Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 GMC Sierra 1500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 GMC Sierra 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 GMC Sierra 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Apr 112016

Sierra 1500

  • 85,506 miles


The gear shift indicator light has gone from dim to no light at all so you can not see what gear you are in. This happens anytime the vehicle is running.

- Middletown, RI, USA

problem #36

Jan 152015

Sierra 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Sierra 1500. When the vehicle was placed into gear, the contact noticed that the gear selector was barely illuminated. The failure progressively worsened and the contact had to memorize in what gear the vehicle was placed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 138,000. Updated 06/15/16 the consumer stated the led shift indicator display had faded, and he was unable to determine what gear the vehicle was in. Updated 06/22/16.

- Laura, OH, USA

problem #35

Sep 052015

Sierra 1500

  • 105,000 miles
The running light sockets burned out. I can send you the burned out socket but need an address.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #34

Jan 012015

Sierra 1500

  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 GMC Sierra 1500. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, all the lights on the instrument panel began flashing intermittently. Also, the headlights turned on and off independently, the speedometer and temperature gauges showed inaccurate readings. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where it was diagnosed with electrical failures on the computer system. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Mitchell, NE, USA

problem #33

Oct 272014

Sierra 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Ignition switch is sticking in run position. I have to turn the switch back after cranking to turn off the ABS /parking brake light. Tried a new switch didn't solve the problem. Is this part of the recall problem.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #32

Nov 052014

Sierra 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
November 5, 2014: Turn key and symptom of a dead battery. Starter clicks once. No lights will work at all. Took battery out, charged it overnight, and had it tested. Test reveals battery is good (should start vehicle) but weak (needs a charge). Put battery back in, connected it, put key in, turned it, and vehicle started easily.............. Nov. 15, 2014: Turn key but, electrical system is completely dead. Then, take key out for five minutes, put back in, and starts right up like nothing wrong.

- Effort, PA, USA

problem #31

Jun 072011

Sierra 1500

  • miles


The drive indicator on my dash board cluster does not light up and show what gear im in. Called before because there is a recall for this year and model of truck but my VIN was not included in recall but I have the same issue.

- Kalispell, MT, USA

problem #30

May 132013

Sierra 1500 8-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The rear speakers on my 2005 GMC Sierra 1500 crew cab quit working and haven't came back on. I have been to different forums and this seems to be a very common occurrence.

- Delphos, OH, USA

problem #29

Jan 212013

Sierra 1500 8-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Speedometer shows incorrect speed by aprox. 20 mph less than the actual speed at times.

- Feeding Hills, MA, USA

problem #28

Jan 082013

Sierra 1500

  • 101,562 miles
Speedometer reading erratically. 20mph when parked, sometimes 40 when parked. Unable to determine actual speed. Apparently this is affecting thousands of GM vehicles and GM knows about this issue but won't do anything about it. Maybe a class action lawsuit is in order? a silent recall is in place if you have less than 80K miles, if your vehicle falls within the range of VIN #'s, if it happened on a day that doesn't end in Y. GM needs to be responsible and stand behind their product. Especially if they know its a safety issue.

- Center Point, IA, USA

problem #27

Jun 202012

Sierra 1500 8-cyl

  • miles


I bought my GMC used in 2008 and I had no problems until a June of 2012 when my speedometer started to get my speed totally wrong. At times it would say I was driving over 120 mph or when in idle it would even say the same thing. The speedometer picks a different speed daily. Just a few weeks ago in July of 2012 my gas gauge went completely out so I have no idea how much gas it left in my truck. I have to guess by mileage now in hopes that my electrical doesn't go completely out now.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 012007

Sierra 1500

  • 50,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Sierra 1500. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact noticed that the speedometer was not providing a reading. The dealer was made aware of the failure and the technician stated that the instrument cluster would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,200.

