Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,574 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Civic steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #13

May 062013

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall!!?! airbag indicator issues starting at 45 mi. Check airbag warning is now on always. It's taken over my lcd display screen completely making it useless I.e. maintenance info, mileage, handsfree equip. Options. Everything (aside from back up camera, still functioning while in reverse) airbag warning light indicator has disable all components on steering wheel I.e. horn, cruise control, volume ect.. still no recall? I'm scared for my families safety! do something Honda. Someone needs to make Honda address these issues asap!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 052016

Civic

  • 50,000 miles
My previous complaint number can be disregarded: 10864804 the problem in the 2013 Civic turned out to be the wheel bearing and not the transmission as I first thought.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 202015

Civic

  • 15,447 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while the key was in the on position, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was able to start after another attempt and the vehicle drove forward independently. In addition, the brakes failed to respond and the steering wheel locked warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle drove over the sidewalk and crashed into a building. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,447.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Jul 202015

Civic

  • 49,526 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving 5 minutes away from my home around a 30 mile an hour gradual bend. I suddenly had no power steering losing control momentarily, I slowed down immediately trying to regain control of the vehicle while just missing going into the woods and almost creating an accident behind me. The check power steering assembly lights were flashing on the information board.this is extremely dangerous and unacceptable.my wife and daughter drive the car often and I'm not too sure the outcome would have been as good as mine and this truly scares me.this is my 6th Honda, I purchase all my car is new, and I've never have a problem like this before!

- Hopewell Junction , NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 032014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2013 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while reversingat approximately 5 mph, the brakes were applied and a loud abnormal noise was emitted from the vehicle. Additionally, when turning the steering wheel there was an abnormal noise. The failure became progressively worse. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000. Djr..updated 08-25-14 the consumer stated the nosier had become more disruptive. Updated 09/2/2014

- Boyton Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 022013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 2,566 miles
2013 Civic LX. On 8/2/2013 while slowing down to stop at a traffic light, my power steering froze and I was unable to control the car. Indicator light read check power steering system. Took the car to the dealership (Honda North, danvers, MA) where they replaced the electronic power steering control unit. I had been driving the car for less than 4 months and it had 2,586 mileage. On 6/14/2014 while starting to drive through an intersection, my power steering froze again. I was traveling about 5 - 10 mph, and was unable to control the car. Indicator light read check power steering system. I have had the car 14 months, and it has 5,786 mileage. Let me restate that: This car has less than 5,800 miles and the power steering system has failed twice. In both of these cases, the car was moving very slowly, but if I had been moving at a rapid rate of speed and lost control, I couldn't been killed. It is by sheer luck that I wasn't hit during the most recent episode.

- Winthrop, MA, USA

problem #7

Jun 022014

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle power steering. The consumer stated while driving, the power steering light illuminated. The power steering went out completely, and it was very difficult to drive the vehicle. When her husband arrived, the power steering was functioning properly. As her husband was driving, to the dealer, the power steering went out again. When he arrived at the dealer, the power steering light illuminated again. The dealer acknowledged there was a problem. The dealer had the vehicle for six days, where they replaced the rack and pinion. The dealer assured the consumer, they shouldn't have another problem. However, the consumer experienced power steering failure again. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. However, an inspection did not reveal any problems. The dealer called the consumer back and stated they believed they found the problem. They indicated the wiring going to the power steering system shorted out. The dealer stated the factory had not soldered the wires together and the wiring punctured through the skin and shorted out causing the power steering to out. The dealer re-wired and re-soldered the connection.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #6

Apr 232014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 3,100 miles
On April 23, 2014 at about 4:40 P. M. my son was driving 30 mph which is 5 miles under the posted speed limit for that area where he lives. The road leading to the back entrance of his housing complex is a single one-way lane with a wide bicycle lane. This roadway curves slightly to the left leading into the entrance of his housing complex. On approaching the end of the road my son took his foot of the gas to slow down the vehicle, turn the steering wheel to the left (as the road curves naturally to the left) the vehicle suddenly accelerated and steered to the right. My son tried very hard to pull the steering wheel to the left to correct the steering but it would not turn. The steering wheel locked and the vehicle steered uncontrollably to the right, jumping the concrete curb and stuck a concrete street light pole, flipped over and landed a few feet away on the driver's side with five airbags deployed. (one on the steering wheel, and four over the doors). He was examined by paramedic's on the scene and later observed severe bruising on his abdomen and neck which required further medical attention. The vehicle sustained extensive damage and declared a total lost by the insurance company.

- Coral Springs , FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 032014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 12,790 miles
While driving on the freeway at 72 miles an hour my car all of a sudden lost power. The dash went completely black and my engine shut off. My steering was extremely stiff with limited range of movement, I feel the power steering shut down. I was able to drift into the open lane next to me and brake to a stop on the shoulder of the road. I attempted to restart my car and it started on the first attempt. Continued to drive to my destination with no further trouble. I took it to the closest dealership a few hours later, they were unable to find any reason for the car shutting off while I was traveling down the freeway. They checked the cars computer and found no codes stored. They test drove were unable to duplicate the problem I had. They checked the battery and battery cables he noted they checked "ok". the tech noted he placed the "board on snapshot to stall". noting in case this problem occurs again they will have data to aid in diagnosis. They performed a software update hoping it helps to fix the problem. Im not very comfortable driving my car now! very frightening experience!! I would hope Honda can find a resolution to this problem before someone's loved one is injured or injures another in an accident due to the danger of the situation!

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 022013

Civic

  • 35 miles
Purchased a 2013 Honda Civic on 08/31/13. On 09/02/13 car had to be towed back to culver city dealership. While pulling away from curb wheel felt heavy and the console lit up with red, organ and yellow lights, indicating that the power steering and breaks needed to be checked and low oil pressure. My son and I were going down hill and picking up speed with no power steering or breaks. He continued to pump the breaks but there was no response, he finally pulled the emergency break and turned the wheel extremely hard into the curb. Came three feet from hitting a parked BMW.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 172013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 11,788 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on my way home from work in the morning and my steering wheel locked up as I was driving. I tried to physically get the steering wheel to unlock as my vehicle was in motion. I was unable to get it to unlock and an accident happened and I ended up in a ditch with extensive damage to my vehicle.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 192013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
Purchased 2013 new Honda Civic hf two days ago. Initially noticed vibration from right side of vehicle at 70 mph. Now it seems that vibration occurs at all speeds. Appointment made with Honda to check problem. Dealership initially guessed that there was a flat spot in tire and it needs to be run. That did not take care of problem. Tires are a Bridgestone EP20 ecopia 135/65R15.

- South Charleston, OH, USA

problem #1

Jul 192013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 4,158 miles
I was driving at 30 mph and wanted to turn left when the steering wheel got stiff, the notice on the dash board said: "check the power steering system"and I could not control the wheel. I panicked and tried hard to turn the wheel. I was able to turn left with a lot of difficulty and I stopped the car. I was truly terrified by this incident and had the car towed to the dealer. The mechanic told me that they found a code 71-01 motor angle sensor and he performed an update. He said that now it would be fine. I picked up my car the next day and parked it at home. On Sunday, July 21, I was driving to the store and the same exact problem occurred again. One more time I had it towed to the dealer. Now, they say that the electronic connection was faulty. I am not sure if that will resolve the issue permanently. I am terrified to drive this car. One can be killed easily. This is a serious security issue.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?