Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,555 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #10

Jan 152011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 58,220 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Honda hybrid ima problems Honda update now car really unsafe. Never know when hybrid will go gas mileage went from 45 to 32 mpg cant get up to speed at lights tired of people blowing there horns at me. Please help us hybrid owners very unsafe car with ima update Honda want put it back to org spec.

- Sanford , NC, USA

problem #9

May 152010

Civic

  • 26,200 miles
2007 Honda Civic hybrid lost electric motor assist power in May 2010 when I was driving up a hill in downtown seattle traffic. Took it to Honda dealer, who confirmed low power assist and (without conferring with me) reprogrammed the power assist software and pronounced it fixed. One or two days after this service call, I again noticed weak electric motor assist on another hill in downtown traffic. Took the car to Honda again, and they confirmed that they could replicate the anemic power condition, but said that Honda usa says the vehicle is operating as intended with the computer software update, and that there is no more to be done. I said that I had lost confidence in the automobile, since I consider it a driving hazard not to be able to accelerate adequately in some driving conditions. I said that I wanted Honda to buy back the car, but the dealer service manager said that Honda wouldn't do that. I have purchased another car, but still own the Honda Civic hybrid; I don't know what to do with it, since I don't feel good offering it to anyone other than Honda for sale.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #8

Aug 162008

Civic

  • 10,000 miles
While going to my drs. Home in tildon park, in berkeley, to get to tildon park, there is a series of 3 hills with stop signs at the top of each. After stopping at the second stop sign, when I pressed on the accelerator, the car would not move, after I let the car roll back and I parked on the curb for 5 minutes with the car idling, finally the car finished going up the third hill and I made it to the drs. House, from the drs house I called the Honda dealership and informed them of this problem, plus, when I got to the drs house, there was a smell, like a slipping clutch or hot brakes, I also told Honda of this, they made me a appointment for the next day. When I arrived at the dealership, I was approached by a serviceman and he asked me, ,what was I bringing the car in for"...I told him about the trans not working correctly, I was told..take the car home, we don't know how to fix that yet. When I got home, I called american Honda and I was told..take the car back to the dealership, so a hour later the car was back at the dealership. I told the serviceman exactly where I was when this problem happened, he said he was going to have a driver go up those hills and see if the car will duplicate the problem. I left the car at the dealership for two days. Finally I called and was told..they couldn't get the problem to duplicate itself. When to the dealership, I asked..did you go up to tildon park"..I was told yes. Two days later I had to go up those same hills again..and again>.the car wouldn't move at the second hill., so the dealership lied to me and again I called the dealership and again I was told..they don't know how to fix it. They think...that at low RPM the battery which runs the tranny does not charge. I've received one phone call from someone at american Honda asking me for a opinion, and..he got a earful. But to this day, I have not been contacted about this problem, I don't drive it very much anymore..,. I drive my other Honda which is 100% dependable.

- Valley Springs, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012007

Civic

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The vehicle was purchased in November 2007. A few months later, he was unable to shift into third gear without it making a loud noise. The failure was progressive at times and intermittently he was unsuccessful at shifting into third gear. The contact stated that if the rotor failed it could cause a crash. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer after three attempts to notify them of the failure. The manufacturer stated that they haven┐T received complaints related to the failure and it is not a safety concern. The dealer stated that there is a technical service bulletin related to the failure. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 14,800.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #6

Jun 082008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Problem: Unable to shift from park into drive - Civic hybrid 2007 research shows problem was known and posted in September 2007 purchased car new in January 2008 w defect and was not informed. This defect was modified and posted again as a known issue on 3/18/08 brought car in for service (oil change) in April 2007. No mention of recall and since car was purchased after known problem, it did not occur that the car would be sold w/O issue being fixed. June 8, 2008 - car locks in park several times. Break light comes on. I check manual that says to not drive/have car towed. I drive directly to the safest location to park and call for a tow truck. I have missed a scheduled seminar/day of work. I should have been informed of this recall during purchase and service. Since this was a known issue, why was this not fixed prior to sale" why was I not notified? why was this not caught at my service" the car was towed to the dealership on 6/8/08 - was called on 6/9/08 and told about the recall and that the car was fixed. I asked them to check the brakes again as they seem to have air and make noise. I was told this was not part of the recall. I said I was not even informed of a recall and that I have issues w the brakes and I want them checked even though they fixed the recall problem. It was a lot of back and forth and the car is currently with the dealer and I have spoken to the manager who acknowledged that the issue should of been fixed at the very least, during the maintenance check. He is having the maintenance department check the brakes a second time.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #5