- Sycamore, OH, USA

problem #25

May 012011

Sierra 1500

  • 100,000 miles
ODI #10403836, 2005 GMC 1500 Sierra, VIN#, complete failure of dash instruments, started with the oil gauge, then the RPM indicator, now the speedometer, runs up to 120 mph several times a week only going at unknown, unsafe speed which I can only assume to be the legal limit of 70 mph, this is a safety issue as well as a monetary loss for accidents and or speeding tickets. In addition the instrument light for the transmission does not work and you can not tell what gear you are in another potentially dangerous situation, on top of that the check engine light comes on repeatedly causing minor repair costs each time it occurs. There has to be customer recourse, when this originally started the dealership stated that not to worry as soon a recall would be issued as it had for the prior years, as yet no official recall other than the transmission panel light failure which currently covers 7,194 vehicles but GMC states that mine is not covered? one wonders why when they say quality it is a Japanese auto! if indeed all of the consumers with a complaint for this particular problem would gather under a legal action, I am sure that GMC would have to comply and repair and some point in time. I have owned GMC autos and trucks all of my life, I currently have a 77 chev. Pick up the instrumental panel still works, I have a 1995 GMC Sierra the instrument panel still works, I have left instructions with my family that if I am in a wreck due to excessive speed and or mistakenly place the vehicle in the wrong gear and back over a cliff that they are to sue GMC. My next action is a class action law suit.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #24

May 312011

Sierra 1500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Sierra 1500. The contact stated that the instrumental panel failed and the gauges were not reading accurately. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic and they advised the contact that the instrumental cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised him that he was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #23

Jul 012007

Sierra 1500 4-cyl

  • miles
Truck is now 6 years old, just over 70,000 miles. 3 to 4 years ago (maybe more) the #5 speed on the air system blower stopped working. Perhaps last summer or fall, I checked the fuses: All good. I finally found the wiring harness plug to the fan and found the #5 line had melted insulation and the surface of the contact prongs blackened. I sanded them and reinstalled the plug. All speeds worked, for a while, but soon became intermittent. Then all speeds stopped working totally. At last, I remembered that I still had an extended warranty with mastertech, checked it and was able to get the harness replaced under the warranty. The workman who did the repair said that this item was a common problem with the 2005 Sierra. While I do now have a working fan control, I am afraid to use the #5 fan speed.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #22

Feb 062011

Sierra 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Speedometer doesn't work correctly, reading 60 mph when we were traveling approx 40. Also bulbs burned out in it making it unreadable at night. Bulbs are non-replaceable in this instrument cluster, so you need to replace entire cluster to fix bulb issue. Poor design, expensive, and annoying problem at only 99,000 miles.

- Grand Forks, ND, USA

problem #21

Dec 152010

Sierra 1500 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Speedometer fluxuate sporadically, wrong speed showing. Took to dealer, diagnosis as component failure. GMC acknowledge problem, but refuse to recall. Dealer will replace odometer if less than 80,000 miles.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #20

Aug 022010

Sierra 1500

  • 70,000 miles
Speedometer failed at 68,000 miles. It sticks all the way past 120 mph. Can't see how fast I'm going, dealer refuses to fix it. Tried three dealers.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #19

Oct 012010

Sierra 1500

  • 129,540 miles
Speedometer failure. Very dangerous - while trying to resume speed on an interstate I nearly crashed into the interstate barrier/wall on a curve the other night because the speedometer read 70. I then slowed to "stay with the flow" and speedometer read 35 (assuming traffic was driving the speed limit of 70). Now it start of ok and then before you know it will start to drop and after a stop will stay at 0 while driving interstate speeds, will stick at 55 when probably going about 10. It is all over the place. The failure is now daily and is far too dangerous to my family and I to drive. Hope this gets recalled quickly before it causes deaths.

- Parkville, MO, USA

problem #18

May 212010

Sierra 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Sierra 1500. While driving at 65 mph, the contact noticed that the ABS light illuminated on the instrument panel. An hour later, the contact noticed that the vehicle displayed difficulty stopping. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the driver side tire was tilted and smoke and flames had began rising from behind the wheel. The contact called the fire department but no report was filed. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 49,000. Updated 07/26/10. Updated 08/06/10

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?