Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,537 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Civic brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jul 012016


  • miles


"takata recall" I've had to change the brakes often on this car. I don't drive the car long distances, but the brakes wear out so easily. I've had it for 4 years and have mileage of 30,000. I'm already taking it to mechanic to change the brakes again! it's not normal! I've taken it to the dealership where I bought it but have offered no solution! they just tell me to keep purchasing new brakes.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #21

Oct 252012


  • miles
Have had to replace the brake pads every 6 months dince we purchased in July 2012. The car had very liw miles when purchased and now has 90,000.miles.the mechanic says it is not normal to need replacement so often. Brakes buckle when coming to a sudden stop.

- Lemon Grove, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 202014


  • miles
I purchase me the car in January 2014 and replaced the brakes in September 2014. Now I have to replace them again because the pads keep wearing down. My rotors were also affected. There is a constant rubbing sound while driving and turning.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #19

Nov 142014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 54,438 miles


Have had numerous encounters where I almost have car accidents because brakes will not grab. I have seen numerous posts about this issue. I stopped going to the dealer for service because every time I took it to get checked out they said it was functioning in perfect condition. I have changed my brakes and rotors at least 4 different times even after I bought ceramic brakes and heavy duty rotors, and tires on two separate occasions. Upon complaining to Honda's corporate office I was given a $200 gift card that pretty much went right back for repairs.just from 3 years of ownership have spent over $3,000 in repairs and maintenance fees. These cars might contain a factory defect that should be fixed before someone loses their life. If it wasn't for the 22 years experience of driving in the los angeles, California area I probably would have had more than one accident already.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 182014


  • 27,000 miles
CĀR inspected in Dec 27 2013. Inspection verifies brakes are in good shape passes inspection. Two weeks later brakes began making noises. Took to Honda dealer again and was told brakes required replacement with rotors resurfaced dealer indicates virtually no breaks. Unsure how condition of brakes were missed during inspection. I feel brakes pads wore prematurely.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #17

Apr 042012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
I bought this car with 10,000 miles. On a few occasions (months apart) while applying my brakes, the pedal collapses to the floorboard and I feel grinding coming from the pedal. This usually occurs at a low speed and on a decline/slope.. for example, leaving a convenience store parking lot. Up to this point, the car has always responded to the brakes, but it is as if I'm bleeding the brakes.. brake pressure is good and in an instant, it is gone.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #16

Dec 212011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


I leased this Civic on February 2011 and in December 2011 10 months later the breaks and rotors were gone and only one side. Odd after having had them serviced in September and the dealer giving me 100% life on them. Had to pay to fix brakes and rotors. Ten months later September 2012 again brakes out has to change again. Now again September 2013 brakes and rotors. Without any signals that my brakes were wearing out. Now more costs to fix this in a 2011 Honda Civic. Ridiculous considering this will be the 3rd time to change breaks within a 2.5 years of having the vehicle. I use my car to travel to work everyday and run errands and once in a while drive a max of 100 miles at one time to la. I have had my Tundra for three years never have had to change brakes. Now I hear the rotors and its crazy to think my brakes are gone without any prior warning.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 032012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
The front brakes on my Honda Civic had to be replaced the first time at 17,000 miles. It had failed right at the end of the Honda 1 year warranty (the first date is estimated but I can dig it out from the Honda dealer if this becomes an issue) I have only the estimated first date. I thought this was a fluke and Honda covered it under warranty so I didn't think much about it. However, my next set of brakes failed at 15,000 miles. The actual date was 7/8/2013 on this failure. Again they have warantied the brakes. I am on my 3rd set of brakes and the car has not even hit 40-50,000 miles. That is if my brakes were being ridden hard. At some point I am concerned that Honda will not fix the problem that appears to be well known. They have a problem with their braking system on the Honda Civics. It appears they are not recalling this and are leaving people twisting in the wind. I don't know of a more critical component to a vehicles safety than the braking system. It can harm both driver, pedestrian or other motorists and cause a financial calamity to both driver and other parties. Please make Honda figure out this problem and provide a solution so that we can drive a safe car. There is a lawsuit for this known problem with Honda, I prefer not to get involved into this but rather have them fix this problem. Other than that it has been a good vehicle. I am not looking for a financial reward I just want my car fixed and properly engineered so that the brakes won't fail prematurely. It can be costly if I have to replace my brakes once a year.

