Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,207 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Windstar body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Windstar Owner Comments

problem #14

Mar 232015

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


Rear axle recall was inspected in 2/17/2011 by the dealer and was noted no cracks and just put some brackets. Today 3/23/2015 went for a state inspection to the same dealer and failed due to crack in the rear axle(that was once recalled). Now dealer/Ford states that the recall was once managed, and no longer responsible for further issues... if an item was recalled, it should be fixed without cost. Please address this with Ford. Thank you

- Cheltenham, PA, USA

problem #13

Feb 222015

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The frame cracked on the rear frame underneath the bracket that was put on for the recall repair. The bracket didn't hold.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #12

Jan 282014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Ford came out and tool my car to [xxx] cunningham to fix my call on a safety recall dated 2/28/2014 then refuse to fix my car state Ford refuse to pay home for the recall repair he said I have to pay out of pocket. All repair are free of charge my car still at the shop at the shop because the front wheel cause by the power train axle assembly NHTSA 12V193000 and 11V030000 11S16 and 10S13 3/11/2014. Can I get a copy of these recall mail to me thanks my car is still at [xxx] for 3 weeks now please help no renter was given to me as part of the recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Decatur , GA, USA

problem #11

Dec 302013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the front axle fractured and resulted in the detachment of the front driver's side wheel. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. There was a recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 12V194000 (suspension). The dealer was contacted but refused to repair the vehicle for an unknown reason. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 04/22/14

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #10

Sep 012004

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 40,228 miles
We have not been properly informed about all of the recalls or other issues with our vehicle. The vehicle does have a lot of problems from the electrical, structure, engine lights are always throwing codes needing a lot of sensor replacements at our cost, the rpms seem to run fast sitting at a light(we have to turn off the engine and then restart), and the engine seems to run hot, brakes, cruise control(cannot use), traction control(cannot use), interior light are always flickering, passenger windows(cannot use) and door locks(cannot use), both rear windows(cannot use), leaks from roof, rear door and sliding doors, the cruise control, brake and traction control lights stay on while driving(we were told by a dealership that we can still drive the vehicle, but we won't have anti-lock brakes.), the ac is always having trouble staying charged, the ac/heat control switches have malfunctioned(it has to be set away from the cold and the speed to 3/4 speed to work right), the battery keeps losing charge, the brake tail lights stay on draining the battery and had to get repaired by us because the dealership could not locate the problem, driver seat has malfunctioned(cannot use per dealership's request), cruise control and traction control does not work, suspension seems to have a lot of squeaks and popping sounds, alternator and starter had to be replaced several times, the coil packs need constant replacements, all spark plugs and wires had to be replaced before their time, cannot use the rear wiper because it goes down onto the paint and starts wiping the paint and not the rear window, constantly replacing exterior lights all around, the engine constantly cuts out, we told the dealership for several years that there was an antifreeze smell and they could not locate it until 5-28-13, replaced bad front and rear axles on 5/28/13 and many others. 12K-18K to repair everything.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #9

Mar 012011


  • 92,000 miles
Ford Windstar was recalled for rear axles. I had that repaired. I got another recall for the front axles. Dealer says parts not available and van "should be okay" until parts are available. "should be okay" is not acceptable!! if there is a recall, the part should be available at the time of the recall, not weeks or months later.

- Cutchogue, NY, USA

problem #8

Sep 242010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 81,535 miles


Our 2003 Ford Windstar has been having mechanical failures for about 3 years. We have heard a loud grinding noise from the rear passeners side of the car that neither our local mechanic nor Ford could fix. We replaced shocks and most recently the tire rods on 9/24/10. We have had numerous electronical "bugs" inclluding ABS lights flashing on and off for 2 years requiring multiple fuse changes and electrical testing. Our transmission was replaced in 2009 at 59,000 miles. The power locks on the passenger side door and rear passenger doors do not open remotely or with power locks, only key or manual lifting. Needless to say, although we have not had any person injuries, we have spent a fortune to keep this car running in what we thought was safe manner.

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #7

Nov 302010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 34,600 miles
While accelerating from a stop light, steering control was completely lost at approximately 35mph. The vehicle turned to the left, then right, and ran off the right side of the road. It would not move in either forward or reverse. Front wheels were pointed in different directions. The right front lower control arm had broken away from the frame, and the right front half-shaft had pulled out of the transaxle. The vehicle was towed to a nearby Ford dealer. As of December 6, the dealer has not yet investigated the vehicle.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #6

Oct 102010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 75,537 miles
Our Ford Windstar van that was manufactured in May 2003 was making a loud noise from the rear. When we took it to the dealer they said the rear axle was cracked in two places and had rust/corrosion holes in it. They said we could not drive it because it was unsafe and they could not get a replacement part until April 2011. We later find out that Ford Windstar vans from 1999 thru February 2003 have been recalled for this exact problem. Because our van was manufactured May 2003 (two months outside the recall time) they will not cover it. We now have a car we can't drive because of safety hazard and even if we wanted to pay to fix it, which we should not have to, the part is not available for seven more months leaving us without a vehicle.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #5

Apr 302010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I have a 2003 Ford Windstar. In April 2010 my rear axle suddenly broke. I paid a small fortune to tow and fix the problem. In July my front axle suddenly broke leaving me with another large towing and repair charge. And now the car just doesn't drive nice and my traction and brake warnings have been lighting up on my dashboard.

- Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 142010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


I own a 2003 Ford Windstar van, for a couple weeks I occasionally heard a creaking noise when I turned a sharp corner. Then one day while driving, thankfully not at a very high speed my van started to go all over the road every time it went over the slightest bump in the road. It felt as if the tires were going to fall off the van. When my husband looked under the van you could see the back axel completely broke in half. We travel a long distance every few months to take my daughter to a children's hospital, god was really watching out for my family and I, that the axel didn't go while we were on those long stretches of highway.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #3

Dec 122004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My ciggarette lighter pops out onto the floor every time it is pushed in. The distraction of a possible fire can cause a wreck.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 122003

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Excessive wind noise in front seat area at 65 mph or faster. The dealer was unable to repair. Cannot locate problem but recognizes that it exists.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #1

May 122003

(reported on)


  • miles
The reflection of the dashboard onto the windshield when the sun shined over head caused a glare. The glare drastically reduced visibility through the windshield.

- Fairhope, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?