Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Oct 222015

Civic

  • 193,782 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 4 Goodyear viva 2 tires, from walmart on 10/27/2014, for the first few months they were great. After awhile I kept needing to get them rebalanced due to vibrating, they started getting louder and louder. Had to keep getting my car aligned every other month. Today on 10/22/2015, driving straight on cruise control at 70mph on interstate 376, I started hearing this awful noise, I thought it was a wheel bearing that kept going bad. Then the car wouldn't accelerate, and I started smelling burnt rubber and smoke coming out of the back. I pulled off the closet exit and into the closet parking lot, to find that the tire had blown out on the side wall. I went to the walmart that I purchased these tires from. Since I purchased road hazard they replaced the tire at a prorated rate. But they don't sell viva 2's anymore, they replaced it with a viva 3. the other 3 viva's on the car, are now wearing abnormal on the sidewall, walmart insists that I curbed them and that was the problem, when I know I never did. So they wont replace them unless something happens to them or there is a recall. I even had to call corporate to try and get the replaced and they didnt want to hear it. If it was a front tire and me going 70mph, that probably wouldn't have ended so pretty. I'm scared to drive my car with these tires on.

- New Middletown, OH, USA

problem #44

Jan 062014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
First night of subzero temperatures we have had in twenty years. Tire popped leaving two holes in the side wall. Tire says on it that it is steel belted but there weren't any steel belts visible. Tire brand not listed on tire selection page. Champiro 328 GT radial 205/55 R16 91H dot 9uh9.

- West. Carrollton, OH, USA

problem #43

Jul 012013

Civic

  • 143,306 miles
With my seven year old car I have gone through numerous tires. Always replacing them due to the alignment on my car which I have been told is nothing that can be fixed. This is way beyond costly and I don't think that we should have to keep paying for Honda's mistakes. I will just be driving down the road then randomly my tires will blow out. Something needs to be done about this.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #42

Apr 032006

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am on my 8th pair of tires with my vehicle. My tires wear out prematurely and cause heavy vibrations while driving. The tires get noticeable flat spots on them and the tread wears very thin on the inside of the tires. 2 years ago we became extremely close to have one tire blow out on us as it was worn almost through the entire tire. I believe this is a very dangerous problem that Honda should deal with. They have come out with a kit for the rear upper control arms that are "suppose" to fix the problem. I took my car in to have the arms replaced, first Honda regional service manager said they would not pay for the repair. Second, they put the upgraded control arms on the car and they still couldn't get the tires aligned properly, so thirdly I have to wait so they can order some after-market control arms to hopefully fix the problem. You can plainly see when the car is sitting on a flat surface that the tires are slanted too much. It is so obvious that if they couldn't see it at production, they should think about their hiring process. This is dangerous, and people shouldn't have to pay for problems that are caused by the manufacturer.

- North Judson, IN, USA

problem #41

Jul 312007

Civic 4-cyl

  • 26,211 miles
Multiple sets of tires replaced due to premature tire wear on rear tires. Honda tsb 08-001 recognizes geometry issue of negative camber on the vehicle. This is a safety concern for me as I didn't know the tires were wearing prematurely until I had the tires inspected. The handling is affected due to a roaring or thumping vibration coming from the rear of the vehicle. New tires wear in less than 10,000 miles causing undue burden on the consumers part to replace the tires in order to maintain the safety of the vehicle. Honda will not repair the vehicle as it is out of warranty and repairs must be covered by the consumer.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #40

Jun 252012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Excessive rear tire wear and cupping of tires causing extreme vibration at speeds above 60 mph. Rear tires only last approx. 30,000 before inner half of tire is complete bald.

- Jersey Shore, PA, USA

problem #39

Jan 012007

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2006 Honda Civic as a brand new car and early on began having extremely uneven wear on my rear tires. The local Honda dealership replaced something with the rear control arms within the first couple of years, stating that Honda believed this would correct the issue. The issue has continued over the past several years, resulting in uneven tire wear (cupping of the tires) and tires that have to be replaced very frequently. The tires appear to look fine on the outside, but are dangerously worn on the inside. I have researched online and it seems that many, many others from 2006-2009 Honda Civics seem to be having the exact same issue.

- Jacksonville, AL, USA

problem #38

Feb 102012

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the car in August 2010. Per the Honda service bulletin issued Feb 2008 (which I was unaware of til the problem), I have had a mechanic confirm my complaints/problem--uneven/rapid rear tire wear, a very loud roaring noise from the rear, and vibration at highway speed--meaning I have a faulty rear upper control arm kit. I have called Honda and they said since it's not a "recall" they will not replace this. Their service bulletin clearly states I need a new rear upper control arm kit, replace the flange bolts too, which also means alignment with purchase of new tires.

