Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Nov 182014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission begin to slip intermittently 2 days ago. It continually became more frequent. I got it into the dealer right away and they believe it is the 3/5 wave plate. After doing some research, there are numerous complaints about this same issue beginning around 35,000 miles. GM seems to be turning a blind eye to the problem even though there is clearly a significant problem. The mechanic and advisor at the dealer even said they have had many in for the same issue. This repair is quite expensive and shouldn't happen to vehicles with such low miles. I hope that GM will be held accountable to recall this and cover the cost of the repairs. Two weeks ago, I had an issue with the oil life monitor and engine running rough. The advisor stated that these are trash and shouldn't be used as they are causing major engine issues. Problems with this can stretch the timing chains causing more significant and costly repairs. Again, GM is well aware of the issue but seem to be ignoring the truth. Please help hold them accountable and recall these items to prevent the customers from very costly repairs.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #31

Sep 102014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 51,700 miles
Transmission had a hard shift into reverse. Diagnosis was the 3-5-R wave plate and upon reading other complaints seems to be common. Transmission shop theory is that the wave plate was hardened too much and became brittle with the flexing causing it to break. Dealership fixed problem with warranty help from GM but still cost $750. I believe that GM should have paid the entire amount since it was well under the 100,000 mile but we owned it for 6 years. Seems that this failure is a function of mileage and not time and thus should be totally covered.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #30

Oct 082014

Acadia

  • miles
The gmac dealer is telling us the our 2009 Acadia has a damaged wave plate and will cost us about $2500 00 -- $3,000 to fix this problem. Our 5 year 100,000 mileage just expired last month. The car was just at the shop for three recalls and oil change. When the problem first happened I informed the dealer and told the problem.

- Hazlet, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jun 022014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Most common at slower rates of speed, the power steering goes out & the vehicle becomes extremely hard to steer. However, this has also happened to me on the highway while traveling at 65+ mph. That was extremely scary. More than once, I have been forced to turn into an oncoming lane B/C the steering is too stiff to turn properly. The issue was intermittent, but is now constant. Have flushed/replaced power steering fluid, replaced power steering pump & reservoir. The vehicle is at my local dealer now (as of 8/22/14) & they are telling me the new pump is bad & that the steering gear is leaking...although there is no evidence of it leaking externally on the ground & the dip stick consistently shows the reservoir as full. Approximate repair cost is $1500 as of now... this is a highly dangerous & apparently common situation that GMC should be rectifying with a recall of the Acadia.

- Independence, KY, USA

problem #28

Aug 132014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
At 72000 miles we had the Acadia serviced because of shifting problems, looked at again several times between them an 108000 when my wife had a near catastrophic failure as the transmission failed re engage while in drive in the middle of a busy intersection and called 911 because of the danger to my daughter, herself and those motorists on the road who couldn't see the hazard lights in the setting sun driving westbound - she narrowly avoided being rear ended and left the vehicle and sat on the embankment until police arrived.

- Ada, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Aug 022014

Acadia

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 GMC Acadia. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle jerked without warning. The contact also stated that shifting was difficult. On one occasion, the vehicle was shifted into reverse and the contact depressed the accelerator pedal, but the vehicle failed to reverse. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The dealer stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #26

Jul 142014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While turning left from a stop sign, my 2009 GMC slt had an RPM increase and failed to change into a higher gear. I was almost struck by an oncoming vehicle because my vehicle failed to accelerate. I parked at the post office and when I returned to my vehicle and tried to back out of the parking space my vehicle would not go into reverse. I had to get the vehicle towed to carmax and have it repaired. It is still at carmax and has to have the entire transmission rebuilt. Luckily I have an extended maintenance plan so I only have to pay a deductible instead of the entire amount. I feel that based on the number of same complaints and safety issues that GMC should have to issue a recall to have all the transmissions replaced versus the individual vehicle owners having to pay. If researched it is evident that this is an engineering flaw which started with this transmission in 2007.

