Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Fit seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Fit Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #73

Mar 162016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #72

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #71

Nov 062016

Fit

  • miles
Manufacturer has failed or is unable to remedy this safety recall

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #70

Mar 102016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received notice of the recall in March of this year (2016) that the driver's airbag could if inflated rupture and kill the driver. The letter indicated that replacement parts and repairs would be available by the summer. Having heard nothing else, I contacted Honda on 9/23/16 to inquire further and was told it would be another two weeks. Today, 10/28/16 I was told that there was no further information as to when the repair parts would be available, and repairs affected. No other effort on behalf of Honda has been made to address concerns as to our safety, as we are still at risk in using this vehicle and no other options are available to us.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #69

Feb 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata airbag recall - I called bell Honda in phoenix, AZ a few months ago and they said they did not have any airbags to replace mine with and they would let me know when they got them. I haven't heard a word from them whereas my sons Mitsubishi has had two notifications to bring the car in. What's Honda doing and why isn't this resoved yet? people want answers.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #68

Mar 072016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #67

Mar 012016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and made several calls to the dealer. The contact had not received a response. The manufacturer was unable to provide a reasonable time frame to supply the part to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #66

Oct 212016

Fit

  • 50,500 miles
"takata recall" notified in March that airbag parts would be available in summer for repair to take place. Contacted two dealers and was put on list for repair in May. Nothing has been done to this point with no further contact from Honda. 10-21-16.

- Eldorado, CA, USA

problem #65

Mar 012016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #64

Mar 142016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was not available.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #63

Sep 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall- in March 2016 I received a recall notice. I called Honda at their too-free number and was directed to my local dealer Honda of campaign, in savoy il. As of today I have as yet to have the driver's airbag replaced, yet I have contacted the dealer and Honda at least three times over the intervening months (since March of this year when Honda said "I would be informed by mail when the parts were available"). interestingly the last time I was at the dealership for regular maintenance they had two 2013 Fit models for sale on the used car lot. I asked the salesman "if the cars' airbags had been repaired", and he said "yes". I think the dealership nor Honda are following the recall program. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #62

Oct 102016

Fit

  • 10,100 miles
Been trying to schedule replacement of the defective airbag, dealer doesn't know when the replacement bag will arrive and Honda Motors says they are available for the dealer. Each is pointing a finger at the other one for the reason the part has not been delivered for the dealer to make the replacement. Just want to get it replaced so I can safely drive my car. Need help in getting the airbag replaced as soon as possible. Am I expected to drive an unsafe vehicle until Honda and the dealer finally fulfill their responsibility?

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #61

Oct 042016

Fit

  • 0 miles
Takata recall recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available so what are we supposed to do while Honda is trying to figure out their next step?

- Hazel Green, AL, USA

problem #60

Oct 032016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

problem #59

Oct 032016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall: On two separate occasions we've scheduled to have the parts replaced. Both times Honda called us to cancel stating the parts were not in yet. This has been going on since we received the notice back in March.

- Nutely, NJ, USA

problem #58

Mar 152016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. Received safety recall in March. It is now October and the part to fix my car is still not available. It has been well past 60 days since I received my recall notice and contacted my dealer.

- Colchester, VT, USA

problem #57

Feb 262016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
Dear National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the account holders believe that american Honda has failed and is unable to remedy a defect in our 2013 Honda Fit within a reasonable period of time - within 60 days from the date we first contacted the dealer for repair. The account holders have made several good faith attempts in person and via telephone on February, 26th 2016 (first attempt document attached); March 10th, 2016, May 20th, 2016, September 7th, 2016, and September 12th, 2016 to have the driver side airbags repaired for our 2013 Honda Fit lease. Currently, Honda has failed to repair the airbags. Please, see attached documents. We feel that our safety has been neglected by Honda and would appreciate your help in remedying this issue. Thank you for your help.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #56

Sep 282016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall - this recall has been extremely spurious with an inept corporation running it. I received the safety recall information in March 2016 regarding my 2013 Honda Fit sport drivers side air bag. I am still waiting the for part to arrived after several calls to Honda automotive. I was told Honda automotive will pay for a rental vehicle to drive during the over six month part delay (the letter stated the past summer the part would be available). I do not have the place or inclination to let the nitrogen out of my tires, empty the fluid out of the car, and put the vehicle up on blocks in a garage for over six months. When I speak with a dealer or the corporate office the staff is very cavalier regarding my well-being. I do not appreciate someone deciding to play russian roulette with my life especially individuals who act like unfeeling and incompetent robots. Obviously, my family and I am concerned for my safety and I hope to win the cruel game I have been thrown into by Honda automotive. I will say I have owned four Honda cars including this one. I will not be purchasing another for self-explanatory reasons. No one has the right to devalorize a human being (customer) for profits; however, this act happens daily. - mauigirl300, alcoa, tn, usa

- Alcoa, TN, USA

problem #55

Jun 012016

Fit

  • 14,500 miles
Takata-dealer notified me of recall-had me sign a waiver that I drive under my own peril. Three months have passed, dealer does not have the part and does not know when it will arrive. Dealer tried to have me trade it for 9K, I have a private buyer ready to pay 12,500 but cannot sell it due to the recall. No accidents have occurred as a result.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #54

Feb 032016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dover, DE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?