- Grimes, IA, USA

problem #37

Jul 252006

Civic 4-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
Rear tires wear out prematurely on the inner side of the tire. The more visible outside of the tire reveals a safe amount of remaining tread while the inside may be completely gone. First set of tires was replaced after 12,500 miles due to a flat tire on the rear left of vehicle. Air was leaking out through the steel belts on the inner side of the left rear tire. The outer side of the tire's tread was well above the replacement marks located in the tread. As of 7 December 2011, a Honda service center wanted $465 to correct the problem that was addressed in Honda tsb 08-001.

- Mardela Springs, MD, USA

problem #36

Jun 012010

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a used(2nd owner) 2006 Honda Civic in June 2010 with approx 60,000km. With a full inspection serviced by Honda and a brand new set of tires(98% tread). Since then I have only put on 25,000km and have already taking my car into the shop on 3 different occassions for severve "cupping" or uneven wear on the rear tires, after 25,000km I have already purchased another set of tires and those ones too are badly "cupping". 2 sets of new tires in under 2 years is not right! I have contacted Honda and they said " they haven't heard of problems with Honda doing that" and said "that since I had my tires bought and serviced at a tire store, it is their concern!" they are not owning up or even regonizing the obvious defect that this car has.they offered to fix the issue for an amout of $900" are you kidding me? this is not a maintence issue or a part replacement it is a defect!!!! I should not have to pay for this, I should definately not have to pay for new tire every year either. I have read on www.carcomplaints.com 48 different complaints about the exact same issue I am having with my 06 Honda Civic. This is a dangerous issue and needs to be addressed. Why is this not a recall??" I am so upset with Honda, I will never buy their "lemon" products again.

- Kamloops, CA, USA

problem #35

Jul 052011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

12 tires in 3 years?? yes we have put 80,000 miles on the car, but this is extreme! the last flat occurred on the highway, at 70 miles per hour, (thank god, there wasn't a major accident!)and when we went to repair or replace it we were informed that another tire, was extremely bald with no tread except on the outside, which made it difficult for anyone to notice. (I had bought a tire 2 weeks previous!! I never saw a tire this bald and rippled with bare spots all around...these tires were bought last Oct. And are 60,000 mile tires. We then went to the dealership because of this and a loud noise and were told the bearing from the transmission to the axle needs to be replaced.... $600....but will I still need more new tires soon"?" the expense of maintaining this car (thousands of dollars for tires!!!, and has drained our savings, we still have 2 more years of payments and want a solution from Honda and believe if there is a rear axle problem, causing loud noise and quickly worn tires, they should correct it and reimburse us!! you buy an expensive hybrid to save on gas and less pollution and get robbed on maintenance, safety and comfort.

- Lady Lake, FL, USA

problem #34

Sep 242007

Civic 4-cyl

  • 33,267 miles
Need 4th set of tires at 116,00 miles.just recently, Honda dealer advised that rear control arm must be replaced. Found Honda tsb08-001 that indicated the rear control arm is defective. Had service completed which cost $500 and Honda offered no assistance.

- Baldwin, MD, USA

problem #33

Mar 192009

Civic

  • 20,000 miles
Honda usa issued a technical service bulletins regarding the excessive tire wear due to defective or poorly designed rear camber arms tsb08-001. I feel this should be a safety recall due to the nature of the problem (tires wearing prematurely and vehicle owners being unaware as it was never a recall). I have even witnessed a dealer Honda hoffman of West simsbury tell a customer that they didn't know why the rear tires on their Civic were wearing out so rapidly after performing this exact tsb on my vehicle. I can only guess they make more money selling tires versus replacing the rear camber arms via the tsb.

- Canton, CT, USA

problem #32

Nov 012006

Civic

  • 9,000 miles
1. I own a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid which has had its tires replaced at least 3 times due to uneven wear. 2. the first event occurred when the tire itself just exploded because the inner walls of the tire were so thin and worn only after 10K miles?? this continued at 15K and again at 20K and now again. The dealership replaced it once but now is refusing to do anything about it. 3. the first time it occurred a local Honda dealer auto repair dept. Replaced the tires, but they refused to there after forcing me to pay for it time and time again. They won't file a compliant to Honda either even though the service agents acknowledge its a strange wearing that clearly is from the car itself.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #31