- Harvest, AL, USA

problem #25

Jul 012014

Acadia

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2009 Acadia slt2. I was entering the highway and accelerating when the car would not increase in speed as I was merging onto the highway. I was nearly hit by a semi-tractor trailer truck. The same problem has occurred multiple times after this. I have taken the car in for service and was told by a GM authorized dealer that they could not replicate the issue and they replace a coil. The car still does the same thing intermittently. This car has had other safety issues, like water leaking into the cabin and nearly shocking me while trying to drive.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #24

Mar 142012

Acadia

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the vehicle would jerk violently intermittently. The contact noticed that there was water leaking from underneath the vehicle. Additionally, the power steering assist would sporadically seize accompanied by an abnormal noise when completing a turn. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was advised that the water pump and ignition coil needed to be replaced. An unknown repair was made to the steering component to rectify the failure. On a separate occasion, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine service where the dealer advised that the tie rods failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Tifton, GA, USA

problem #23

May 102014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
While driving out of town this weekend we noticed quite a few problems with the vehicle shaking/vibrating a lot while on the interstate and when driving up inclines it would start to surge back and forth. After some doing some research online it seems as if the transmission is starting to show signs of the common wave plate problem in this vehicle. This needs to be addressed, as well as all the other common issues that this platform has, by GM.

- Hamel, IL, USA

problem #22

Sep 092013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 GMC Acadia was purchased in Aug 2009. Aside from routine maintenance, I have already had to replace the water pump, the radiator, & the timing belt (none of which were covered under my warranty) but on September 9, 2013, my transmission let go. The dealership kept my vehicle for 20 days. Claim they couldn't rebuild it and had to get a new one. (which I have since been told that was a lie, that they have to use factory rebuilt transmissions). Got my vehicle back on Sept. 28. on March 22, 2014, I brought it back to dealership because it was showing signs of slipping transmission again. Dealer told me it was fine sent me home. Less than 2 weeks later on April 8, the transmission let go again. No reverse & truck would not move in drive just rev the engine. Back to dealership for "another transmission" this time they had my vehicle for 18 days. I just picked it up 2 days ago. This morning while driving my kids to school, transmission went again! this is unsafe! I am scared to death to drive my kids around in this vehicle! I almost got into an accident this morning because of it! 3 transmissions in 6 months"! this is a red flag don't you think.. how much longer will GMC not value my life or my families?" something needs to be done about this!

- Westport, MA, USA

problem #21

Mar 292014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 126,464 miles
Vehicle was travelling at 60mph when engine rpms revved excessively high yet vehicle lost power to the wheels. With no acceleration yet engine red lined, attempted to maintain control while braking and pulling to the side of the road. Unable to maintain full control. Vehicle entered non travelled portion of the road (ditch). Issue was later determined to be the reverse wave plate (aka - drive/reverse clutch) requiring complete transmission rebuild.

- Van Meter, IA, USA

problem #20

Mar 262014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 117,439 miles
Broke down, car felt like it would not shift into second gear then just died. Dealer found a cracked wave plate, cracked clutch housing (clutches worn), cylinder excessively worn, torque converter full of metal. No sign of any computer alerts or check engine signals until break-down. Repaired all for $2820.15. Said it would have been covered if under 100,000 miles. Sounds like planned obsolescence, or just poor manufacturing. No more american cars for me.

- Georgetown, MA, USA

problem #19

Mar 102014

Acadia

  • 81,453 miles
My wife was driving home from work when she experienced erratic operation of her vehicle. When taking off at first the vehicle lacked power then suddenly the engine RPM raced and the vehicle lurched forward. The engine speed was uncontrollable with the throttle. At a stop light the vehicle would barely take off and suddenly engine RPM's would race and the vehicle would surge when throttle was applied. The vehicle was driven directly to the GMC dealership on the way home and at that point it was determined the reverse gear was completely inoperative. The transmission failed due to a broken reverse wave plate. Vehicle was delivered new 7/10/09 (less than 5 years). The transmission replacement final billing was $3,906.54.

- Lone Tree, CO, USA

problem #18

Mar 242014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 81,453 miles
The contact owns a 2009 GMC Acadia. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission failed and need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 81,453 and the current mileage was 81,456. Updated 05/29/14 MA updated 06/03/2014

- Lone Tree, CO, USA

problem #17

Feb 232014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Driving on the highway through the mountains the vehicle would shift into neutral and lose all power. After doing this several times we exited. The check engine light came on and we did not have reverse and the transmission would only remain in 1st gear. After taking to dealer he new exactly what it was before even looking at the vehicle... the shift wave plate for reverse, 1st and 5th gear. If this is such a "known" common problem for this vehicle between 60,000 and 70,000 miles why was there not a recall? losing power on the highway (with my family) 100's of miles from home while driving through the mountains of tn (we live in mi) was very dangerous. Finding out this is a common thing for this vehicle is inexcusable for a manufacturer in this day and age to let go without fixing on affected vehicles before it happens.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #16

