Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,315 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 082010

Civic

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Side curtain airbags of our 2006 Honda Civic deployed when the passenger door was slammed.

- Gilboa, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 312010

Civic

  • 47,000 miles
The dash airbag inop red light went on and off then it just remained on. On occasion it would go on and off. The dealer diagnosed the left curtain airbag sensor was defective. I have the extended mechanical insurance and filed a claim. I returned to the dealer for repairs and it was a loose wire and some kind of clip installed to fix problem on 9-16-10.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #14

Apr 012010

Civic

  • 58,000 miles
Beginning in April of 2010 my SRS indicator, airbag light, would come on and off while driving randomly. I brought it to the dealership and they stated the diagnostic that came up was for a faulty side airbag. It will cost me $1150 to fix, for which I do not have, and they stated faulty airbags were not covered under warranty. I have not fixed it and am going to try to have to warranty cover this. My car is a 2006 Honda Civic with about 59,600 miles on it.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #13

Mar 212010

Civic

  • 98,263 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was at a stop sign on Sunday 5pm on driver's side window I went to close the window the window shot straight up off the track I was able to catch it before it hit ground the driver's side window is now unusable.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #12

Mar 282008

Civic

  • 20,000 miles
My previous 2006 Honda Civic LX 2 door coupe was involved in a front and rear end crash and none of the airbags deployed. I was at a complete stop in traffic and was rear ended. The car in front and the car behind me both had their airbags deploy. The car behind rear ended me and then I hit the car in front of me and that car into another car in front of that and another car in front of that 5 cars involved. I contacted Honda Motors usa concerning this and they told me the reaction by my car was "normal" under the circumstances. My insurance totaled the vehicle. Only up until now did I know where and how to file a complaint. I feel this was an error and a failure of the vehicle. Luckily nobody was hurt in this accident.

- Nyack, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 202009

Civic

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic ex. While driving approximately 45 mph he heard a loud popping noise, and then the front driver seat belt retractor system failed. Next the "air bag" warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. After turning off the engine the front driver side air bag deployed without warrant. However he noticed that the "side air bag turn off" warning light intermittently illuminated on the instrument control panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician was unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle was inoperable and has not been repaired for the malfunction. The failure and current mileages were 66,000.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #10

Sep 282009

Civic

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag deployed while driving under normal conditions at appx 30 mph 2006 Honda Civic w appx 30,000 miles drivers side curtain airbag and drivers seat airbag.

- Whitestone, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 242008

Civic

  • 18,900 miles
I own a 2006 Honda Civic suburu blue in which there has been no recall. For air bag deployment. Two weeks after my warranty was over, passenger side air bag went off, bruising my 250 lb male friend. Driver's side air bag did not deploy. There was no accident involved, I was just driving into a driveway. Both seat belts do not work. Called my case manager and he said I would have to pay for it myself. I am disabled female and driving without seat belts that could result in a hefty fine. Please advise. Thank you.

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 092009

Civic

  • 32,000 miles
The side and side curtain airbags deployed in my 2006 Honda Civic ex coupe on the night of Friday, January 9, 2009 when my fiancee shut the door. I was still inside, about to get out. It sounded like an M18 going off. I couldn't believe what had happened. My car was turned off, nonetheless! I called the dealership that I bought it from on Monday morning (as the service department was closed on the weekend), and they were going to charge me a $95 diagnostic fee even though my car is still under 36,000 bumper to bumper warranty. I brought it to another Honda dealership, where is still sitting, because I am in a catch 22. Honda claims there is nothing wrong with the airbag sensors; they are not defective. I filed an official complaint with Honda America and they told me to consult my insurance. My insurance doesn't see how they can cover it. Even with an attorney, a Honda representative to the dealership says that Honda will not pay for the repairs. Apparently, they assume I am lying when there is clearly no physical evidence of an impact, and it is perfectly acceptable for airbags to deploy when car doors are tugged or slammed, even when the car is not running and keys are not in the ignition. It happens everyday! the technicians at the dealership contrived an absurd idea that my fiance and I must have been playing tug - of - war with the car door (me on the inside and he on the outside or vise versa). If that were the case, one of us would be battered and bruised. I arrive at my point. Even if the door had been slammed, or been the obstacle in a game of tug of war, it is not acceptable for airbags to deploy spontaneously! if someone had been sitting in the passenger's seat when this happened, I can only imagine what would have happened. What if my future stepson or stepdaughter were in the seat? I am appalled and frustrated (to say the least) with Honda's lack of responsibility and I will never purchase another Honda again (and I have always owned one).

