If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,900 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 GMC Envoy electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

May 152015

Envoy

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. While driving at 65 mph, the instrument cluster became inoperable. The contact stated that the window switches also became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #43

Jun 012015

Envoy

  • 169,000 miles
I noticed a electrical burning smell while driving on a side street. The engine made an unusual noise so I pulled over, turned the car off and put on the hazard lights. While waiting for the tow truck, the car started with no key in the ignition. The car ran for a short time then stopped and attempted to restart itself about 5 times. Our mechanic took a look at it and said there had been a fire in the fuse box. I took pictures of the charred remains of the fuse box, cover and connectors. Most of the plastic connectors under the fuse box could not be removed because they had melted and were fused onto the box. He noted the fire seemed to originate from fuse 46, the headlamp driver module. For the past few years, I had been experiencing headlight and tail light issues involving bulbs that were burning out frequently or were going out then coming back on.

- Raymore, MO, USA

problem #42

Feb 142015

Envoy

  • 198,000 miles
My car started going nuts the wipers wouldnt turn off the seats wont move the doors wont lock the heaters off and hot air comes out tru ventilatos

- Donaldson, PA, USA

problem #41

Dec 022013

Envoy

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the key failed to release from the ignition switch. The contact was able to release the key after several attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 3/24/15

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #40

May 052009

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
I purchased my Envoy new with 243 miles & have been the sole owner. My security light goes on & off intermittently & the vehicle won't start for 10-20 minute time periods. There is no apparent pattern w/when this will occur. I have been stranded in areas that I do not feel safe, oftentimes with my young children in the vehicle. I initially took the vehicle to albert GMC, where I purchased it (no longer in service, so exact date/mileage unknown). Diagnostics returned multiple codes, all related to the security system. They recommended that I have the remote starter removed that was professionally installed 11/2008. R&R car audio removed the remote starter & ran all of the wiring to assure it was sound. I next went to automotive specialists. Service history: 11/9/10: Ran multiple diagnostics, unable to determine problem or replicate. 1/19/11: Replaced ignition lock cylinder & case, at my insistence, based on online forums. 3/11/11: Ran multiple diagnostics, unable to determine problem or replicate. 5/6/11: Replaced ignition starter switch, at my insistence, based on online forums. 9/23/11: Multiple diagnostics, unable to determine problem or replicate. 9/19/13: Replaced ignition starter switch (again), at my insistence. 11/18/13: Shop had vehicle for a week, attempting to get the problem to replicate, without luck. I have spent a good amount of $ and time/inconvenience in attempts to remedy the starting issue. At GM's direction 6 weeks ago, I took the Envoy back to a dealership, [xxx], & had to pay another diagnostic fee, which only showed that the passlock sensor was bad. I had the passlock sensor replaced 1/19/11 & experienced the starting issue again within 2 months. GM would not guarantee their part since it was not installed by an authorized dealer, even though it was a GM certified part. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #39

Jul 072014

Envoy

  • 106,000 miles
Wife mentioned the instrument cluster ( R.P.M. ) & ( voltage ) /w/ the ( check engine light ) are on. Mileage=approx :106,000 this is a G.M.C factory flaw in many Envoy built. Electrician asleep at there posts on this issue, and said others too!! other issues are minor in repair and usage dictated by age, not a recall item but listed anyway for viewing. Seat--electrical-driver side- front left facing lift bracket arm-- broke at weld.can be repaired. Center floor front console --loose " not yet investigated as to why. Rear back hatch floor carpet ruined by former owners --unknown spill ate carpeting like battery acid spill." Other then a few minor glitches in a ( note ) ( used ) vehicle...we can handle it. Note: All other systems operate as they are designed to do.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #38

Jun 182014

Envoy

  • 73,134 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that after turning off her ignition, the doors locked leaving her trapped in the car. There was no warning prior to the failure. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 73,134.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #37

Feb 112011

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
The car dies for no reason it has been doing this since the first day I got the car. The car also functions like it has hydrolics for a while it will be low to the ground while I'm driving it then out of no where it would raise up I had to get the suspension done when I got it because it was old and also the key gets stuck in the ignition also if I press the unlock button it will turn on the heat this car has been a headache.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #36

Nov 012013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the speedometer would provide erroneous readings of 120 mph and the tachometer provided an erroneous reading of zero. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 121,000 and the approximate current mileage was 128,000.

