10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,589 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Fit seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Fit Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

Mar 022016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received NHTSA recall notice 16V-061 in March 2016. Called local dealer and was told that the part was not yet in. Called again over the summer, and again today (9/26/2016) and was told that the part is still not in. We believe that this is an unacceptable length of time to correct a safety issue that can cause death and injury to the driver.

- Oak Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #67

Mar 142016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #66

Sep 222016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #65

May 272016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Silver Springs, FL, USA

problem #64

Feb 032016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #63

Mar 162016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Homewood, IL, USA

problem #62

Aug 032016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/13/16 updated 12/15/16.

- Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #61

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #60

Sep 122016

Fit

  • 18,000 miles
Takata recall. Notice of recall was sent to me in March, 2016. The letter indicated parts would be available in the summer of 2016. In early August, when I contacted my Honda dealer (shofield homda, wichita ks), I was told the part had to be ordered and would arrive in a couple of weeks. It has now been 7 weeks and I've heard nothing.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #59

Jul 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
We placed an order to fix the "passenger" airbag, after receiving a letter from Honda. This has been 2 months ago. We asked for a rental, as we were given one for our "driver" airbag. They refused, saying the passenger must sit in the back seat. I have arthritis, and bad back, and to get into the back seat is hard. We have contacted Honda and the Honda dealer's service dept. And no luck there. The part isn't in yet. They say they will look into it. Our case # 04972087. My thinking is they don't want to pay for a rental, as if no one is sitting in the passenger side, and there is an accident, it won't deploy. I don't think I should have to be inconvenienced by their faulty airbags. If I sell this car, I wont' get as much out of it because of the unrepaired airbag. So, if you would, could you please help us? sincerely

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #58

Sep 112016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - the contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit sport affected by recall for driver and passenger air bags. Scheduled maintenance as soon as letter from manufacturer received with tony Honda autoplex. Was told repair parts are not available and would be in by summer 2016. Requested rental replacement as recall is considered a serious injury\death issue, was told, ┐we┐ll put you on the list┐. to date still no contact on when rental is available or parts to be replaced. Second vehicle, 2011 Scion xb also affected by takata recall so request not to drive vehicle is not an option as both vehicles are used for daily commute to\from place of employment.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #57

Sep 092016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Manhasset, NY, USA

problem #56

Jul 012016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #55

Jun 012016

Fit

  • miles
"takata recall" recieved Honda/NHTSA recall notice spring 2016, went to dealer where it purchased new ( 125 mi from our home, krenzen duluth, mn) in April to make appointment, they could not, had to order parts. Returned to dealer June 1 and they ordered parts that date saying it would be fixed in summer. Left auto at dealer late July. Still no word, info or fix of problem as of September 8" need auto early October as we tow it to AZ in winter and not back to home in northern mn. Until May 2017. Help, what to do? we do not have a stable address in winter in AZ and can not stay in mn as our residence is seasonal and no winterized utilities. Should we get the Honda back unfixed and drive it for 6 more months and start process over again inspiring 2017? we ar not supposed drive it according to the recall " steven dentinger

- Marcell, MN, USA

problem #54

May 232016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #53

Jun 162016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall I have contacted with authorized Honda dealer regarding two recalls, takata driver airbag inflator and passenger airbag inflator. It has been waiting for the airbag parts more than 80 days, and the dealer said the parts are currently still not available and cannot tell me the status or any more information when it will be available. It's very frustrating.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #52

Sep 072016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #51

Jul 052016

Fit

  • miles
"takata recall" I made an appointment on July 2, 2016 at my local Honda dealership, vandergriff Honda, arlington tx and was told they had the airbags in stock. I took my car in on my appointment July 5, 2016 and received a call that day that the airbags were not in stock. I was told they would have to order them and it would take 6 weeks. I called back August 17, 2016 and was told they were still not in, they were coming in sporadically. I called again today, September 6, 2016 and still no answer as to when I can get my airbags replaced. It is well over the 60 days reasonable period of time that I have had to wait. I am tired of feeling stressed every time I drive my car with these defective airbags.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #50

Mar 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #49

Sep 012016

Fit

  • miles
2009 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to faulty inflator replacement part not available to repair recall.

- Bristol, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?