire that had occurred, at the time of the initial brake pressure deactivation switch recall. The dealer stated that the brake pressure deactivation switch indeed was leaking and that they supposedly checked the ABS control module. Still the ABS/brake light remained on and the speedometer did not work properly. On 3/14/14 the Windstar was taken to a local garage to diagnose the ABS/brake issues again. It was determined that said unit needed to be replaced. The ABS module was subsequently removed and examined the control module (3/21/2014). The ABS module suffered an internal fire and the wiring harness connector was melted and damaged. Also found was evidence of significant burning around the pins at the connections. This evidence included the blackened fluid, severe discoloration, and lifted traces, all of which are clearly apparent in photos of the module interior. The local dealer refused to repair or replace the module under the recall claim, stating that it was not part of the recall, and that said recall was closed. Ford has been negligent in this matter and luckily the vehicle prior to today, has not become a runaway fire event and burned to the ground!! at this time the vehicle has not been repaired, and is sitting idle. I have kept the damaged control module for examination.

- Manitowoc, WI, USA

problem #112

Feb 012012


  • miles
The ABS and red brake light as well as the traction control light, and now my battery light come on and off intermittently. The ABS system kicks in at unnecessary times making it difficult to stop. The speedometer is now also bouncing up and down intermittently, but no other gauges seem to be affected.

- East Jordan, MI, USA

problem #111

Apr 302013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
My ABS light & traction light are now on. Also, needles jump on dash {odometer, speedometer, fuel & heat level} and cruise control does not work any longer {this has been happening since receiving my van back from the Ford garage after 7 months from the axle recall repair over a year ago}. tried to bleed my brakes after replacing pads and caliper but cannot bleed front left or rear right. Was told by a Ford mechanic that this may be a problem in the ABS module. As pertaining to a Ford recall in October, 2009, all of the above problems may be connected to this recall. My van was inspected and nothing was done to it because, at the time, because it was deemed safe. I have since replaced the electrical tape on the wiring harness that they were suppose to be inspecting because it was falling off due to brake fluid on it (reason for said recall}. I plan on calling the garage in the am to have them reinspect my van for this recall because I cannot afford to replace any more parts in it. I have put a lot into it just since getting it back after the axle recall because it deteriorated sitting in their driveway for the winter due to salt. I hope nobody else is going through this. I love my van and have owned it for 11 years but it is getting too expensive for a one-income-household to repair due to bad parts or service. Please have Ford work to fix these problems so I can afford to keep my van. Thank you!

- Antrim, NH, USA

problem #110

Mar 012013


  • 120,000 miles
ABS and brake warning lights light up randomly and cruise control stops working. Main brakes still function. I see lots of similar complaints online. Had brakes repaired twice and the mechanic always mentions a loss of brake fluid. Even after that, the problem persists. I do not believe my VIN was ever part of the scds switch recall but I am suspicious this may be somehow related (?). if so, there could be risk of a fire and I do not feel safe. I'd like some answers before I spend any more money at local mechanic fixing this car. Calling Ford dealer tomorrow to see if there is anything they can do.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #109

Jun 252013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
ABS light and brake light have been on for months off and on. Have a slight brake fluid leak. Was backing into my driveway and the O/D light came on and started flashing, the odometer went blank, speedometer stopped working and the A/C began blowing hot air. Checked fuse #10 and found it was blown. Replaced fuse #10. Odometer and speedometer work but other lights still on. Have an appointment to have the van looked at tomorrow.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #108

Apr 302012


  • 8,167,584 miles
I have purchased a 2002 Windstar in April 2012, we noticed the ABS light and brake light would appear and we'd be low on brake fluid. We replaced the master brake cylinder but they said the sensor on bottom was unavailable to order, we called Ford and they told us the same thing. The sensor is full of brake fluid. We have to fill our brake fluid about once every 2 weeks in warm weather more often. When I took it into dealership for recall on axle I asked about this they said theres no recalls for it. I can not afford to purchase a new vehicle nor would I want to sell this vehicle to another person as it was sold to me without being told of problem. Is there going to be a recall on this?

- Peculiar, MO, USA

problem #107

Apr 262013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 192,000 miles
ABS light start flashing, lose cruise control, then over drive started flashing on the van, cut off O/D light still flashing.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #106

Nov 232012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
Brought in van for recalls 09S09, 10S13 and 11S16. This was for the subframe issues and speed control switch. Speed control switch was supposed to address leaking brake fluid. Brake fluid still leaking and now dealership is charging me for brake switch repair and bleeding of brakes. Also ABS light came on after service and now dealership says ABS sensor needs to be replaced. I believe these are all related to original recall but dealership says no.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #105

Jan 012010


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while at a traffic stop, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The vehicle began to function normally several moments later. The contact also stated that the brake, ABS and over drive off warning lights illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was determined that the master cylinder failed and was leaking brake fluid onto the electrical components. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Kingston, WA, USA

problem #104

Oct 182012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
My ABS light is on and will not go off and speedometer wouldn't work properly when the weather was really warm, and just September 21st 2012 my car was not able to switch out of park, and on Oct.18th 2012 my brake light stop working all together. I have research this problem and there is a recall out on Ford Windstar 1998-2003 with the same problems. But when I called Ford 10/22/12 they check my VIN and stated that there was not a recall on my car only Ford Windstar van with parts made in Virginia. I don't understand why my car cant be repair at Ford expense when there is evidence that there I S a problem with the car.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?