- Sprinng City , PA, USA

problem #35

Dec 072013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 146,474 miles
Drove to work Saturday night 12/07/2013 parked car at 7:30 pm went in to work.came out to my car at 10:00pm for break to see my car smoking the passengers heated seat turned it's self on at some point and was on fire burning the seat and my cooler that was sitting on the seat was on fire and smoke filled the car was making it hard to breath the smoke was thick and smelled toxic. Me and my fellow employees dumped snow on and under the seat from as far, away as we could till the smoke calmed down.to get the fire out.I am so grateful I was not driving or there was no person sitting on the seat at the time could of caused me to wreck myself or others.on my drive home could not use the heat due to the fumes being to strong with the windows up and heat on had to drive with no heat and windows down 40 minutes with the temps in the teens.

- Greenwood , IN, USA

problem #34

Aug 272013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 143,084 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After six months having purchased this used vehicle from a local dealer, I noticed that the driver's door was not working properly, nor were the power window devices, controls, power locks and also the visibility of driver's rear window. I noticed that the door would overheat and sometimes I can smell an odor similar to when something is burning. I have taken the vehicle to a mechanic and finding the solution to the problem has been difficult. On June 2013, I read on the msn website that the GMC Envoy for 2006 and 2007 were being recalled (recall #13V248000) in regards to driver's master power window switch. Since I am having this same problem, with my 2003 Envoy, I called GMC and explained to her that I am having that same issue with my 2003 Envoy. She indicated that GMC would pay for the diagnostic fee labor even though my car's mileage was not under warranty and that the recall was only for 2006 & 2007 Envoy. She connected me to [xxx] for an appt. With balise the following day. She assigned a case number 71-1219059371. The following day, August 28, 2013, I went to my appointment at 11 am. And left my car. About an hour later, I get a call from GMC indicating to me that she was sorry, but that GMC could not cover the cost of diagnostic fee labor. I said, "that is not what you told me yesterday" and she replied, "I am sorry, I was not authorized to tell you that". I said to her, "I wouldn't have taken time off from work, ask for a ride, be without transportation if you had told me that before". I also said to her, "how can you tell me you are covering the cost yesterday and today change your mind". all she responded was, "I am sorry". I asked to speak to her supervisor by the name of [xxx] and the supervisor just said that her employee was not authorized to say to me that GMC would cover the cost. I still have the same safety issue.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #33

Aug 122013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
Driving in a school zone of 25 miles per hour and began to smell a rotten egg smell. The gauges on the dash remained normal. Pulled over at the next parking lot of a tractor supply and turned the car off. Smoke was coming from under the hood. Opened the hood and saw immediately where the smoke was coming from. We disconnected the battery first the positive, then the car started on its own, without a key in the ignition. Finally got the battery disconnected and the smoke continued. The result was a melted fuse box relay block a hole all the way through and a damaged electrical harness. The car is not drivable. It was towed. A claim was turned into geico and was denied by the insurance company. The repair estimate is somewhere between $1000-2500 to repair. I have noticed through research that this is not an uncommon problem with this vehicle. We have owned this vehicle from the showroom floor till now. No problems, warnings, etc. What to do now?

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #32

Mar 262013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked, there was a buzzing noise coming from the drivers side door control module. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. The current mileage was 97,000.

