Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,310 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Windstar seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Windstar Owner Comments

problem #20

Dec 182015

Windstar

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel seized causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a fire hydrant and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck and shoulder injuries but did not require medical attention. The passenger sustained wrist injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 02/12/16

- Scenectady, NY, USA

problem #19

Jan 122015

Windstar

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle spun out of control on an icy road and crashed into a river. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the ribs and bruises on entire body that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- West Dummerston , VT, USA

problem #18

May 202010

Windstar

  • miles
My 2002 Ford Windstar van gear shift pin keep coming up and I have to take it to a shop so they can put the pin back in 3 times. My gears do not shift right it shifts hard. I brought this van brand new in 2003. Also my air bag light stays on the avis Ford body shop said my sensor is rusted out, also my ABS light stays on. I don't feel these things should go out. I have had many Ford vehicle brand new for years and never had these problems. I still got to get these things repair. I also had two front windshield wiper motors put in and the wipes are still not right. Is there any help out there.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 102012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light flashes 7 times then stays lit. Never turns off now. Would cost about 300 to 1,000 to fix!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't have that kind of money. Ford needs to fix these problems. Im driving my kids around with my airbag light on and my ABS and brake light on all because of a computer issue. Don't feel this is my responsibility to repair.

- Dover, NJ, USA

problem #16

Aug 172010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
While driving at any speed the ABS & brake light warnings light up. Had all recalls done and mechanic said it would cost around $600 to repair.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #15

Jan 012008

Windstar

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the ABS warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact also stated that fluid from the speed control deactivation switch leaked onto the air bag module, causing the air bag to fail. The vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V399000 (component: Vehicle speed control), but the air bags were not repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were notified, but denied any assistance with repairs of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 220,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #14

Dec 162010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 167,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Windstar van, which was already subject to rear axle recall, and the rear axle did break on it in may, and was replaced and I received reimbursement for the replacement from Ford. However, another incident happened in December. My 21 year old son was in an accident driving this van on Thursday, Dec. 16. the van lost traction and pulled to the right, pulling him into a ditch and down a steep embankment. The front of the van was ripped off, tires slashed, van almost flipped over, and the airbags never deployed. He hit a dirt embankment head on going about 30-35 mph. The roads were icy that day, and he was on a curve... the van would not respond to steering to correct the direction the van was going. I experienced something similar last winter; the van seemed to pull to the right, going off the road without allowing the driver to control the vehicle. However, when I went off the road, it was in a shallow ditch and it caused no damage to the van. My son was not as fortunate, and he could have been severely injured. I feel that this may have something to do with the current investigation into the front suspension... the van could not be controlled, and pulled to the right. Our insurance co. Is taking care of this, and I don't know the current location of the van. It is totaled, I know that. I asked state farm to check out the front suspension for weakness or rust, but don't know if they'll know what to look for, especially since the front is so damaged from the wreck that the tires are turned sideways, and I believe the front axle is broken. Please send someone to look at my van, and see what caused this wreck; my son could have been killed. Thank you for the work you've done so far.... your organization is so valuable to consumers.

- Denton, NC, USA

problem #13

Dec 162010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 146,982 miles
While driving my 2002 Ford Windstar my air bag went off. I was driving about 35 miles per hour and just crossed a railroad track. There was no collision and no damage to the vehicle. The aprox cost to replace airbags is 2000 Ford says they cant do anything to help me. They would like to see why it did it but I would have to pay for it.

- Leipsic , OH, USA

problem #12

Oct 012010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
ABS brake light comes on when the car gets hot. When the car is cold there is no problem with the ABS system. The air bag light came on at about 75,000 miles, cost to replace circuit board 675 dollars. The engine intake manifold warped which turned on the engine repair light, cost 950 dollars to repair. Updated 01/20/11

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 062010

Windstar

  • 115,000 miles
I have had a continual brake fluid leak on this vehicle. In addition, while driving the vehicle on 06/06/2010, the ABS light and brake light suddenly came on. In speaking with our Ford mechanic (Ford dealer), he referenced how this has been an issue on many Windstar. The ABS light and brake fluid leaks, according to him, has been a point of concern. Is anything being done about this?

- Rosemount, MN, USA

problem #10

Dec 202009

Windstar

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front end collision with a tree-car was a total loss with severe damage to entire front end-dead center hit with tree off icy roadway air bags did not deploy.

- Eliot, ME, USA

problem #9

Sep 012008

Windstar

  • miles
2002 Ford Windstar brake light and ABS light on. Comes on after short time every time.