Jul 032010

Civic

  • miles
I own a 2006 Honda Civic. The rear tires are cupping (others call it see-saw pattern ). there is technical service bulletin for the lower control arm, dated February, 2008 that exactly describes the problem. The vehicle had three sets of new tires since it was purchased. First I thought it was a tire problem and I kept changing the tires, only to discover after the car was out of warranty, that it was a manufacturing defect. I contacted the manufacturer, and I spoke to crystal from american Honda motor who refused to offer any assistance, stating that it was my fault that " I did not give them the opportunity to fix the car". the service bulletin was not communicated to me, I found out through my research, but in the meantime the warranty expired.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #30

Apr 222010

Civic

  • 55,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic ex 2 door. Honda has a service bulletin for a bad rear upper control arm. Over time due to this defect inner tire wear is excessive. This can lead to tire blow out. Honda is only replacing the part when asked. Due to this defect I have gone through two sets of tires, a brake job, and now need a new wheel bearing. Honda is only willing to replace the control arm. They are charging for alignment, wheel bearing, and tires. This really seems like something that should be a recall. Tires only lasting 10,000 miles before becoming dangerous is not good.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #29

Mar 242010

Civic

  • miles
2006 Honda Civic handles terrible in any weather conditions. I have approximately 60,000 miles on my vehicle and have just purchased my fouth set of tires. Honda had a service bulletin to fix upper control arms on the rear end. Which was nearly impossable to discover, and most Honda owners probably are not aware of this. However even after I had this part fixed my tires have still worn out as quickly and unevenly as ever. Most americans can not afford to replace tires every 20,000 miles and Honda continues to state that it is a tire issue and not there problem. I have had different brands of tires on my vehicle and the same thing continues to happen.

- La Porte, IN, USA

problem #28

Jan 012006

Civic

  • 1,000 miles
The problems the consumer is having are with the suspension and tires on the vehicle. Since the consumer purchased the 2006 Honda Civic ex coupe in October 2005, since then she has had problems with the tires which wear rapidly and in an abnormal pattern. The vehicle has been in for service multiple times so consumer could get this problem addressed. She has even stated to dealerships that there is a problem with the suspension and tires when her vehicle was in for normal recalls and checks. Every time she stated to the dealership that there is an issue with the vehicle's suspension she was told there is nothing wrong and everything is normal, except the tires are "cupped" or defective. She has since had to replace the vehicle with (4) sets of tires since 2005, it is not possible that the consumer purchased (4) sets of defective tires in a row. Consumer found ( tsb 08-001 ) stating "uneven or rapid rear tire wear" from alldata online & Honda customer information website. Since this problem was never fixed when it was addressed by the consumer to Honda, it has since cost the consumer over $1,700 to replace tires. Consumer is seeking reimbursement or replacement of (4) Goodyear Eagle F1 tires in a 225/45/17 size due to poor workmanship of Honda dealerships. Total of $718.46 if an agreement is not met, consumer is considering a lawsuit against american Honda motor co. Inc for jeopardizing safety of the consumer.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #27

Feb 082010

Civic

  • 25,000 miles
I own a 2006 Honda Civic. The winter of 2007-2008 the car would fishtail almost uncontrollably on snow and ice - not a snow or ice storm necessarily, but really whenever there was snow cover or ice on the roads. We changed tires - twice. The winter of 2008-2009, we were still having the same problem. This time, the dealership suggested an alignment. We had that done, but the tech's who did the alignment would not rotate our tires because they said our tires were bald. We discovered that the tires were not bald on the outside edge, only on the inside. We entered the winter of 2009-2010 with the same problem - took it once again to the lithia Honda dealership in ames, ia. We read internet anecdotal evidence blaming the rear sway bar. The technicians checked it and the rear shocks but didn't discover anything wrong. Lithia's service dept refused to do anything else because they could not be assured they would be reimbursed for their costs. Lithia of ames did not contact the national manufacturer, american Honda, until we asked them to. We did more research. One man in british columbia had posted about his car having the exact same problem as ours - complete with many of the same words used to describe the problem as we had used and that technicians had determined it was the control arm. The control arm is too short. We asked them to contact american Honda - the control arm has a bulletin - but only for uneven tread wear. My family and I - our friends, even - are afraid to drive in this car. We cannot take it over 35-40 miles an hour even when it's sunny outside because snow cover will cause it to have this problem. The car doesn't track straight when traversing bumpy roads. On a trip down South last winter, the car hit a small patch of ice and felt like we were going into the ditch. We are going to continue to see problems with the uneven tire wear. The american Honda representative, said, our rear alignment is the worst she's ever seen. Please help!!

- Ames, IA, USA

problem #26

Jul 152009

Civic

  • 65,000 miles
Tire failure on my 2006 Honda Civic. I have had unusual tire wear since I bought the car new. I have had my tires rotated regularly at the dealership. I have had the rear upper control arms replaced, bought new tires only to have the same problem.

- Washington, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?