Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,152 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #14

Apr 172015


  • 95,000 miles


Have to replace evaporator core because of leaks. Seeing lots of complaints about this issue on message boards.

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #13

Feb 122014


  • 80,012 miles
While driving on the interstate the stabilitrak, traction control and reduced power lights came on. The car was running really rough and I had to cross traffic to pull over. I turned it off and sat for 5-10 minutes. I started it and it acted like nothing had happened. I drove it directly to a Chevy dealer and they said the only thing they could find was that it appeared that the throttle body had moisture in it and the moisture had frozen. They dried it out and its been fine, until last week. I was on my way to Chicago, again on the interstate, and the all the lights started coming on, then the engine light, but I did not lose power this time. I'm really afraid to drive my car and unfortunately I have several more trips to Chicago in the near future. I would take our other vehicle, but it is also a GM product and is having the same issues. I have read many forums where the same situation has been happening for as far back as 6 years and appears to be a major problem for a lot of GM owners. People are having sensors changed out, throttle body replaced and other work done on their vehicles and nothing is solving the problem. GM needs to find out what the problem is and fix it! its very dangerous to be driving along in wall to wall traffic and lights start coming on and there is the possibility of losing power in the middle of all that! unfortunately, since we have two GM vehicles with the same problem, there is no way to avoid driving one of them. Fyi - I also read that there are problems going on with leaks in the rack and pinion and sway bar issues. I had a leak in my rack and pinion and had to replace the sway bars last fall.

- Mapleton, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 072015

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I backed into a parking spot and put it in park. The car seemed like it lost a little bit of power and when I turned the key off the engine turned over again and the car was running even though the key was in the off position. When I turned it over the car lost power and wouldn't start and my key was stuck in the ignition. After 15 minutes or so it started up again with no problem. Later when I drove it it did it again and now it starts when I stick the key in the ignition without turning it over and my car stalls out and loses power and I lose power steering.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #11

Nov 302013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


Engine light came on took it in to get checked the GMC dealer said it was purge valve and may be my timing chain belt! and my master cylinder was leaking into my booster, and they had to replace a sensor for the tire and service the track/stabilitrak! services came to $1000 now come 2 months later to Jan 2014 engine light is on service stabilitrak is on take it back, my timing chain needs replaced@ 74000 miles which is about a $2000 job and my transmission platelets need changed! transmission is now slipping we called GM and there is nothing they will do as I was informed these are "command problems " in these vehicles!! what!! I feel like I've been sold a lemon and no one are GM cares because these are command problems for them! never again will I buy a GM and I'm confused on how so many people have these same issues and GM is doing nothing about it! oh did I mention you can't park on a slant or an incline with a 1/4 tank of gas because your Acadia won't start! this car has been a nightmare!

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #10

Jan 122014


  • 65,000 miles
Locked up making a turn going slow, pump getting noisy, just got back for water pump replace.

- Roanoke, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 262011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 71,309 miles
8/26/2011 - 71,309 miles - water pump went out and had to be replaced. 5/07/2012 - 86,885 miles - transmission shuttered when coming to a stop in traffic. Would not start and had to be towed to mechanic. Transmission assembly replaced with GM reman transmission due to broken reverse wave plate that damaged the carrier, sun shell and metal throughout. Also detected an oil leak in the engine front cover that needed to be repaired and heard power steering noise so bled power steering system. 12/31/2012- 100,947 miles - headlight switch fell inside dash panel. 7/26/2013 - 112,506 miles - power steering has never worked properly. It has always made noises and has been stiff. Had it bled several times with no improvement. Power steering went out while making a left hand turn into a busy intersection. At shop now to determine if it needs a new power steering pump, rack, and/or serpentine belt. I have read many complaints with the same issues as those that I have experienced. I am disappointed that GM isn't more concerned about the safety of their consumers and the reliability and quality of their vehicles. I have never owned such a lemon! I personally will never own another GM product. Going back to Lexus.

- North Salt Lake, UT, USA

problem #8

Oct 172012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles


I have a 2008 Acadia and it just stalls out for no reason. This is a very unsafe problem and GMC -according to the dealer does not stand behind this wide spread issue. The dealer and GMC can't tell me what is causing it and they give me the vehicle back and say if it happens again bring it in and we will look at it but they can never find anything wrong. I fear getting in this vehicle because I never know if it is going to just stall out on me while in traffic on a major highway. There are numours posts on many web sites about this vehicle and how GMC will not help anyone. Some of the web sites are and I think this vehicle needs to be on a total vehicle recall.

