Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,304 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Honda Civic steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #14

Sep 272014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 128,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought my Honda Civic in for routine maintenance on 9/27/14. Was told I had a power steering leak and my entire power steering rack had to be replaced at a cost of $1200. I was told the leak is very slow and not an immediate concern but that it will get worse. This seems to be an ongoing problem with this particular make, model and year for the Civic. There should be a recall!

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #13

Aug 012014

Civic

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while making a turn, there was an abnormal noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. The failure occurred once. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for a diagnosis and the mechanic was unable to determine the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- California, MO, USA

problem #12

Jan 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Driving down the road felt steering tighten up went to turn around corner and could not steer car the steering was locked up stopped immediately luckily no one was behind me.turned steering wheel forcefully to right and left and it seemed fine started out steering tightened again. Stopped driving car for couple months called payas auto were I bought the car. They came and got it they indicated it was a blown fuse car worked steering was fine. Then winter in Vermont hit again one cold morning I went out started the car let it run for about 10 minutes went to leave steering wheel was locked up left car running for an hour and steering was working got on the interstate it was 17 degrees going 70 mph steering locked up got off interstate slowed down to 45 mph steering was stiff yet not locked as it was when I was going 70. I have no idea what the true problem is with the steering however it is seriously dangerous. I believe the cold is freezing the electrical component since the good old fashioned power steering does not exist in this car it can not be power steering fluid problem. I am today, taking car to automaster my hope is they will get to the true problem it is not a fuse and it is seriously dangerous(after experiencing this steering problem every time the temperature drops below 30 degrees).

- Highgate, VT, USA

problem #11

Sep 232013

Civic

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while attempting to make a right turn at an intersection, the power steering failed to operate as the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing and it showed some error codes regarding the power steering module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure and current mileage was 32,000.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 192013

Civic

  • 15,560 miles
I noticed when parallel parking that when I turned my steering wheel it would make a clicking noise coming from the drivers front. I drove again the next day and the noise got worse and started happening when I was turning my wheel while driving, and if I went over any bumps. I took my car in for servicing and they said that I needed my strut top replaced due to excessive wear and tear (I just bought the car 2 weeks prior)... well, they fixed the part and I took my car home and less than a month later the piece went bad again and needed to be replaced.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 042013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
While coming around a curve on the highway at approximately 55-60 mph the car starting to drift and when I tried to turn back there was a ton of steering resistance and it sort of locked up. After brushing the wall I finally yanked the wheel enough for it to turn and crashed against the opposite side wall head on. The car was totaled and all of this was after less than 2 weeks after my purchase of the certified preowned Honda.

- Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 18,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took 2010 Honda Civic to the Honda dealership with complaints of clicking in front end. Was advised that vehicle cv joint had failed. Vehicle had approx 19,000 miles at replacement. Cv joint failure at high rate of speed could have been dangerous.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #7

Sep 022012

Civic

  • 53,300 miles
Bought demo 2010 Honda Civic ex in December 2010, so it was virtually new. Problem began occurring around the beginning of September 2012, when the mileage of car was approximately 53,000. Upon ignition, the noise coming from the engine was a higher-pitched whir than I was accustomed to. This higher-pitched whir would worsen as I accelerated and as I turned corners. Thought I just needed to allow the car to warm up. That solution did not work. Took the car into the Honda dealership where I bought the car. I was told that there was a leak in the power steering rack, and that this leak was draining into my wheel boots, by which I'm guessing he meant steering rack boots. I do not have good knowledge of cars. Was told that somehow the drainage of power steering fluid into my steering boots was creating this high-pitched whir. For the few weeks this noise was occurring before I brought it into the dealership there were no signs of leaks under my car. Was told that until the steering boot was completely saturated with power steering fluid that there would not have been any signs of leakage under the car. Fortunately the Honda care warranty covers this repair. Though I don't know if it's the extended warranty that I bought at the time of purchase. Car is being repaired as I type this. Will post again if I learn of any additions.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #6

Jul 182012

Civic

  • 59,004 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact was driving 65 mph when the steering wheel began pulling to the left abnormally. The contact was unable to maneuver the vehicle through the failure and the vehicle was flipped and rolled several times before landing on a grassy field. The driver's side air bag did not deploy. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed and taken to a local mechanic who advised that the passenger side knuckle assembly was defective. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that they would further assess the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 59,004.