Mar 162008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,010 miles
I purchased this vehicle a few months ago, and recently (within the last few weeks) have noticed the transmission 'slipping' or not engaging properly. If it were a centrifugal clutch (mechanical) it would be described as needing adjustment to let the adjustment 'out' as to better engage the clutch to the power source. Since it is a cvt, I have been told that there is no adjustment available, and replacement is necessary. My incident: I was driving home, which takes me through about 33 miles of a winding hilly road. There was a slow driver, holding up about 6-7 cars, of which I was placed next to last (one behind me.) there is a passing lane that was approaching, and when we reached the passing lane, the slow-poke pulled out to let us pass. The slipping of this transmission was almost a killer-as we (all of the trailing cars) sped up to pass (all within appropriate speeds, clearances, etc). I had just started to accelerate, when this !@#$% slipping began, and I watched as the tach went to almost red-line, but the car didn't gain any speed-it stayed at about 35-36 mph, which was the speed we were going when the passing attempt started. This was allegedly a problem in earlier year models of the same vehicle, but I am not sure if the cause was the same. In any case, this is a very dangerous development, and I want it fixed. My car is under warranty, and I will drive it to a Honda dealer in the next day or two, but I do not want any trouble getting this problem corrected. Also, since the first noticed occurrence, I have noticed that this is occurring almost every time I try to accelerate. Sometimes it feels minor, but other times it just tachs up to 4,5, or 6 grand, while not increasing speed at all. I hope no one dies before I can get this to the dealer.....especially my wife, or myself!

- Fort Bragg, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 152007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Honda Civic with 65,000 miles has had transmission problems requiring replacement/repair on 3 different occasions; each time with the same problem...the transmission slips before engaging fully in drive, causing the vehicle to leap forward without pressing the accelerator, creating a dangerous condition. My local Honda dealer has repaired or replaced the transmission 3 times, stating this is a chronic problem with automatic transmissions on certain models of Honda for 2001. The problem has now recurred at 65,000 miles. The manufacturer is fully aware of the defect which repeatedly manifests itself over the life of this vehicle. The dealer was fully aware the problem was present on the car when I bought it. How long will NHTSA allow the manufacturer to ignore a serious defect and let a potentially dangerous condition continue? judging from the number of complaints listed on your website, the problem is found on a significant number of 2001 Honda equipped with an automatic transmission. Since the dealer has not been able to correct the problem, even when replacing the transmission, I believe the manufacturer should recall the vehicle and provide a redesigned transmission to correct the problem. Otherwise these vehicles will become more dangerous as they age.

- Grosse Ile, MI, USA

problem #3

Aug 052007

Civic

  • miles
My 2001 Honda Civic, died on me in the middle of the freeway. I couldn't accelerate so I had to push it out of the freeway. I towed to a family mechanic, and he said that the transmission had to be rebuilt. It was goin G to cost me $1800 for it. My car only has 78,000 miles, it is ridiculous for this to happened when you take good care of the car, I had just done de 60,000 mile service, and the transmission still died. I have called Honda customer service, and they said there is nmothing they can do. I have checked online, and there is a lot of cars that are suffering the same thing, it is definitely a manufacture problem, some type of failure.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 042007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101 miles
2007 Honda Civic hybrid cvt with less than 100 miles on it---transmission would not engage despite high revving during interstate rush hour traffic and caused serious traffic hazard as had to coast off road amid traffic.

- Belle Vernon, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 082007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact noticed that the vehicle never became warm. The vehicle was idling high. The vehicle made a bumping noise. The contact had to activate the brake in order to decelerate. The Honda dealer placed the vehicle on the diagnostic machine and determined the high idling failure, but could not repair the vehicle. The contact drove another vehicle of the same year, make, and model and that vehicle did not have any failure. The technician stated that the idle speed was controlled by the computer which did not have a sensor. This was the reason why they could not assist her. The current mileage was 615, and failure mileage was 23. Updated 05/21/07.

- Columbus, MS, USA

Not what you are looking for?