- V, AZ, USA

problem #8

Feb 082009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 81,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. When the vehicle was started, the air bag indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The indicator would not dim once the vehicle was in motion. The following day, the contact called the dealer and was informed that the air bags would not deploy if the indicator remained lit. The dealer also stated that there were no recalls available for the failure; therefore, they were not liable for the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage is 81,520 and failure mileage was 81,500. Updated 3/16/09 updated 03/18/09.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #7

Sep 022007

Windstar

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 60 mph, the driver's side air bag unexpectedly deployed. There was no impact, crash, or any sudden action at the time of the failure. There were no injuries. The contact drove home and called the dealer. The dealer did not offer to inspect the vehicle, but stated that the failure was not covered under the warranty. The contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The vehicle has not yet been repaired and Ford is refusing to repair it for free. The failure mileage was 84,000 and current mileage was 84,800.

- Glendville, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jul 162006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I had an accident in my 2002 Ford Windstar in which I hit an embankment, a deer and a tree head on at 35 miles per hour. The car was totaled, the engine was pushed in to the dashboard. I have tried several avenues including Ford to find out why the airbags never deployed. What did the black box record? as to the events of the accident.

- Prospect, KY, USA

problem #5

Jun 272006

Windstar

  • miles
: the contact stated the vehicle was travelling on the interstate when the passanger side airbag deployed for no reason. The passanger incurred injuries however the extent of injuries have not been comfirmed. The vehicle was taken to the dealers for repairs. Through a diagnostics analyses of vehicle the dealer determined there was a catalyst causing the airbag to deploy however the reason has not been determined yet. The diagnostic report has been sent to the manufacturer so the dealer and manufacturer can collaborate on the cause of the air bag deployment.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #4

Jan 092004

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
A car accident occurred on January 9, 2004. Car was hit behind, and the bags did not deploy, but airbag light came on. Van was taken to repair shop twice to fix light. They came to the decision that a code needed to be put in and could only be done at Ford. The van was taken to Ford 4 times, and the light still comes on. First they put in code. 2 weeks passed then light came on again. Van taken back to Ford. It was released to us. After about 5 weeks light came on. They put in the code again. Light came back on as soon as we got to the driveway. We went to Ford again, and they said there was a problem with module. They replaced the module and a whole new air bag system in July. The replacement was done twice due to the first air bag system was defective, the light came on and stayed on the next morning. A complete new system place in the next day. The air bag light came on again then went out. They said it was okay. Light is back on now (March 2005). Now Ford is telling us that a new module has to be placed in because it has burnt out. Also Ford needs to find out what is burning out the electrical system" over $500 worth of work to be done and now not covered by warranty from July 2004" we are not sure if the airbags will deploy in case of emergency. And we have small children to Transport in the vehicle. Spoke to Ford dealer in our area. No help.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 072004

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
I was involved in accident where I ran into a motorhome that pulled out in front of me. I was traveling approximately 40mph and hit at a slight angle but direct hit to the rear dual wheels that actually dislodged the axle of the motorhome. My vehicle was totalled. It had severe damage to the front end including the driver's side half of the bumper. The impact buckled the roof of my Windstar mini-van. The air bag did not deploy and the seatbelt apparently failed as my chest hit the steering wheel and also my face. The state trooper said he saw my teeth marks in the steering wheel and the steering wheel was cracked. If I did not have a bruise on my left shoulder area that showed the seatbelt actually caught for an instant and then released me into the steering wheel the trooper said he would have cited me for not wearing a belt. I had unbuckled my belt to get my hanky to try and stop the blood flow from my facial injury is why it was not on when the trooper arrived. The vehicle was totalled so no repair was attempted. The vehicle was towed to a nationwide evaluation center in columbus, oh where they said they would hold it until October 28 in case anyone wanted to inspect it. I called Ford customer assistance center in detroit Michigan and they said they were not interested investigation why the air bag and seat belt did not function properly. I received a fractured sternum and a facial laceration that went from outside to inside.

- Arcanum, OH, USA

problem #2

Dec 012003

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
While driving on the interstate at 70 mph vehicle drifted off to the median. As a result, consumer over corrected, which resulted in vehicle rolling over 6 times and impacting a guard rail. Upon impact, none of the air bags deployed. The driver and the passenger sustained minor injuries. While driving at 70 mph vehicle veered into median on the interstate. Driver overcorrected causing vehicle to roll over six times where it crashed into the guard rail. The driver's side air bag deployed but the other three air bags did not. Two persons injuried in rollover accident.

- Shawnee Mission, KS, USA

problem #1

May 132003

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,726 miles
Passenger side air bag deployed while driving down the highway. There was no impact or collision to cause this. Injury sustained to passenger. The vehicle was a 2002 Windstar SE manufactured by Ford motor.

- Climax Springs, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?