- Waverly , OH, USA

problem #5

Jan 082012

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
The weirdest accident I had January 8th, 2012, around 4:45 pm with my Honda Civic, I consider it a safety issue that was addressed to Honda dealer and american Honda. It is when I was turning to the right, out from the parking lot of a mega-store, one of the keys in my key chain accidentally got trapped in a hole at the back of the steering wheel, the whole is not covered. The trapped key caused the steering wheel to be locked in the right turn position, despite my efforts to turn it back to the left. I... was not able to turn the car back, I did not understand for those moments "what is going on". that what happened to me, fortunate enough, I hit the brakes and my front bumper got scratched and indented hitting the sidewalk; fortunate enough, no one was on the sidewalk of the street and no car was behind me. Fortunate enough, I was not on the high way, driving 65 miles/hour. My losses that need to be fixed and replaced are the Civic key and the trapped key (it was my other Odyssey key) both are damaged and need replacement, and fixing the front bumper. I wonder, what would be the situation if this happened to me or anyone else on the high way? I think if I was driving on the high way, someone else will be writing the concerns or filing damage report with perfection Honda and my life insurance. The Honda dealer feels that there is no issue to be addressed, the american Honda case analyst dose not have any opinion, and feels sympathy for me!!! what a wrong response, when it comes to a safety issue.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #4

Jan 152011

Civic

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering wheel visibly vibrates and shakes when driven above 50mph - this is clearly a safety issue loud buzzing when starting car (while turning key in ignition)

- Middletown, MD, USA

problem #3

Apr 082010

Civic

  • miles
I filed a complaint with the Arizona attorney general on May 17, 2010. I purchased a 2010 Honda Civic in chandler on November 7, 2009. My car was damaged. I bought it brand new. American Honda motor chose to categorize my car problems as 'normal'. the dealership where I purchased the vehicle performed work without my knowledge which caused a new problem to arise. Car pulls to the right, steering wheel shifts to the right while braking and more. I was involved in two separate traffic incidents that could have easily resulted in an accident. There is much, much more; this is not an everyday, average type of complaint. Please allow me to explain in detail, preferably over the phone or in person. My primary objective is that no other person buy this car at retail - it is extremely dangerous. I surrendered it on May 7, 2010.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #2

Jan 142010

Civic

  • 1,197 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the vehicle would make a clicking and popping noise when started, when turning the steering wheel and sometimes when driving at a speed of 40 mph. The vehicle also pulled to the right when he depressed the brake pedal and the steering wheel would shift to the right suddenly at times. The steering wheel also would not position at 12 oclock. These failures occurred every time the vehicle was driven. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership three different times but the dealer could diagnose the cause of the failures. The current mileage was approximately 2,450. The failure mileage was 1,197.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #1

Nov 302009

Civic

  • 0 miles
Since delivery on 11/30/09 the car oversteers, most noticeable on highway while driving straight and on exit turns. Very tiring to continuously micro-adjust sensitive steering to keep car straight. Requires only 1/8 to 1/4-inch steering wheel turn to 'wander' into adjacent lane! on turns, results in 'angular' pattern instead of smooth curve. Problem is most noticeable when cruise control is used. Dangerous. A glance at the radio and you're in another lane. On straight highway stretch, problem results in a "snaking" driving pattern instead of straight line. Dealer dismissed issue as "normal, sport-style steering, takes getting used to". car now has 3,600 miles on it. Seems like temperature may play a role: On very cold days, may take 15 minutes of highway driving to become very apparent. Only 1 time at dealer so far and reported to Honda America (national) with their response: "we rely on dealers as our eyes and ears, take back to dealer". decided to avoid that for now. I would like to know if others have complained. Additional detail: The automobile doesn¿T ¿track¿ the road well, most noticeably on the highway, where it is unusually difficult to keep driving the car in a straight line and to drive along curves in a uniform manner. The steering requires almost continuous ¿micro-correction.¿ on the highway, at 50 to 60 mph, the car begins to drift to either side. Turning the steering wheel a tiny amount - say, 1/8 to ¼ of an inch - causes the car to drift in the direction of the turn more than expected and to the extent that a rapid ¿re-correction¿ (tiny turn of the wheel in the opposite direction) is required to prevent it from entering the adjacent lane. And this, of course, leads to a ¿re-re recorrection¿, and a ¿re-re-re-correction¿, etc. On the off-ramp, at reduced speed, trying to drive along the smooth curve requires micro-correction, however the resulting driving pattern is a series of near-straight lines and sharp angles. Thank you for your help.

- Lowell, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?