Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.1

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,025 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

May 232011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 54,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Honda Civic si transmission repeated failure. Third gear malfunction diagnosed and repaired. Shortly thereafter second gear malfunctioned, fixed, happened again exactly as first malfunction with second gear. Car at dealer twenty-eight days and counting (May 24-June 22,2011).

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #46

Apr 152011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2007 Honda Civic si, since day one I had problems going into 2nd and 3rd gear's. I went to the Honda dealer more then once and they told me there is no problem.... now at almost 48K miles, somethin broke in my transmission while I was driving in the middle of the road and I almost got hit by around 10 cars.... I read post all over the internet but still Honda will do nothin about the problem. I even went to the dealer before my warranty was up and still the same thing nothing is wrong.... now I have to look tog et ym transmission rebuilt or look for a new transmission depends if it can be rebuilt...

- West Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #45

Dec 302010

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Third gear notchy and sometimes hard to engage and/or grinds, this is a safety hazard and should be addressed. Honda has issued a tsb, but I have taken the car to two different dealers neither could replicate the problem.

- Manila, AR, USA

problem #44

Oct 092009

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Civic si is difficult to shift into 3rd gear and grinds. Two attempts have been made to repair the problem by dealer, but the problem came back about 6 months after each repair. Problem started at around 8K miles, was repaired then it recurred at around 15K miles. The odometer is now at 23K miles and the problem has resurfaced. The first repair attempt replaced the 3rd gear syncro. The 2nd repair replace the 3rd & 4th gear syncro and shift fork. I recommend Honda issue a recall for the 6sp manual transmission on the Civic si due to numerous consumer complaints.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #43

Jul 022009

Civic

  • 65,892 miles
Honda Civic si 2007, problem with the manual transmission, in differential gear and other part in the internal transmission.

- Cayey, PR, USA

problem #42

May 202009

Civic

  • 23,048 miles
Difficulty shifting to 3rd gear on my 07 Civic si. Some grinding occurs when shifting at times, other times it pops out of gear. I took the vehicle to Honda dealership but nothing was done since they could not replicate what I described the car was doing. Whether Honda dealership can replicate it or not, this is a safety issue particularly while driving in the city were the traffic is heavy most of the time.

- Fort Meade, MD, USA

problem #41

Mar 182009

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All 2006-2008 Honda Civic si (coupe & sedan) models that have experienced any issues related to the 6mt, including, but not limited to, (a) notchy shifting (B) resistance going into any gear (particularly 2nd & 3rd) (C) grinding of any type, in any gear not caused by operator error (D) transmission not engaging into any gear (particularly 2nd & 3rd) (E) transmission kicking out/popping out into neutral from 3rd gear (F) a third gear with an imprecise gate that sometimes allows for the shifter to be unsure whether to engage in 3rd or return to neutral. (G) had your transmission/syncros replaced and are experiencing transmission woes again with the same (or other) gears.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #40

Jan 012007

Civic

  • 10 miles
Third gear on my '07 Honda Civic si coupe is both frequently impossible to engage (every third or fourth shift change) and pops out of gear during driving (typically 2-3 times an hour during continuous driving). This poses potential dangers while driving as there is failure in the application of power to the driven wheels, which is essential for controlling the vehicle. The issue is known to be common in the 6 speed si transmission. Honda denies the issue, stating that the engagement problem is caused by not fully depressing the clutch. I always fully depress the clutch when shifting, have driven manually transmission vehicles for 41 years, and have never had this problem with any vehicle, let alone a gearshift which pops out of gear during normal driving). The failure to engage is probably more an annoyance than an issue, however the popping out of gear while driving is a serious road hazard and risk; for example, if one is cornering on snow covered or wet pavement, the sudden loss of power to the driven wheels could cause the vehicle to veer off course and result in a crash. The unfortunate driver who does not immediately recognize the loss of power transmission, or what to do to recover, is certainly placed in a highly compromised position, to say the least, and at worst may find him or herself in a vehicle which is totally out of control. Nothing has been done by Honda to either acknowledge or correct the issue. This is an accident waiting to happen. The issue has existed since the vehicle was new, an has become progressively worse with time.

- Wood-Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #39

Jan 222009

Civic

  • 34,400 miles
3rd gear pops out during normal driving operations. The gear pops out regardless of RPM, speed of travel, or if the gear is actually pushed in all the way.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #38

Dec 202008

Civic

  • 36,600 miles
I have a 2007 Honda Civic si. I have approximately 36600 miles on it and I have been having the 3rd gear syncro issue since summer 2008 (I bought the car 2/2/08. When I took my car in the other day to have them address the 3rd gear syncro issue after they took the car apart they told me my clutch plate was severely warn down and needed to be replaced and that it was not covered under my extended warranty. I asked them if this was caused from the 3rd synchro and I was told "no" but I have been reading that it is a direct result. I am not happy with Honda and they need to include all the gears synchros and the clutch in the tsb. Also the tires wear on inside and I was informed that the si was not included in the tsb because it has a different suspension.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #37

Jan 032008

Civic

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Civic si with only 12,000 miles on it. Issue: 3rd gear hard to engage. It is an intermittent safety problem. When 3rd gear does not engage I have to go to 2nd or 4th gear, that causes vehicle to slow down during merging. Complaint to dealership twice. First time transmission oil replaced but did not fix this issue. 2nd time dealership told me that they cannot duplicate the issue. Honda needs to recall all these faulty manual transmissions before someone dies.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #36

Oct 172008

Civic

  • 23,000 miles
I was shifting easily from 1st to 2nd gear at 15-18mph and approximately 3K RPM. My manual transmission failed at that time, and I lost power-- nearly creating an accident. The failure involved broken teeth of the countershaft and final (ring) gear. This type of failure has been documented previously in many internet forums, but perhaps not formally. Honda should have information about models experiencing such failure, represented by the number of transmissions / countershaft / final drive gears sold by their parts distributor. As a physician, I feel that Honda should recall these vehicles immediately to prevent serious injury & road hazards from this transmission failure-- raymond bernal, M.D.

