Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,841 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda Civic drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #5

Dec 182014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At approximately 8:00 a.M. December 18, 2014, my husband was driving to the store when the vehicle stalled out on him in traffic. Again, it was fortunate no one was hurt. The 2014 Honda Civic which I purchased from frank fletcher Honda in bentonville, ar, has been brought back to the dealership six times from September through December 2014. The vehicle was brought in due to stalling issues and jerking type motions. The dealership technicians along with the general manager [xxx], stated they could not replicate the issue each time the car was brought in. I filed a complaint with Honda America. Approximately three days after filing the complaint with Honda America, [xxx], my case monitor, advised me the vehicle was running as it was designed. I disagreed with her as I have with the dealership technicians and GM [xxx] statements that nothing is wrong with the car. I told the dealership I was going to keep bringing in the car until the issue was fixed. I was advised not to bring it in because there was nothing wrong with it. I reminded them I have daily issues with the car acting like it's going to stall and it has jerking motions when driving. I am afraid to drive this car but frank fletcher Honda has given me no choice but to continue to drive it. This is my third complaint with NHTSA over the same issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #4

Dec 182014

Civic

  • 4,500 miles
At approximately 8:00 a.M. December 18, 2014, my husband was driving to the store when the vehicle stalled out on him in traffic. Again, it was fortunate no one was hurt. The 2014 Honda Civic which I purchased from frank fletcher Honda in bentonville, ar, has been brought back to the dealership six times from September through December 2014. The vehicle was brought in due to stalling issues and jerking type motions. The dealership technicians along with the general manager [xxx], stated they could not replicate the issue each time the car was brought in. I filed a complaint with Honda America. Approximately three days after filing the complaint with Honda America, [xxx], my case monitor, advised me the vehicle was running as it was designed. I disagreed with her as I have with the dealership technicians and GM [xxx] statements that nothing is wrong with the car. I told the dealership I was going to keep bringing in the car until the issue was fixed. I was advised not to bring it in because there was nothing wrong with it. I reminded them I have daily issues with the car acting like it's going to stall and it has jerking motions when driving. I am afraid to drive this car but frank fletcher Honda has given me no choice but to continue to drive it. This is my third complaint with NHTSA over the same issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #3

Dec 172014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 4,400 miles
My husband was driving my 2014 Honda Civic on December 17, 2014 when at approximately 5:30 P.M. the vehicle stalled out on him in traffic. Fortunately, no one was hurt. I purchased this vehicle from frank fletcher Honda in bentonville, ar. We have brought the vehicle in six times from September through December complaining of stalling, jerking issues. I lodged a complaint with Honda America. The dealership technicians stated they were not able to replicate the issue. After speaking with frank fletcher Honda, Honda America stated they were closing out the case since the issue was not able to be replicated. This is the second time the vehicle has stalled out on my husband. This is my second compliant filed with NHTSA. I am afraid to drive the vehicle but the dealership managed by [xxx] is unwilling to do anything because the issue cannot be replicated. I have a 15-year-old girl and it scares me when she is riding in the car. The semi-stalling, jerking issue occurs every time I drive it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #2

Dec 062014

Civic

  • 4,000 miles
On December 6, 2014, my husband was driving to pick up my granddaughter. At approximately 9:05 P.M., the vehicle stalled out and died while my husband was driving. Before this incident, I had taken the car into frank fletcher Honda in bentonville, ar, six times for stalling issues. The dealership techs stated they were not able to replicate the issue. I lodged a complaint with Honda America and was assigned case monitor [xxx] 800-999-1009, ext. [xxx] (case no[xxx]). approximately three days after I lodged the complaint, Honda America advised that the vehicle was designed as it should be and saw no reason to assist with my concern. I continue to have the issue and since my husband's experience with the vehicle dying, I have been nervous driving it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #1

Aug 192014

Civic

  • 1,032 miles
I purchased a new Honda Civic 2014 on 6/27/2014. One month and a half later during my morning commute, each time I tried to speed up to 50 miles/hour, I started feeling some jerkiness. Since it was a new car, I was not sure that it was normal or not. About a week after that, one morning when I was very slowly pulling the car out of the garage, the car stopped and the engine died. I turned on the engine and tried to move the car again. This happened 4 times on the same day. Next day I called the car dealer and took my car for the inspection. They found that the transmission had a defect and it had to be replaced. Then on 10/19/2014, when I was driving a street, I got a tire pressure warning. My husband helped to add air to the tires, but the warning sign did not disappear. On 10/27/2014, when my husband was driving the car in the afternoon, a series of warnings appeared (vsa, TPMS, eps, ABS). After he got home, he called the dealer to ask for towing service to take the car back to the dealer as he did not feel safe to drive the car. The car was towed to the dealer next morning. The dealer replaced the ABS sensor and performed the software update for the vsa system. However the dealer stated that it could happen again.

- Austin, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?