- Nederland, TX, USA

problem #7

Oct 282008

Civic

  • 59,574 miles
I was driving down a country road at about 55 miles per hour when my driver's side airbag went off without provocation. It sounded like a shotgun had gone off beside my left ear. I was stunned and my ear felt like it was full of cotton. There were no cars in sight at the time and no curbs. I pulled off the road after realizing what had happened. The car was full of dust and my seatbelt was so tight that I felt like it was crushing me. The side seat airbag had deployed as well. I took my 2006 Honda Civic to the service department at the dealership, where I was told that it had been set off by damage done to the underside of the car by merely driving over a curb, which happened about 9 months ago. Honda refused to acknowledge that this was not the normal function of the airbag and refused to cover the cost of fixing it, although it was still under warranty. My insurance company refused to pay because there was no accident involved. Honda's estimated cost of repair was $2787 and they charged me $51.29 to give me that estimate. My car is still not repaired.

- Quincy, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 182008

Civic

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were driving through a new neighborhood that was still undeveloped. The passenger side impact airbags deployed when I hit a raised sewer drain with my foot on the brake. I would estimate approx. Speed of 10mph. The side airbag deployed and hit my wife in her head and arm. She incurred a headache and bruise on her right arm. The incident filled the vehicle with the airbag dust and I immediately pulled over as my wife was screaming and crying in pain. I cannot understand why the passenger side airbag deployed at such a low rate of speed and with impact only to the underside of the vehicle, which caused damage to the inside of the car pillars and injury to my wife.

- Port Tobacco, MD, USA

problem #5

Aug 162008

Civic

  • 27,300 miles
The passenger side airbags in my 2006 Honda Civic coup deployed for no apparent reason. The initial inspection from the dealership, where purchased, (Honda of lise) or the eventual repair shop who was recommended by hartford insurance could find no reason for the deployment. The only comment from Honda of America was that it was not a "defect", no cause was given by any Honda associate at any time. The repair shop (terry's in frankfort il), was very concerned because reloading the air bags was not an issue, but knowing whether the cause was resolved was an issue with them. They are a certified shop with hartford insurance. The vehicle had only 27,300 miles and was less than 3 years old. Luckily the incident occurred at a very low rate of speed (5 - 10 mph), after pulling away from a stop sign. Several week earlier we had driven from Florida to Chicago with no incidents. Had this happened in a 70 mile per hour zone, what would have been the consequences" I have done some research on the internet and have seen the same issue with the same year and model. I have to ask if this had happened at 60 or 70 miles an hour - who would know what happened first - the air bag deployment or the accident? I have to admit, at that high of a speed - I don't know whether I would know for sure. When those air bags deploy, the noise is deafening, the car fills with gas and in my case - because my arm was on the arm rest, the back of the seat gives your arm a very painful whack. Now what happens when it goes off on the drivers side at high speed??? I further question whether this has happened in the past, and people have lost their lives? who would be the wiser? a horrible accident where the air bags deployed, people were killed, but not in the suspected or assumed sequence. Who would be left to answer the questions" I can honestly say that had this happened at interstate speeds that I may not know which happened first - the accident or the air bags. Thanks.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 212007

Civic

  • 50,000 miles
Approx in the month of December 2006 my airbag light came on. I brought the car to the dealer to inspect the defect. Was notified everything was normal and when I left the dealer the light was no longer on. On July 21, 2007 the passenger side airbag deployed while closing the passenger door, the vehicle was not running. The curtain and seat both deployed. Followed up with an appointment at pompano Honda. Service manager informed me it should be covered by american Honda due to safety issues. The rep came into the dealer to inspect the vehicle and denied the claim. He said that the deployment was due to impact in on my bumper which previously happened a year prior to the deployment. I since then have had to pay $1500 to cover the repair. I feel as if this should have been covered through american Honda as a safety issue defect. I am referring to you for possible assistance in reviewing this issue on my behalf. Honda would not allow me access to my service file and photographs the rep took of my vehicle, which denied my claim. Pompano Honda told me the photographs were property of Honda. I have taken pictures on the alleged bumper damage which they contend created the deployment. Please contact me for further assistance.

- Riverhead, NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 242007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
I was the driver of a 2006 Honda Civic and was struck in the drivers side door and received a head injury requiring six staples. No airbags ever deployed.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #2

Dec 192006

Civic

  • miles
My son got out of a friends car and slammed the door and the side air bags deployed. It's a 2 door 2006 Honda Civic. Honda says there is nothing wrong with the car and it does not fall under warranty. The air bags and headliner are having to be replaced, but I feel this is a real safety issue. Honda kept the old parts.

- Fountain Inn, SC, USA

problem #1

Oct 092006

Civic 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 25 mph on city streets, the passenger and both side air bags deployed without warning. The contact sustained minor injuries. The vehicle was driven to the dealer who could not determine the cause of the deployment.

- La Puente, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?