- Fernandina, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 102013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
We purchased our 2008 Acadia in 2011, it had approximately 30,000 miles on it at the time of purchase. Less than thirty days after purchase we had to replace the front rotors. At 40,000 miles we had to replace the front brakes; the air conditioner backed up, which required maintenance to the blower motor; and the head lights went out, which required replacement. At 45,000 miles the rear struts went out, which required replacement; and we had to replace two tires. At 60,000 miles the water pump went out and needed to be replaced. At 55,000 miles the front struts went out, which needed replacing, along with four new tires, and a new set of headlights. At 60,000 miles the rear brakes and rotors needed to be replaced. At 70,000 miles the transmission went out, which also required replacement. The final incident happened on 6/10/13 at 74,000 miles, while I was driving with all three of my children. I was going 50 miles an hour on a highway, and the entire car shut down. The steering console locked with the keys in the ignition, I had no ability to steer the vehicle, the brakes did not function either. I had to use the parking brake to slow the vehicle down, barely avoiding a collision with another vehicle.

- Ellsworth, KS, USA

problem #6

Jul 222011


  • 57,000 miles
My power steering groans and moans when turning at low speeds. Turning the wheel is very difficult even for me being a male. The noise is very annoying and may affect the steering. The car is for my family of three kids and wife --- not sure they should be driving this anymore. I called the a GMC service dealer and they said they have heard of "very similar issues" waiting back to hear if they will repair this. I've had too many repairs lately for a car with only 58K miles -- one sway bar, another sway bar, transmission issue, headlamp issue, faulty thermostat, limited life brake pads, now power steering issues! ugh!

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #5

Nov 262010


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving approximately 45-60 mph the vehicle stalled. He stated that the vehicle stalled and within a couple of seconds the vehicle started moving in reverse. The following day, the vehicle would not start and the vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure occurred twice after the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the dealer repaired the air bag light. The failure happened again on December 22, 2010 and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 27,000 and the current mileage was 30,200.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 092010


  • 15,244 miles


On Aug 9th after leaving san bernardino ca.. I was driving up the cajon pass to return home. I had the car in cruise & gave it some gas so that I could get up the grade because there was a car behind me that was fairly close. As soon as I gave it gas the car lost engine power & I had to move over to the shoulder. The car came to a stop & I was unable to get it restarted. I thought it had overheated but looking back on the situation. I don't think that was the problem.I attempted to start the engine again after sitting for several minutes & it stalled again. I sat for several more minutes, tried again & it started. I stayed on the shoulder until it gained speed, & I was able to drive home. On tues. I called the dealership & they had me tow the car in. They were unable to find anything wrong with it. This is the only time I had a problem with the car.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 312009


  • 32,812 miles
Spontaneous car fire started inside engine compartment of 2008 GMC Acadia causing total loss to vehicle. Parked next to 2009 GMC Sierra and caused this truck to catch fire and causing total loss to vehicle. Both parked next to home and caused fire damage to garage. 2 days prior car wouldn't start in driveway, GMC determined it to be from gas tank being low. 1/4 tank noted to be in car at the time.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 172008


  • 944 miles
Similar to complaint # 10224804, I have also had an issue with my GMC Acadia. Check engine light illuminated, and took vehicle to the dealership. I was told that the gas cap wasn't fully tightened, and that's what the problem was. This happened twice. After the third time the check engine light came on, the dealership "magically" discovered that it wasn't the gas cap. There was a bad sensor, a bad solenoid, the camshaft was incorrectly fit to the engine block, and now a bad cylinder. No resolution from GM other than the technicians are looking into the matter. The dealership has been working on the vehicle for over 30 days now with no repair, and no idea when the repair is going to happen. GM tech support has no idea what the problem is, according to the dealership. Vehicle purchased 12/13/07. First check engine light on 01/07/08, second 01/17/08, third 5/20/08. Mileage: 994. Current mileage: 4,334.

- Hanahan, SC, USA

problem #1

Mar 262008

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the camshaft was failing. There was no acceleration power within the first 100 miles of driving. The contact consulted the GMC dealer and they stated that nothing could be done. On another occasion, when the vehicle was started, the engine light illuminated. The GMC dealer was called again and they offered free maintenance/service (which was included in the contact's extended warranty), but there was no remedy for the failure. The contact stated that the light eventually dimmed, but illuminated again at least 3 more times. The current mileage was 938 and failure mileage was approximately 800.

- Bronx, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?