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #35

Apr 152007

Civic

  • 20 miles
Slow throttle response since purchase, door glass rattle since purchase, the third gear would give resistance, which is a known problem with the six speed transmission. I patched the problem by changing the transmission fluid and installing a shorter shifter yet this is not a permanent solution. Honda has refused to repair the actual problem with the third gear synchro and at one point stated that it was probably caused by my driving, the problem with the vehicle going into third gear is a known problem and there is a technical service bulletin that Honda corporate has released for the exact problem. The headliner rattles, door gasket seal has been coming off since purchase, suspension popping noise in the front passenger side strut since purchase and the sound has become more frequent, the driver side visor was defective and was replaced, the driver door hits the fender when opening just started happening since Honda worked on my vehicle. I have been taking my vehicle to two different dealerships (recommended by Honda corporate) and nothing has been properly repaired. I feel as though I have been given the run around for the past year. Honda has made several attempts to repair the problems and has not been able to, they have only damaged my vehicle during their attempts to repair it. They have damaged the front bumper three times, the side of the vehicle once, the door and fender once. They of course denied any involvement in the damage, then repair it under warranty.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 092008

Civic

  • 10,000 miles
I have a 2007 Honda Civic si coupe. This is not my first manual vehicle. I have had trouble shifting into 3rd but did not think anything of it. Just four days ago my car would not shift at all. I had it towed to the Honda dealership and was told that my clutch in a year old car was burned out. They claim that it was not a manufacturers defect so in other words, it is my fault. Upon doing research I see that many others are or have experienced the same problem. I have also learned that this past April Honda issued a recall on vehicles having 3rd gear problems but have not notified all owners of the makes and models covered in the recall. The 3rd gear problem is directly related to the clutch burning out. I am receiving no satisfaction from the dealership and Honda is not owning up to admit that indeed there is a defect.

- Kutztown, PA, USA

problem #33

Apr 232008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 200 miles
3rd gear in my 2007 Honda Civic si is hard to shift into. Sometimes the gear pops out of 3rd. This issue has occurred since I've purchased it out the lot brand new. I've made quite a few complaints to the dealership but none have responded to this issue.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #32

Apr 032008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Purchased car new, complained about transmission grinding in 2nd and 3rd gear at appx 2K miles, at 5K they tore it down, problem continued, tore down again at10K, then continued. 3rd repair at 12K I was charged 1700. To fix, they claimed misuse, 4th repair at 15K costs me 2200, again misuse, and problem seems fixed, but only at 16K. Honda service bulletin 08-020 released 4/12/2008 addresses this exact problem and states is covered under warranty. I am perusing lemon law procedures currently, but am concerned about safety issue of transmissions blowing and creating a road hazard, oil on road, etc. There is still a huge oil slick on the street when it last broke.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #31

Feb 272007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,113 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. When the vehicle is started in the mornings, the engine becomes sluggish during the first two miles of driving. The engine does not stall, but has little acceleration power while driving 5 mph. After the engine has warmed, the vehicle operates normally. The vehicle has been diagnosed by the dealer 3 times. The current mileage was 8,500 and failure mileage was 3,113. Updated 5/5/08 the consumer stated he was not able to accelerate to keep up with the traffic. Updated 05/05/08.

- Henrietta, NY, USA

problem #30

Apr 032008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,066 miles
I bought my 2007 Honda Civic si on 12/29/07 with approximately 2,200 miles on it. From day one third gear would grind on occasion. On 4/2/08 after having the car 90 days I noticed the clutch slipping. The very next day I left home to go to the Honda dealer to have it checked and didn't make it there. My clutch burnt out. Honda has torn down the transmission and blamed me for "misuse". Honda America has declined any help towards payment. They want $1,400 for a new clutch. I have seen so many people with the same problems as I have had and I think it's about time Honda did the right thing for their owners.

- Jefferson, GA, USA

problem #29

Nov 102007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated the third gear would fail when the vehicle was cold. In addition, the failure occurred intermittently. The dealer was able to duplicate the failure. They felt the transmission could have caused the failure. The failure mileage was 4,000 and current mileage was 12,674. Updated 4/25/08 the consumer stated theird gear will grind and pop in while driving.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #28

Mar 212008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Honda Civic 5spd ex in may of 2007. Ever since I purchased the car I have been having transmission problems with it. At times when I am in first gear and I upshift to second, as soon as I let off of the clutch it will pop out into neutral and my rpms shoot up. Sometimes it will grind when I try to put it into second or third and doesn't want to fully engage. When it does finally go into gear it's real rough and doesn't accelerate at the speed it should, it acts like it doesn't want to go. I have contacted vandergriff Honda where it was purchased, and they said that some of the cars have had that problem and they change the transmission fluid and it's suppose to help, but if it doesn't they might have to pull the transmission out and change 2nd and 3rd gear. They changed my fluid and I am still having the same problem. They are telling me now that it should have fixed the problem and I shouldn't be experiencing it anymore. They also say they can't duplicate the problem. Go figure! I need my car fixed that is the sole purpose of my new car purchase so I wouldn't have major problems like this!! my car now has 15K on it and still has the same problems! please find a fix soon!!

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?