- Kearney, MO, USA

problem #14

May 142013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 12,983 miles
I was stopped in a parking garage and intended to pull into an open space on my left. I turned the steering wheel all the way to the left and my car suddenly accelerated on its own. It crashed into the car to the right of the open space and continued to accelerate, pushing the other car into the car to its right. I was pressing the brakes during the entire incident but they were not functional. My car finally pushed the other car out of the way and my car slammed into the concrete block in front of the open space and stopped. Had the concrete block not been there, I would have flown over the side of the third level of this parking garage. My foot was in no way on the accelerator. It was on the brake the entire time. Also, a non-Honda mechanic experienced the same revving issue when he inspected the car after the incident. However, Honda claims there is no problem with the car and will not refund us the cost of damages we paid out of pocket. But they did buy the car back and buy out the remaining 6 months of my lease, indicating they knew there was a problem with the vehicle, but were not willing to own up to it.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 162013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 14,308 miles
On 03-16-2013 I was driving on I-5 freeway North through orange county ca. When I tried to slow down, my car`S brakes were not working at all. Brake pedal went all the way to the floor without any resistance and the car didn't slow down. I was able to stop the car by hitting the curb. There were no dashboard warning lights lit at any time indicating total brake failure. I had car towed to nearest Honda dealership. They told me I must have driven over a piece of rubber debris. This piece of rubber damaged right wheel emergency brake cable, causing right rear wheel to drag and boil the brake fluid, thus causing total brake failure without any warning at all.I found out both rear brakes were damaged, even though only the right emergency brake cable was damaged. I had to pay$1300 for repairs even though the car was under full factory warranty. I contacted american Honda motor co and asked for an explanation how is the brake system on 2011 Honda Civic designed if a total brake failure can be caused by a piece of rubber debris. I also wanted to know, how a total brake failure can happen without any warning. My other question was what America Honda motor co. Will do to prevent this from happening again on mine and other 2011 Civic models. Honda representative refused to answer any of my questions.she stated that since there was not any accident, everything is fine with them. This was an extremely dangerous situation that could have ended tragically and would appreciate you to investigate and follow up on it.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #12

May 032013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles


Need new front brakes and only 20,000 miles; was told it's my in-city driving, but it looks like there's a lot of other folks out there with the same problem. Saw that there was a class action suit for same problem for 2008, 2009 and 2010 models...

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #11

Apr 032013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 24,875 miles
I have a Honda Civic 2011, I don't drive the vehicle that much. I only have 24800 miles on the vehicle. I got it new. I also had several issues with this vehicle since it was new. Now I'm told I need front brakes they are metal to metal. I'm sorry but I've had other cars, I've had Toyota's all the time and it was a 2008 corolla. I didn't need brakes till it had about 60,000 miles on it. I don't drive crazy don't drive fast nor brake all the sudden so my brakes would be metal to metal this fast. I don't understand why other than they are defective or they are very cheap brakes. I don't feel like it's normal wear and tear like they say. I work with mechanics and they say it's not normal unless my foot is on the brake all the time when I'm driving and it's not like that. I don't have my foot on the brake like that. I also don't drive fast, I normally let the vehicle slow down on it's own first before even braking. So I would like some help with this. I'm having the dealer in gardena ca. Do the brakes I need my vehicle to Transport myself. I will pay but I do need an investigation for it. I do want a refund on this.

- Lynwood, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 162013


  • 19,000 miles
Operating my vehicle on 2 lane street in ashburn Virginia, applied brakes on car lightly and brakes seem to lock up, auto spun out of control and I landed into pond. I am filing complaint so that NHTSA will have this on file. I have read many complaints of failure of braking systems Honda Civic 2005-2011 thank you

- Ashburn , VA, USA

problem #9

Mar 122013


  • 13,968 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving 61 mph, the driver applied the brakes but the brakes failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The contact's vehicle was destroyed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not inspected for the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 13,968.

- Hawthorn, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 052012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
I have multiple occurrence where my vehicle does not response when I hit the brakes. Its like the ABS system is not working. It has happened several times. I notice it happen more often if I hit a bump in the road. The problem usually occurs at a slow about of speed. I have been able to avoid accidents by swerving out of the way of cars, but I believe sooner or later I will get into an accident.

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #7

Oct 302012


  • 41,000 miles
Squeaking noise coming from driver side front wheel. I have replaced front brake pads 3 times in one year! took car into dealership and they claim I must be riding on the brakes. The cost is $ $200. This is a brand new car... a 2011, how the neck can brake pads need to be replaced this many times"?!! something is seriously wrong, I have owned vehicles and I never recall having to replace brake pads more than once or a maximum of two times during ownership. The first year of owning a new car... 4 times?"!!! ridiculous!

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 162011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
Front brakes were worn out at 9000 miles, and then again at 15000, and again at 27000. Tires were worn out at 27000 miles.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 032012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 22,643 miles
Front brake pads completely bare. I am an older woman driver who does not endure much stop and go traffic. Never owned a car where brake pads failed/worn in just 1 1/2 years of driving. All other cars owned by family have brake pads last 80K miles. Replacing pads today, but was told by Honda rep that it is my fault due to my driving habits. Had I known what I now know. Or seen the online customer/owner's comments regarding their customer service and brake issues that date back almost a decade, I would not have bought this car.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 012012


  • 18,000 miles
Brakes wore completely down at 18K miles on a brand new lease when they should have lasted about 30K miles. Was told it was the way I was driving and it had caught me off guard because I only apply the brakes gently at appropriate times. I found their excuse to be a little fishy and within a short amount of time of online research I had realized that this scam by Honda has taken effect on many others some at even 10K miles! this matter should be taken care of in a timely manner as this is a bit ridiculous.

- Valley Village, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 262012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Brakes beginning to squeak again. Brakes replaced two times since purchase of car- 2011 new Honda Civic. This will be the third attempt to correct brakes! dealership was unable to "duplicate" issue of acceleration while at the dealer so the car was not repaired. Automatic door locks were locking on their own, dealer fixed.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?