Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,128 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Ridgeline seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Ridgeline:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Ridgeline Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Oct 192016

Ridgeline

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. While driving approximately 50 mph, another vehicle crashed into the rear driver side of the contact's vehicle. The contact's vehicle suddenly accelerated out of control and crashed into a guardrail. The contact stated that the brakes were engaged, but failed to respond as the vehicle continued to accelerate against the guardrail for up to one mile. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle stopped after being turned off. A police report was filed an no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed and repaired; however, the diagnosis was unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 134,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #35

Jul 152016

Ridgeline

  • miles
I received notification in July 2016 via a letter from Honda of a recall for airbags in my 2006 Honda Ridgeline. I promptly contacted my local Honda dealership in carson city, nv. It is now October 31st and after almost 3 months, 5 attempts to schedule and one cancelled appointment by the dealership I am still on a list. The recall is described as metal fragments becoming projectiles if the airbags are inflated therefore possibly causing injury. There is only one Honda dealer in the local area.

- Genoa, NV, USA

problem #34

Jul 012016

Ridgeline

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #33

Jul 112016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #32

Jul 122016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall - repair has not been performed, dealer not responsive. Over 60 days, live in Florida, area of high absolute humidity.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #31

Jul 062016

Ridgeline

  • 214,000 miles
Was notified by Honda of the airbag recall on July 6,2016. That notification included wording to refrain from having a front passenger until the problem was fixed. I call the dealer, apple tree Honda in asheville, nc and was told the part was being ordered. As of this date, Sept. 9, 2016 the problem has not been resolved and I can not fully utilize the vehicle. I need help!

- Tryon, NC, USA

problem #30

Jul 162016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Nicholson, GA, USA

problem #29

Sep 022016

Ridgeline 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I contacted checkered flag Honda on 7/8/16 to schedule corrective action on the air bag recall. I was told that the parts would be ordered and they would contact me when they were received in order to schedule the repair. On 9/2/16, I had not yet heard from them, so I called to see what the status. I spoke with technician [xxx], who informed me that the parts had not even been ordered yet. I just received an email from [xxx] confirming that they are now on order, but to have this action unnecessarily delayed is unacceptable. This is the only vehicle in which I can Transport my severely disabled mother to her many doctor appointments, and the recall directly affects the seat she occupies. I would appreciate anything you could do to ensure the delivery is expedited and the service is completed as soon as possible. Thank you. The number to the dealership we contacted is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #28

Jul 012016

Ridgeline

  • 102,500 miles
Takata recall we have been notified of the problem with both driver and passenger airbags. As of this date we have been told the parts are not available to make the repair. I am afraid of driving my Ridgeline for fear of injury or death. The same goes for the passenger airbag.. also the electrical system could cause a fire. Honda needs to rectify these issues as soon as possible, before someone is injured or killed! they need to fix or replace this vehicle or exchange it for a safe one.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #27

Jul 012016

Ridgeline

  • 138,000 miles
Takata recall notice sent by Honda automobile division July 2016. I called pohanka Honda of fredericksburg as soon as I received the notice and was advised they would call when the parts came in to the dealership. I called pohanka Honda on 08/05/2016 and was advised they would order part and call me when it came in. I called pohanka Honda again on 08/15/2016 and was advised that the part may not be available until Nov 2016. I called Honda automobile division and was advised that part may not be available until in the fall? notice says to not allow anyone to sit in the passenger seat due to danger of severe injury or death if bad inflates! I explained that I use this truck for travel all the time and it was unacceptable to take this long. Customer service rep said she would submit a special request to the case manager to see if this could be expedited. I have heard nothing. Any assistance in getting this expedited would be greatly appreciated.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #26

Jul 292016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags) however the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Knoxsville, TN, USA

problem #25

Jul 052016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. This is the only vehicle available to take my brother to doctors and other tasks. Informed tarine (?) from Honda of this when she questioned that I am unable to utilize the back seat of of my SUV. On July 5, 2016 per Honda I thought they were going to try to expedite a repair. Have not heard back. Can you help?

- Merritt Island, FL, USA

problem #24

May 232016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #23

Aug 012016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. Received recall notice in early July. Made appointment at livermore Honda for Aug 1 specifically referring to recall notice. Received several emails over a period of several weeks from the Honda dealer reminding me of my appointment and referring to the specific recall. Went to the appointment this morning and was told that the parts hadn't been ordered. What did they think the appointment was for? they said it would be 2 to 3 weeks before the part comes in and they would call me to set up a new appointment. It doesn't seem that the dealer is trying to remedy the defect in a reasonable period of time. It has cost me time and money to say nothing of possible danger because of ttheir inaction.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #22

Jul 062016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/01/16

- Fall River Mills, CA, USA

problem #21

Jul 072016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Passenger air bag recall issue. I was told I can't have any front passengers in vehicle since airbag is defective and it will be at least 60 days for replacement. Our vehicle is the family vehicle and leaves in a bind. We should be compensated with a rental of equivalent value. Honda has refused any compensation what so ever.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #20

Jul 052016

Ridgeline

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lexington, VA, USA

problem #19

May 232016

Ridgeline 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. While driving 25 mph, the contact rear ended another vehicle. The contact's vehicle was rear ended as well. The driver side air bag did not deploy. The contact suffered bruises to the chest, neck, and head that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 125,000....updated 06/30/16 the consumer stated the driver side air bad was replaced on December 18, 2014. The consumer stated the replacement of the air bag, was not disclosed on car fax. The vehicle was deemed a total loss. Updated 07/26/16.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #18

Nov 162015

Ridgeline

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Ridgeline. While driving 30 mph, the contact rear ended the preceding vehicle. The front driver side air bag failed to deploy. The contact sustained back and neck injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who did not diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #17

Nov 092015

Ridgeline

  • 200,000 miles
Nothing has happened, I'm just troubled that I was notified almost a year ago that my vehicle has a known safety issue that may injure me or others as I drive. To date I have been to the dealership 3 times & been told that they are short of parts & I just have to wait. No communication, no accommodation & no concern for my safety as I have driven over 50,000 miles since the recall. VIN #2hjyk16426H571843

- Dalton, GA, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?