Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,333 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Ridgeline seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Ridgeline:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Ridgeline Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Mar 162016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- West Newbury, MA, USA

problem #23

Apr 222016

Ridgeline

  • miles
I was notified in April of the airbag deployment device recall by mail with indication that my local dealer would contact me. I contacted perfection Honda in albuquerque, 898-0000, in early July after no one called me and they said they would have to order it but were having trouble getting them. I have checked back every month since then and the part is not available. I contacted Honda North America 9/5/2016 and they said they cannot help that my only option is to wait until perfection Honda called me after receiving the part. So it is now 5 months later and I still have a defective inflator and no resolution in sight. This is a great safety concern and no one seems to be willing to or able to help"?!! is this vehicle safe to operate on the roads? what's the risk? what can you do"

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #22

Sep 132016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Specifically, in some vehicles, the driver's front airbag inflator could produce excessive internal pressure upon deployment. If an affected airbag deploys, the increased internal pressure may cause the inflator to rupture (break apart) and deploy abnormally. I got this recall in Feb 12, 2016 how long do I have to wait to get taken care of, before something happens?

- Gray, ME, USA

problem #21

Mar 082016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received a letter from Honda last March alerting me to the airbag recall and that deployment of the airbag could kill me and that a remedy would be available in the summer of 2016. Summer is about over and I've yet to receive notice to bring my vehicle in to a Honda dealer to rectify this dangerous situation.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #20

Aug 272016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Honda is replacing only my driver's side air bag and not the passenger side. Honda is now saying its safe to drive as long as no one sits in the front passenger side. This is not an option for my family. The rental car Honda was providing should continue to be offered to me until my vehicle is safe to drive and the passenger side takata air-beg is repaired. Case:04962383.

- Glenbrook, NV, USA

problem #19

Aug 092016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall inappropriate and unacceptable advise provided by hoehn Honda dealership carlsbad California. August 9, 2016, phone conversation with hoehn Honda regarding airbag recall. 1.hoehn took vehicle info and VIN number. 2.hoehn advised us that the car was recalled and not to have anybody ride in the front passenger seat until the airbag is replaced. 3.airbags are ordered but not available. 4.no mention of driver side airbag recall. 5.no offer of loaner car made. August 23, 2019, phone conversation with hoehn Honda regarding airbag recall and our updated information that the drivers airbag is recalled as well. 1.hoehn again advised us that the car was recalled and the airbags are ordered, but have not arrived and not to have anybody ride in the front passenger seat until the airbag is replaced. 2.I ask about the drivers airbag and after taking my vehicle VIN number they then advised us not to drive the car. 3.I inquired about a loaner car. 4.hoehn said they could not otherwise a loaner car. This had to be handled through american Honda. 5.after insistence and speaking to a manager, a loaner car was then offered until a new drivers airbag was installed. August 24, 2016 phone conversation with american Honda case number 04950465. 1.informed me that dealerships are normally authorized to provide loaner cars for airbag recalls 2.hoehn Honda was aware of both the drivers side as well as the passenger side airbags were recalled. 3.hoehn had ordered both airbags and they currently had the passenger airbag earmarked for my vehicle in stock. 4.this was going to beforwarded to american Honda management for further investigation. It appears that hoehn is willfully providing unacceptable advice to save money and puts drivers at an unacceptable risk.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 012016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. Honda has not replaced the defective airbag in a timely manner. I have become to concerned about driving it. Also, the resale and trade-in value of the truck has been diminished.

- Red Boiling Springs, TN, USA

problem #17

Jul 072016

Ridgeline 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Honda Ridgeline. Consumer writes in regards to dealership over-charges for warranty/airbag recall repairs. The consumer stated according to the invoice, the air bag was replaced free of charge. However, they overcharged for minor to compensate for the air bag.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #16

Mar 122016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue and the contact was referred. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #15

Aug 152016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 and 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mckenny, TX, USA

problem #14

Aug 012016

Ridgeline

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V344000 and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 312016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced any failure. The VIN tool confirms part not available. Updated 09/23/16

- Phillips, ME, USA

problem #12

Feb 122016

Ridgeline

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V344000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available and parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Mar 122016

Ridgeline 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/30/16 updated 09/29/16.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #10

May 062016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/08/16

- Fairview, OR, USA

problem #9

Mar 102016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Dealer says do not drive the car, we just have one and thats all. The dealer says they will rent a cheap car but don't drive it a lot and we pay the insurance on it, this is not wright.

- Grove, OK, USA

problem #8

Mar 012016

Ridgeline

  • miles
"takata recall" - I have followed the directions sent to me over two months ago. I have called two different dealers who keep telling me that they are unable to order the parts needed to fix this. Last night I saw on the news that I should not even be driving the car. And, "Honda is taking care of business, and they have the parts to fix all the remaining vehicles." So now, here I am, with no vehicle to drive, and no outlook as to how long this is going to take.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 012016

Ridgeline

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) was received in February of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Corpus Crisby, TX, USA

problem #6

Mar 142016

Ridgeline

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 282016

Ridgeline

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Ridgeline. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lathan, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?