Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Oct 062005

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a safety defect (the vehicle lunges forward when the gas pedal is lightly depressed) with our 2004 Hyundai sante fe which we have reported to pohanka, 5200 jefferson davis highway, fredericksburg, va 22408 on more than three occasions: Dateinvoice no.dealer comment October 6, 2005353592cause: C40, 39106F00 PCM reprogramming (04-36-012) March 6, 2006364047operating per specifications April 20, 2006367165could not duplicate the concern the reprogramming done in 2005 seemed to help for about a month. Since that time the problem has gotten progressively worse. We think the vehicle is unsafe to operate because it can rapidly accelerate without warning. Updated 12/15/06.

- Fredericksburg, WY, USA

problem #12

Aug 102006

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • miles
Last week, my husband was slowly pulling out of a parking lot and was applying the brakes as a group of people passed in front of him. The vehicle spontaneously lurched forward and revved to 4-5,000 RPM. My husband was standing on the brakes but the vehicle continued to move forward; the passenger turned the car off at which point the vehicle stopped going forward--the people in front of the vehicle barely escaped being run over by our Santa Fe. Needless to say, this is an unsafe vehicle for all involved--driver, passengers, other cars, pedestrians, etc. We were 100 miles away from home on vacation and had the car towed to the local dealership where we bought the vehicle. That dealership (porter Chevrolet/Hyundai, newark, Delaware) has had the vehicle for over a week and is telling us that no codes are appearing and they can do nothing to further investigate and/or correct the problem.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #11

Apr 082006

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The 1st -Dec. 23 2004. My husband and I was traveling on the interstate and the car began to slow down. My husband pulled to the side of the road and there was smoke coming from the brakes. After getting out and inspecting for problems we got back in the car and attempted to proceed forward and the car would not move. We called the tow truck. By the time car got to the service department, they were able to drive the vehicle. When they did their inspection, they could not find any problems. We went a week later and pick the car up and drove away. Within 2 weeks, a similar problem arose, but the car was still drivable; therefore we did not take it in, but did call to inform the dealership of the problem. In February 2006, the problem came again and the car had to be towed to the nearest dealer. Initially there was no problem found, but I requested they check the brakes and it was a faulty master cylinder. This was replaced. Within 2 months, we were pulling from the driveway and it appeared my husband had mistakenly put his foot on the gas, however we were sure it was the brakes and the engine revved up and continued to move forward. We called and reported and they said we could bring it in for service., however they rely on the computer to indicate the problem. No problem existed based on the computer. As recent as Saturday, April 8, 2006, my son and I was driving and I was pulling behind a line of cars that were stopping at a stop light and the engine revved as I put my foot on the brakes. The car did not stop until I quickly put it in park. We took the car in today, Monday, April 10 and again, no problem being found. I called the Hyundai customer service, who is investigating the incident. My concern is that we know that there is a problem, but since we now rely solely on computer to locate problems we may never get the problem solved. I hope it doesn't take an accident to get this problem resolved.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #10

Oct 122005

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,030 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Hyundai - Santa Fe, car surges to full throttle and goes through red lights or stops signs, surge is so great it takes across 4 lanes of traffic, driver is standing on the brake at the time has happened X3, VIN is[xxx]. updated 07/18/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #9

Aug 032004

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,965 miles
The contact stated 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe was experiencing sudden acceleration. The driver was at a red light, with one foot on the brake, and the car accelerated. This happened on two other occasions. The contact took the car to the dealership three times. They adjusted the throttle cable and flushed the computer. The problem recurred. The contact has not been in contact with Hyundai as of now. This happened when stopping or slowly moving as inching up to a stop sign.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #8

Mar 062005

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,600 miles
Put foot on brake at low speed, vehicle suddenly accellerated. Held foot on brake to keep from colliding with other vehicle in front. Jammed lever in neutral, tac went to 3000 RPM for 5 seconds, then back to normal idle. Check engine light came on before that and went off next day. This incident happened 4 times over 3 months. Vehicle has had ECM reprogrammed at dealer for 3 "bump from behind" incidents previously.

- Pickering, Canada, 00, USA

problem #7

Dec 272004

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While applying the brakes inside of the parking garage the pedal went to the floor. The driver skidded into another vehicle. This problem has happened three times. The driver took vehicle to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic informed determined that the problem could not be duplicated. The driveway was on an uphill incline and was covered in snow. The brake pedal vibrated and the vehicle lurched forward instead of stopping. This was an intermittent problem. The consumer stated a recall was issued on the ABS.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #6

Feb 222005

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
In January of 2005, I was driving my 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe 3.5L gls. I stopped at a light and remained stopped for a while. Suddenly, the vehicle accelerated and despite depressing the brakes, I could not stop it from lunging forward. I had to quickly get it out of gear to make it stop, and fortunately did not hit anyone. I took it to rowe Hyundai in westbrook, Maine (where I bought it) and the service department said they could not duplicate it nor could they identify the problem. On 2-22-05, I was stopped at a stop sign with my foot on the brake, when suddently the engine accelerated quickly and loudly. I depressed the brake harder yet could not stop the vehicle from lunging forward. Before I could get it out of gear, it rear-ended the person parked in front of me. This caused damage to both vehicles. I had it towed to the dealer and have contacted Hyundai motor America about this.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #5

Jan 132005

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
While attempting to apply the brakes, the vehicle accelerated without warning. No impact reported. Please provide additional information.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 132005

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 220 miles
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe - new - sudden acceleration/ loss of braking power--dealer claims no condition found - car is new - 200 miles on it.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #3

Oct 052004

Santa Fe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hyundai Santa Fe sudden acceleration, enging racing while braking.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #2

Sep 292004

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
February we purchased a 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe for our soon to be 16 year old son to drive. Most immediately we noticed an intermittent problem with the vehicle. When attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle will stutter 3 times as if it were going to die and then it recovers. We have taken the vehicle into the dealership at least 6 times, the most recent this morning. Today they would not even take the car in as they could not duplicate the problem and had no idea what to repair. I took copies of other NHTSA complaints and service bulletins with me in an effort to help them with ideas, but to no avail. They made an appointment for us to come back on October 20, 2004 to see if there are any updates from Hyundai that might fix the problem then. After leaving the dealership, the vehicle exhibited the problem and my son was almost in an accident. The car has only 3800 miles on it!

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #1

Jul 092004

Santa Fe

  • 5,000 miles
While at a stop vehicle surged forward. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Not what you are looking for?