10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,589 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Fit seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Fit Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #88

Jul 012016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: I have received several letters stating that my car has a safety defect related to the takata airbags. The last letter was in July 2016. In it, it states that if Honda or the dealer (richard's Honda in baton rouge, Louisiana) has failed to remedy the defect within 60 days. I actually called over a year ago and they kept telling me that they would send a letter when the part was ready. Well, its been over a year and I've received nothing stating that the part is ready.

- Port Allen, LA, USA

problem #87

Jan 132017

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall I was notified on March 2016 about the takata recall. I called my local Honda dealership in September 2016 to have this issue resolved. At that time, they informed me that they didn't have the parts to resolve the defect. I have yet to be contacted about a fix for the defect.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #86

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall - I was contacted nearly a year ago (Feb 2016), informing me that my airbag inflators were being recalled and that more information would be provided at a later date. I was contacted in May 2016 letting me know that the replacement parts would be available in late summer/early fall 2016, and that Honda would contact me again when they were available. I have not heard anything more from Honda, and that is unacceptable. My car has been unsafe to drive for the past year, and yet I still need to drive it to get to work. It's time for Honda to take steps to replace this part and make my car safe again so I can stop living in fear of getting into an accident and having my airbag inflate and kill me!

- Piedmont, CA, USA

problem #85

Jul 162016

Fit

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2009 Honda Fit. While traveling 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and declared a total loss. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #84

Jul 052016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall has not been remedied yet and, according to the website, the "remedy is not yet available." I received my first notification of the recall early last year (2016), saying that I would be notified when the issue is ready to be addressed, and as of yet still have not heard anything.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #83

Mar 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #82

May 232016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags) however the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced an issue. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #81

Dec 152016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall: I contacted berkeley Honda to get this recall fixed. A sales person contacted me to try to sell me a new car but the service department never returned the call. I called them back and they supposedly ordered the part but never advised me if the part was available. Further calls not returned. Contacted oakland Honda who said they had the parts but refused to make an appointment - said it's first come, first served. I'm an elderly woman and not well. I cannot be expected to show up and either wait and wait or find out that there is no part available when I get there. I called san leandro Honda - left messages but they never return the call. Please have someone take care of this! it's not good service at all and not realistic to have me never have a passenger while I'm waiting for this to be resolved.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #80

Mar 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair driver front airbag inflator recall notice.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #79

Nov 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to problems to complete/schedule recall notice repairs.

- Los Osos, CA, USA

problem #78

Nov 272016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a notice regarding the driver's front airbag inflator recall in February of 2016. The letter stated that parts will be available to repair the recall in the summer of 2016. It has been 9 months, and the manufacturer has failed to provide a remedy in a timely manner.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #77

Jul 072016

Fit

  • 75,000 miles
Takata recall takata recall I received a recall notice in July, 2016 and contacted the Honda dealer to schedule a recall fix. I have not heard from them as of today.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #76

Feb 162016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall - Honda informed me in Feb 2016 about the recall regarding the airbag however I have not heard anything since then. 9 months later and no resolution. This is not being handled in a timely manner. Especially since this issue has been known to kill drivers. The recall notice says to file a a vehicle safety complaint if the issue has not been resolved in a timely manner.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #75

Apr 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall - I received a notice of the recall of my 2009 Honda Fit last spring and so far neither Honda nor the dealer has made the replacement air-bags available. I find this very upsetting. Is there anything I can do to speed this action up? date of recall given below is approximate. Thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- University Park, MD, USA

problem #74

Oct 032016

Fit

  • miles
2009 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair airbag recall.

- Lookout Mountain, TN, USA

problem #73

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Haslet, TX, USA

problem #72

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oley, PA, USA

problem #71

Mar 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #70

Mar 252016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #69

Feb 032016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pinckneyville, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?