- Homer Glen, IL, USA

problem #31

May 062013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Started car and none of my gauges were working. This happened another time about three months ago and the next day when I started my car it was fine. So I was hoping it would happen again and it would fix itself. It didn't! I've read this was a recall on 2004 to 2008 why not 03 I've read several sites that its a common problem in that year also. Took to GMC dealer after being told no fee for diagnose to pull panel after sitting an hour waiting now cost $150 and turns out its a cluster problem. Part is 375 plus another 200 for labor.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #30

May 122011

Envoy

  • 53,000 miles
While driving, several indicator lights came on in the instrument panel. (ABS, seatbelt, battery primarily) these lights stay on for a while and then go off, one by one. After putting the car in park, the battery life meter dropped to zero. I turned the car off and the car would not re-start. After having it towed to a repair shop, the battery itself tested that it was good. I replaced the battery, anyway, hoping it solved the issues, but the lights on the instrument panel continue to turn on while driving. After a day or so, they turn off and then days later will come on again. I have had this car checked multiple times by two different repair shops and neither could find a solution outside of replacing the instrument panel. After searching the internet, this seems to be a known problem with this car and other GMC models have been recalled for the same problem. Why hasn't the Envoy been included? it's obviously a problem with this model as well. (although, other than the airbag recall, I have never received notices about any other recalls regarding my vehicle even though it appears there have been other issues).

- Mcarthur, OH, USA

problem #29

Jan 062012

Envoy

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that all the gauges on the instrument panel failed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the entire instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 108,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #28

Feb 082009

Envoy

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2003 GMC Envoy. Two years ago the speedometer started sticking. It now does not keep the speed at all. My RPM (when in park) will rev up to 2 or 3rpm, my gas gauge has now started to sometimes not show I have any gas, the check engine light is on almost all the time, my air conditioner will blow out the back vent and barely come out of the front vent when I have it up full blast. And to top it off my back brake lights constantly burn out.. I have read numerous forums where many people are having some of these same issues but no recall. I don't understand that at all. I definitely think these bad instrument panels call for a recall!! this is a safety issue. I eventually had to cut a hole in the plastic over the speedometer and before it quit completely working when we would go on vacation, we would have to pull over on busy highways every 20 minutes or so to set the speedometer back to zero so it wouldn't show me going 120mph. Of course I can't even do that now. I'm just amazed I haven't ended up with a ticket for my speed or my running or brake lights. We have taken the Envoy in to the shop and they told us we would have to take the car in to a GM dealer. I have to take it back in this week to have air worked on and who knows how much that will cost. I don't believe I should be responsible to pay over $500 for parts and labor in a car that is clearly defective and should be recalled. Please help!!

- Frankfort, IN, USA

problem #27

Jun 012011

Envoy

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact noticed that the speedometer was inoperable and she was unable to determine how fast or slow she was traveling. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for service. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who was unable to duplicate the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 92,000.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #26

Jan 052011

Envoy 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the instrument panel gauges would fail sporadically or provide inaccurate readings including the speedometer and the fuel level gauge. The vehicle was neither inspected nor repaired for the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000 and the current mileage was 110,000. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/11/11

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #25

Aug 282009

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Instrument panel cluster is failing. My speedometer has totally quit working.my gas gauge is starting to fail also. I checked on the internet and found that GMC has admitted the stepping motors are defective, on the instrument panel cluster gauges for my 2003 GMC Envoy. A class lawsuit has been filed, according to the internet.according to the internet, this is a common problem for 2003-2007 GMC's. the cost of the repair is appx. $800. I cannot afford this repair. I am forced to drive without knowing my correct speed, due to the speedometer not working. Soon I will not know....how much gas I have in my GMC. According to the internet my other gauges will soon fail. I purchased my GMC brand new for $38,000. I feel my GMC Envoy is unsafe, due to the reasons I have just listed. I feel GMC should pay for this repair as, it is unsafe for me to operate the GMC like this. I would like to be included in the class action lawsuit. The failure is constant...no speedometer. This could cause my to drive over the legal speed limit with out my knowledge, which is unsafe. I have done nothing to correct the failure as yet. At this time I cannot afford the cost of the repair.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?