Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,464 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #7

Nov 012011


  • 72,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle regained its steering function on its own a few moments later. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. Also, the front passenger side window would not close when the button on the driver's side door panel was depressed. The passenger side window would only close if the button on the passenger side door panel was used. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Aston, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 012009


  • 5,000 miles
This is in regards to the window seal on the driver and passenger window. It holds water in the seal and has a very strong offensive mold/mildew odor. Each time you roll down either window the smell is so strong that your allergies are immediately affected. I don't think it is healthy to constantly smell mold when you're driving your vehicle. I took it to the dealer a couple of times and they agreed that it was horrible, but only suggested that I take an air hose and blow out the trapped water. That doesn't work because each time it rains or you wash your vehicle it smells again. I hate driving a newer vehicle that smells like a molded trash container. I would like a better solution for this never ending problem.

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #5

Mar 082009


  • miles
I have a recurring water leak with my sunroof on my 2008 GMC Acadia history 9/7/07 took delivery of Acadia 11/14/08 received sunroof water leak recall 08207 notice. 11/24/08 campaign 08207 performed by jim causley. We were not aware of any water leaks prior to this being performed 3/8/09 discovered water leak 3/9/09 service performed by jim causley for sunroof water leak. Bulletin 07-08-57-002E. 7/26/09 discovered water leak 7/30/09 service performed by art moran for sunroof water leak. 8/7/09 discovered water leak 8/8/09 contacted GMC customer service. Gave history. 8/10/09 dropped off for service at art moran for sunroof water leak.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #4

Sep 132008

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 27,214 miles


The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. Whenever it rains, the contact's vehicle leaks badly through the sunroof. The dealer repaired the vehicle, but water began leaking through the windshield and is currently leaking in the rear of the vehicle. The contact is concerned about mold issues. Whenever she takes the vehicle to the dealer, she is informed that the vehicle has been repaired. However, the leaking recurs once she retrieves her vehicle. The failure mileage was 27,214. 4/01/09 updated 04/06/09.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #3

Jul 152008


  • 1,000 miles
The side view mirror on the driver's side has not worked properly for at least six months. The dealer from whom the car was purchased has gone out or business and I took it to a dealer in delray beach, fl. On January 9th the dealer found the problem and ordered a new switch. It has not been received, to date. The dealer maintains that GM has the part on back order and can find none available anywhere in the U.S. this is clearly a safety hazard as the mirror cannot be adjusted to see on-coming traffic on the driver's side.

- Melville, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jan 142009


  • 16,319 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact received a recall notice and was informed by the dealer that the parts were unavailable for the repair. The dealer stated that they would call him once the parts arrived. On a separate occasion, one of the windshield wipers failed. The dealer repaired the wiper according to a recall; however, it still failed to operate. The failure has not been remedied. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 16,319.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #1

Sep 042008


  • 715 miles
Water leaking from sunroof - leaks from both airbag areas, above sunvisors and through seatbelts. Have serviced two times and will be going back a third time this week. First occurred 6 days after taking car off lot, then again 1 month later and now 18 days later (each time it has been in the rain). First time, took out windshield and replaced, thinking it was loose seal. Second time said the strip around the sunroof was flat and replaced it. This time they think the front drainage tubes are not working and are backing up into the inside and leaking. The mechanic rode with me and could feel the water puddling up in the sunroof. I am afraid the water will create mold and mildew, as well as get into the electrical components of the vehicle. The water pours out of the front sides and onto the steering wheel as you are driving.

- Anamosa, IA, USA

Not what you are looking for?