Sep 202011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I took my 2009 Acadia into the GMC dealer with around 65,000 miles on it after buying it used (1 previous owner) with around 42,000 miles. They told me I had a power steering leak in the rack and pinion and it would cost around $2000 to replace a seal because they have to pull the whole rack off. He told me it would be okay for a while, but eventually it would cause the power steering to go out. After researching, I've seen multiple other Acadia owners who have had the exact same problem. I have refused to pay for the repairs because I think this is a safety issue that has effected enough of this model vehicle to warrant a general safety recall. I know of 3 other people in my hometown who have experienced power steering problems with their Acadia's, and the GMC dealership acknowledged to me that it is a significant problem with GMC Acadia model years 2008-2012. If that's not enough, then I'm not sure what is, but if my power steering goes out while I'm driving, well, let this serve as notice to GMC.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #15

Feb 172014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
My transmission (wave plate clutch) went out while I was driving. I am registering this because I have come across a forum on edmonds.com consisting of over 38 pages of customer complaints regarding the 2008 - 2010 Acadia having transmission problems around 75K miles, just outside of warranty. The cost to repair ranges from $2200 to $4500. Someone recently suggested that owners start officially registering our complaints. GM is aware that faulty transmissions are putting their owners at risk of loss of control of vehicle functions while driving, yet they will not take ownership of the issue.

- Auoroa, CO, USA

problem #14

Jun 072013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Current issue is a transmission failure, apparently the "3-5-R waveplate." Five months prior, my wife and children were traveling out of state. They experienced a sudden loss of power and were stranded on a rural highway not once, but twice. The vehicle was towed in to a GM dealership, "repairs" were performed under warranty, and we were told we could pick up our car. My wife (again with children in the car) made it less than 10 miles from the dealership before the engine failed again. This time on the bridge of a major highway....no where to even exit the vehicle. After the second incident the engine was replaced (after 3+ weeks of diagnostic work). We were told the dealership was not able to identify the problem that caused the engine failure. Engine was replaced under warranty. Transmission had been shifting erratically for several months. At time of engine failure/replacement, GM dealership that performed the engine replacement advised us that the transmission shifts/slips were "normal" for this particular transmission. They advised a transmission fluid flush, which we authorized. Shifting remained abrupt, slipping continued, but as we were advised this was "normal", we continued driving the vehicle and did not seek further repair. Two weeks ago, (now at 82000 miles, but six weeks out of 5 yr warranty), the slippage became distinctly more evident, vehicle at one point wound not continue forward motion through an intersection and had to be idled to roadside. After multiple calls, we were advised to take the vehicle to a local GM dealership. Diagnosis of 3-5-R waveplate failure was given. This transmission waveplate failure is a well documented issue that can cause driver and/or passengers to be put at serious risk for injury. Our hope is that an investigation will take place to require GM to recall/repair this issue before someone is needlessly harmed.

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #13

Jun 242013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Current issue is a transmission failure, apparently the "3-5-R waveplate." Five months prior, my wife and children were traveling out of state. They experienced a sudden loss of power and were stranded on a rural highway not once, but twice. The vehicle was towed in to a GM dealership, "repairs" were performed under warranty, and we were told we could pick up our car. My wife (again with children in the car) made it less than 10 miles from the dealership before the engine failed again. This time on the bridge of a major highway....no where to even exit the vehicle. After the second incident the engine was replaced (after 3+ weeks of diagnostic work). We were told the dealership was not able to identify the problem that caused the engine failure. Engine was replaced under warranty. Transmission had been shifting erratically for several months. At time of engine failure/replacement, GM dealership that performed the engine replacement advised us that the transmission shifts/slips were "normal" for this particular transmission. They advised a transmission fluid flush, which we authorized. Shifting remained abrupt, slipping continued, but as we were advised this was "normal", we continued driving the vehicle and did not seek further repair. Two weeks ago, (now six weeks out of warranty), the slippage became distinctly more evident, vehicle at one point wound not continue forward motion through an intersection and had to be idled to roadside. After multiple calls, we were advised to take the vehicle to a local GM dealership. Diagnosis of 3-5-R waveplate failure was given. This transmission waveplate failure is a well documented issue that can cause driver and/or passengers to be put at serious risk for injury. Our hope is that an investigation will take place to require GM to recall/repair this issue before someone is needlessly harmed.

- Dixon, IL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?